LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

John Connor - Author

About the Author

John Connor is 38 years old, a barrister, employed since 1988 by the Crown Prosecution Service. He runs a team of prosecutors working out of Richmond Close Police Station in Halifax.
 

Featured books by John Connor

Other books by John Connor

The Vanishing

The Vanishing

Author: John Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/06/2019

A snatched child, a cryptic message and a secret that will tear two lives apart. Twenty years ago, one-year-old Lauren disappeared. Now, ex-policeman Tom Lomax gets a mysterious offer from an heiress, Sara. She wants him to fly to her private island, all expenses paid. He cannot help but be intrigued. But Sara has received a troubling message and, despite all the privileges in her life, she now has no one to turn to and doesn't know whom she can trust. In a matter of hours, both will be thrown headfirst into a race against time that will challenge everything they've believed in and change both their lives for ever.

The Ice House

The Ice House

Author: John Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/06/2019

Carl Bowman is a killer. An assassin for hire whose latest assignment is to take out a ten-year-old girl. He doesn't know what she's done or why someone wants her dead. He just knows he has to kill her. But with the girl in his sights, Carl can't bring himself to pull the trigger. Instead he goes on the run, taking her with him. In a small village in Southern Spain, Julia Martin's carefully constructed life is falling apart. Her husband and his mistress have been killed in an explosion in their home and her daughter, Rebecca, has disappeared. Julia has been fleeing the secrets of her past for over a decade and it seems they've finally caught up with her. To get her daughter back, Julia must confront a truth she's spent years running from and call on someone she's done everything in her power to avoid.

The Opposite of Mercy

The Opposite of Mercy

Author: John Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/06/2019

When soldier Paul Curtis, recently returned from active duty, is approached covertly by an old school friend's father and asked for assistance he falters only momentarily before agreeing to help. His old friend, Chris, is dating Lara, a beautiful British Asian woman whose brother, Pasha Durrani, is furious about their relationship. As Paul steps into the breach it soon becomes clear that this is no low-level domestic disagreement. Durrani is heavily involved in organised crime, the roots of which lead back to a powerful terrorist network in Pakistan - and Lara has been offered to these people as a prize. Suddenly, Paul, Chris and Lara find themselves taking on a force more deadly and widespread than they could ever have imagined. By turns gripping and terrifying, THE OPPOSITE OF MERCY is a sharp, insightful and compulsive thriller.

Falling

Falling

Author: John Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/04/2019

A stunning thriller that sees Yorkshire-based DC Karen Sharpe brought to the very edge of her sanity. A year and a half ago DC Karen Sharpe was the victim of a terrifying crime. Desperately trying to shelter from its effects she has been working simple fraud and theft cases in West Yorkshire CID. But the brutal murder of a young pregnant woman threatens the precarious wall she has built around herself. Drafted onto the squad to deal with the victim's six-year-old child, Karen finds herself overwhelmed by the devastating nature of the attack. As nightmares from her past start to reoccur, her relationships with those closest to her begin to crack under the strain. An illicit relationship with her boss promises escape: a new beginning without the trappings of past horrors and guilt. But life has a savage lesson in store for her. As West Yorkshire erupts in a summer of explosive race riots, events tip Karen into the depths of the very world she has been fleeing.

Unsafe

Unsafe

Author: John Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/04/2019

Karen Sharpe has been promoted to Detective Sergeant, but are the pressures of the job getting too much for her? When the battered body of a young girl is discovered, it kicks off an inquiry which pushes Karen and a trainee DC, Marcus Roth, too close for comfort, both on and off-duty. The investigation leads to a woman with a violent past - a woman with a six-year-old boy in her care... As the terrible truth emerges, the inquiry becomes a race against time before another child becomes a victim.

A Child's Game

A Child's Game

Author: John Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/04/2019

In the early hours of the morning in a luxury Leeds penthouse, a terrified victim is doused with petrol, set alight, and thrown out of a ninth-floor window. The victim is a wealthy property developer - but his lover and her daughter have both gone missing. Meanwhile, security services are looking for DC Karen Sharpe who walked out eighteen months ago. But they are not the only ones desperate to find her. She is being pursued by some of the most dangerous people she has ever encountered - and to them, human life means nothing at all . . .

