Bernard Ashley - Author

About the Author

Featured books by Bernard Ashley

Other books by Bernard Ashley

The Tiger on His Back

The Tiger on His Back

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/06/2018

Sofia Drake wants a tattoo - a tattoo all of her own, where her parents won't see it. And when she's introduced to Sol Marks, a genius young tattooist, Sofia falls in love with his arty, original designs. But when Sofia's dad sees his daughter's new body art his reaction sets in motion a series of events no one could have anticipated. An enticingly original contemporary story of art, love and the power of creativity. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 12+

Does She Dare?

Does She Dare?

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/10/2017

Lena Lenik S.O.S.

Lena Lenik S.O.S.

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/04/2017

Lena's mum is expecting a new baby but Lena is more interested in her own concerns, most pressingly her quest for as many Scout badges as her sleeve can hold and having fun at Polish Club. When Lena's mum goes into labour, the midwife is caught in traffic and dad's out of range, Lena suddenly faces a challenge like no other!A wonderfully heartfelt tale, from a writer renowned for his realism, empathy and compassion for the underdog.Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 7+

Justin and the Demon Drop Kick

Justin and the Demon Drop Kick

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 23/02/2017

Your Guess is as Good as Mine

Your Guess is as Good as Mine

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 23/02/2017

The Way it is

The Way it is

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 23/07/2015

Dead End Kids: Heroes of the Blitz

Dead End Kids: Heroes of the Blitz

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/07/2015

London is at war and as the Blitz rages, children like Josie and her brother Len face the same dangers as the adults. Can they find the strength to stand up against the onslaught? A tale of amazing bravery, inspired by the true story of the Dead End Kids of Wapping - young people who fought fires and rescued their friends and neighbours from bomb sites. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo, this dramatic story brings the Second World War vividly to life.

Nadine Dreams of Home

Nadine Dreams of Home

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 25/06/2014

A touching yet serious story with an ultimately uplifting ending. Nadine doesn't like her new life. She doesn't speak the language, she can't understand what's going on, and more than anything, it's just not home. Especially since her father isn't here with them in the UK. But it just wasn't safe in Goma anymore, not with the uprising and the violence of the rebel soldiers. So Nadine tries to find something in her new life that will remind her of the happy memories of Africa. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 7+

Shadow of the Zeppelin

Shadow of the Zeppelin

Author: Bernard Ashley, Andrew Morgan Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/04/2014

Across Europe, the horror of war is destroying lives and separating families. Yield or fight? When tragedy strikes Freddie's family, he and his soldier brother must go on the run, battling for their survival. Jump or burn? Without a parachute, that's the choice Ernst knows he will face if his Zeppelin is shot down. Bravery takes different forms. How far would you go to stand up for what's right?

Hero Girls

Hero Girls

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/11/2012

Justin and the Demon Drop Kick

Justin and the Demon Drop Kick

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/02/2012

Your Guess is as Good as Mine

Your Guess is as Good as Mine

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/02/2012

Aftershock

Aftershock

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: eBook Release Date: 01/04/2011

Aftershock

Aftershock

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: eBook Release Date: 01/04/2011

Aftershock

Aftershock

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/03/2011

Makis and his mother Sofia escape a devastating Greek earthquake which has claimed his father's life. They move to North London and at first it is hard, especially at school, but being a gifted footballer, Makis slowly begins to fit in. But through no fault of his own, Makis lets down his team at an important match and the whole school, even the teachers, seem to turn against him. Praise for Angel Boy: Ashley excels at tautly-potted, timely and highly topical thrillers which pack a real emotional punch. - Rivetting Reads This perfectly plotted thriller. - Bookseller

Ronnie's War

Ronnie's War

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/07/2010

Ronnie Warren lives with his mum while his dad is away fighting. For him, World War II brings a whirlwind of events and emotions that carry him through the terror of the London Blitz to evacuation and romance in Lancashire, from adolescent misunderstandings to the bittersweetness of Victory in Europe Day, 1945. From schoolboy hero to teenage survivor, this is Ronnie' s story. Bernard Ashley' s great gift is to turn what seems to be low-key realism into something much stronger and more resonant. It has something to do with empathy, compassion, an undimmed thirst for decency and justice. Phillip Pullman

