LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Bernard Ashley - Author

About the Author

Featured books by Bernard Ashley

Other books by Bernard Ashley

The Tiger on His Back

The Tiger on His Back

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/06/2018

Sofia Drake wants a tattoo - a tattoo all of her own, where her parents won't see it. And when she's introduced to Sol Marks, a genius young tattooist, Sofia falls in love with his arty, original designs. But when Sofia's dad sees his daughter's new body art his reaction sets in motion a series of events no one could have anticipated. An enticingly original contemporary story of art, love and the power of creativity. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 12+

Does She Dare?

Does She Dare?

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/10/2017

Lena Lenik S.O.S.

Lena Lenik S.O.S.

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/04/2017

Lena's mum is expecting a new baby but Lena is more interested in her own concerns, most pressingly her quest for as many Scout badges as her sleeve can hold and having fun at Polish Club. When Lena's mum goes into labour, the midwife is caught in traffic and dad's out of range, Lena suddenly faces a challenge like no other!A wonderfully heartfelt tale, from a writer renowned for his realism, empathy and compassion for the underdog.Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 7+

Your Guess is as Good as Mine

Your Guess is as Good as Mine

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/02/2017

Justin and the Demon Drop Kick

Justin and the Demon Drop Kick

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/02/2017

The Way it is

The Way it is

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/07/2015

Dead End Kids: Heroes of the Blitz

Dead End Kids: Heroes of the Blitz

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2015

London is at war and as the Blitz rages, children like Josie and her brother Len face the same dangers as the adults. Can they find the strength to stand up against the onslaught? A tale of amazing bravery, inspired by the true story of the Dead End Kids of Wapping - young people who fought fires and rescued their friends and neighbours from bomb sites. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo, this dramatic story brings the Second World War vividly to life.

Torrent

Torrent

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2015

Action and thrills combine to great effect in this low-reading age title from award-winning Bernard Ashley. Tom's on holiday in a French campsite when the nearby dam bursts. As the water thunders down the valley, everyone flees. But Tom's trapped and seems to be in serious trouble when a mysterious moto swings by and saves him. Who is the driver? And how did they save him? Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 12+

Nadine Dreams of Home

Nadine Dreams of Home

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/06/2014

A touching yet serious story with an ultimately uplifting ending. Nadine doesn't like her new life. She doesn't speak the language, she can't understand what's going on, and more than anything, it's just not home. Especially since her father isn't here with them in the UK. But it just wasn't safe in Goma anymore, not with the uprising and the violence of the rebel soldiers. So Nadine tries to find something in her new life that will remind her of the happy memories of Africa. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 7+

Shadow of the Zeppelin

Shadow of the Zeppelin

Author: Bernard Ashley, Andrew Morgan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/04/2014

Across Europe, the horror of war is destroying lives and separating families. Yield or fight? When tragedy strikes Freddie's family, he and his soldier brother must go on the run, battling for their survival. Jump or burn? Without a parachute, that's the choice Ernst knows he will face if his Zeppelin is shot down. Bravery takes different forms. How far would you go to stand up for what's right?

Hero Girls

Hero Girls

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/11/2012

Justin and the Demon Drop Kick

Justin and the Demon Drop Kick

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2012

Your Guess is as Good as Mine

Your Guess is as Good as Mine

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2012

Aftershock

Aftershock

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: eBook Release Date: 01/04/2011

Aftershock

Aftershock

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: eBook Release Date: 01/04/2011

Aftershock

Aftershock

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/03/2011

Makis and his mother Sofia escape a devastating Greek earthquake which has claimed his father's life. They move to North London and at first it is hard, especially at school, but being a gifted footballer, Makis slowly begins to fit in. But through no fault of his own, Makis lets down his team at an important match and the whole school, even the teachers, seem to turn against him. Praise for Angel Boy: Ashley excels at tautly-potted, timely and highly topical thrillers which pack a real emotional punch. - Rivetting Reads This perfectly plotted thriller. - Bookseller

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more