Phoenix

Phoenix

Author: John Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/02/2019

The first novel in the grittily authentic Karen Sharpe series. The 8th April 1996 was a bad day for Karen Sharpe, the eighth anniversary of something so deeply buried she had hoped to forget it ever happened. Each year she tries to cope in whatever way she can. Most years she turns to booze. But this year that wasn't going to work. Sometime after midnight her DS and partner, is executed in a military style killing, whilst his pretty 21-year-old informant, ends up on a South Pennine moor with bullets through her face and chest. Karen had been due to meet both when drink and memories intervened, preventing her from getting there. As the investigation begins, odd details keep forcing Karen to examine her own unclear memories. As she follows her instincts, and some very disturbing clues embedded in her own secret history, she must confront her past and act quickly if she is to prevent the seed of destruction planted eight years before from wreaking devastating and brutal consequences. Fans of Peter Robinson, David Baldacci and Linwood Barclay will love John Connor!

The Playroom

The Playroom

Author: John Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/02/2019

Excellent second novel featuring Yorkshire Detective Constable Karen Sharpe. The daughter of a Bradford judge is kidnapped and a massive, round-the-clock investigation begins. Knowing the chances of Sophie surviving will diminish dramatically after the first twenty-four hours, Detective Chief Superintendent John Munro begins to crack under the pressure of holding together an enquiry swamped with leads. Meanwhile, DC Karen Sharpe is pursuing her own single-handed enquiry into historic child abuse allegations when an MP is accused of rape ten years before. The task of finding corroboration looks hopeless, but Sharpe keeps at it - anything rather than face up to her own tangled personal life. The truth is more complex and frightening, leading back to still unresolved events from a year before. Karen's enquiry uncovers connections with the kidnapping, and, in an explosion of violence and bloodshed, Karen is left fighting not just to find Sophie, but to save herself.

Someone Else's War

Someone Else's War

Author: John Connor Format: Hardback Release Date: 25/10/2018

World War I was the first truly global conflict and its effects were felt across the British Empire. When war broke out in 1914, Great Britain had the largest empire, encompassing one quarter of the population of the world. Many colonial citizens were to be enlisted into the war effort and shipped from their homes in Africa, Asia and Australasia to fight on the battlefields of the Western Front. What was the experience of war like for citizens of empire, whether combatants or not? How did the empire affect countries administered by Great Britain but geographically located tens of thousands of miles from the conflict? In this book, John Connor tells the story of the people whose lives were profoundly affected by 'someone else's war' - dragged, against their will, into a geopolitical conflict vastly removed from their normal lives.

The Ice House

The Ice House

Author: John Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/06/2016

A taut and twisty thriller about a mother's secrets and the desperate search for her missing daughter - perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, J.B. Turner, Mark Dawson, and Tony Parsons.* Her mother's lies brought her here.Rebecca's mother, Julia, warned her daughter to be careful. She told her not to freeze, that if she sees someone coming for her, she should run. Julia learnt that rule the hard way. When her daughter disappears, it seems the lessons of her past have come back to haunt her. Now, she must find Rebecca - before anybody else does. * Praise for John Connor 'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax' Sunday Telegraph 'His plot is enthralling,his characters sharp and vital' Financial Times 'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers' Mirror 'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace' Irish Independent 'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time' Daily Express

Anthem Test Papers 11+ and 12+ Verbal Reasoning Book 1

Anthem Test Papers 11+ and 12+ Verbal Reasoning Book 1

Author: John Connor, Pat Soper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2012

Anthem Short Revision Papers 11+ and 12+ Verbal Reasoning Book 1

Anthem Short Revision Papers 11+ and 12+ Verbal Reasoning Book 1

Author: John Connor, Pat Soper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2012

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more