Angel Boy (Adobe Ebook)

Angel Boy (Adobe Ebook)

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: eBook Release Date: 14/07/2008

Johnnie's Blitz

Johnnie's Blitz

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/09/2003

East Ender Johnnie Stubbs is on the run from the law. His dad's in the army and he has no mother. Innocent Johnnie finds himself protecting little Shirley, a 3-year-old traumatized girl whose house has been bombed and her mother left in a coma. With some dodgy stuff, they head away from the London blitz to the country, where Johnnie meets up with gypsy girl Biddy and her people. Johnnie finds that whatever he has to prove, it is most importantly to himself. And how can he get Shirley back where she belongs - and at what cost to do so?

Little Soldier

Little Soldier

Author: Bernard Ashley, Andrew Morgan Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/09/1999

When Kaninda survives a brutal attack on his village in East Africa he joins the rebel army, where he's trained to carry weapons, and use them.But aid workers take him to London, to a new family and a comprehensive school. Clan and tribal conflicts are everywhere, and on the streets it's estate versus estate, urban tribe against urban tribe.All Kaninda wants it to get back to his own war and take revenge on his enemies. But together with Laura Rose, the daughter of his new family, he is drawn into a dangerous local conflict that is spiraling out of control.

A Present for Paul

A Present for Paul

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/07/1996

Pleasure wants to buy her baby brother a present but when she lets go of her dad's hand in the busy market, suddenly she can't see him anywhere. Where has her dad gone? Pleasure's baby brother is teething and he just cries and cried all day. Pleasure wants to buy him a present to make him happy and she gets her chance when she goes to the market with her dad. Pleasure loves going to the market with all the brightly coloured stalls. While her dad is buying fish, Pleasure spots a toy stall and she lets go of Dad's hand for just one minute... Suddenly she can't see her dad at all, he has completely disappeared and Pleasure is surrounded by stangers hurrying here and there. But it isn't long before she sees her dad through the crowd and he helps her buy the best ever present for Paul.

A Present for Paul

A Present for Paul

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/07/1996

Cleversticks

Cleversticks

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/11/1993

Ling Sung doesn't like school. The other children can do things that he can't. But Ling Sung soon finds out that there is something very special that only he can do... Terry can tie up his shoes - Ling Sung can't. Manjit can write her name but Ling Sung's letters go all wrong and Sharon can button up her coat perfectly. Ling Sung doesn't want to go back to school every again. But the next day at biscuit time Ling Sung does something amazing... He uses two paintbrushes as chopsticks to pick up the biscuits. This is something that no-one else can do, not even the teachers, and Ling Sung feels very special indeed!

Dinner Ladies Don't Count

Dinner Ladies Don't Count

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/08/1984

Two books in one: Dinner Ladies Don't Count and Linda's Life. Both are school stories - in the first, Jason has to prove that he didn't take Donna's birthday cards; in the second, Linda tells a lie about why she can't go on the school outing. Fun and easy to read, these are popular school stories for the 7 - 9 age group.

The Play of Little Soldier

The Play of Little Soldier

Author: Bernard Ashley Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/05/1970

This is a wonderful adaptation of Bernard Ashley's critically acclaimed novel of the same name, which was short listed for the Carnegie and the Guardian Fiction Awards. Kaninda is an ex-child soldier from East Africa, orphaned and living in London. When a child from a nearby estate is hit by a car, he is drawn into an inter-estate conflict. The story combines current conflicts in London with real war in Africa. Little Soldier is a gritty and gripping play with a fast-moving, exciting plot which will hook boys. The play can be used to explore: different cultures (set in Africa in London) urban gang culture and moral questions literary and dramatic techniques and devices.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more