Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Hector Macdonald - Author

About the Author

Hector Macdonald began writing at 24, and that first book drew on his experiences at Oxford University and his childhood on the Kenyan coast. The success of The Mind Game, which was published in 18 languages and twice optioned for film, allowed him to write full-time.

Books by Hector Macdonald

Truth How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Truth How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Author: Hector Macdonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/03/2018

We like to think that there is a clear distinction between true and false. Unfortunately, the reality is far murkier. Hector Macdonald has spent his entire career exploring the ways that two completely true statements about the same thing can give wildly different impressions to the people listening. For instance, the internet can be described as a place that spreads knowledge or a place that spreads misinformation and hatred. Both statements are true, but they would paint radically different pictures of the internet for person who had never heard of it before. Now, in Truth: A User's Guide, Macdonald explains how and why these so-called 'competing truths' are used intentionally and unintentionally by businesses, media, politicians, advertisers and even regular people having regular conversations. He shows how understanding competing truths makes us better at navigating the world and more influential within it. Combining great storytelling with practical takeaways and a litany of fascinating, funny and insightful case studies, Truth is a sobering and engaging read about how profoundly our mindsets, attitudes and actions are influenced by the truths that those around us choose to tell.

Truth How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Truth How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Author: Hector Macdonald Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/03/2018

'Macdonald zeros in on the slipperiness of factuality, offering an array of case studies from the worlds of history, commerce and - of course - politics.' New York Times Book Review True or false? It's rarely that simple. There is more than one truth about most things. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. As communicators, we select the truths that are most useful to our agenda. We can select truths constructively to inspire organisations, encourage children, and drive progressive change. Or we can select truths that give a false impression of reality, misleading people without actually lying. Others can do the same, motivating or deceiving us with the truth. Truths are neutral but can also be highly versatile tools that we can use for good or ill. Hector Macdonald here explores how truth is used and abused in politics, business, the media and everyday life. Combining great storytelling with practical takeaways and a litany of fascinating, funny and insightful case studies, Truth is a sobering and engaging read about how profoundly our mindsets and actions are influenced by the truths that those around us choose to tell. For fans of Nudge, Black Box Thinking and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which `competing truths' shape our opinions, behaviours and beliefs.

Truth

Truth

Author: Hector Macdonald Format: eBook Release Date: 08/03/2018

Random House presents the audiobook edition of Truth by Hector Macdonald, read by Simon Ludders.For fans of Nudge, Black Box Thinking and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which 'competing truths' shape our opinions, behaviours and beliefs.True or false? It's rarely that simple.There is more than one truth about most things. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. As communicators, we select the truths that are most useful to our agenda.We can select truths constructively to inspire organisations, encourage children, and drive progressive change. Or we can select truths that give a false impression of reality, misleading people without actually lying. Others can do the same, motivating or deceiving us with the truth. Truths are neutral but can also be highly versatile tools that we can use for good or ill.Hector Macdonald here explores how truth is used and abused in politics, business, the media and everyday life. Combining great storytelling with practical takeaways and a litany of fascinating, funny and insightful case studies, Truth is a sobering and engaging read about how profoundly our mindsets and actions are influenced by the truths that those around us choose to tell.

Rogue Elements

Rogue Elements

Author: Hector Macdonald Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/05/2015

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.hectormacdonald.com/index.asp

Author's Facebook

Find Hector Macdonald on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more