LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Freda Lightfoot - Author

About the Author

Freda Lightfoot was born and brought up in the mill towns of Lancashire.  She always dreamed of becoming a writer but this was considered a rather exotic ambition.   She has been a teacher, bookseller and smallholder but began her writing career by publishing over forty short stories and articles and five historical romances.  Her family sagas draw upon memories of her own Lancashire childhood, and on the years she lived in the English Lake District bringing up her family. She still has a flat in the Lakes and a house in a small mountain village in Spain.

 

 

Featured books by Freda Lightfoot

Peace In My Heart

Peace In My Heart

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/12/2017

The war is over and Evie Talbert eagerly awaits the return of her three children from their evacuated homes. But her carefree daughters and son are barely recognisable - their education has been disrupted, the siblings split up, and the effect on them has been life-changing. Her son has developed serious behavioural problems and with her daughters, there's jealousy and a nervous disorder that cannot be explained... Evie's husband also has problems. Having returned from being in action, he suffers nightmares and fits of rage. He's no longer the gentle, quiet man Evie married. Peace may finally be here, but Evie's family is in shreds. Now she must rebuild a loving home to achieve the happiness she's always dreamed of...

ebook of the month

Other books by Freda Lightfoot

Girls of the Great War

Girls of the Great War

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/05/2018

Peace In My Heart

Peace In My Heart

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: eBook Release Date: 28/12/2017

Sunday Times bestselling author Freda Lightfoot is back with a heartwarming story of life after the war.She must keep her family together... The war is over and Evie Talbert eagerly awaits the return of her three children from their evacuated homes. But her carefree daughters and son are barely recognisable - their education has been disrupted, the siblings split up, and the effect on them has been life-changing. Her son has developed serious behavioural problems and with her daughters, there's jealousy and a nervous disorder that cannot be explained...Evie's husband also has problems. Having returned from being in action, he suffers nightmares and fits of rage. He's no longer the gentle, quiet man Evie married.Peace may finally be here, but Evie's family is in shreds. Now she must rebuild a loving home to achieve the happiness she's always dreamed of...

Always In My Heart

Always In My Heart

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/12/2016

Brenda Stuart returns to her late husband's home devastated by his loss only to find herself accused of bestowing favours upon the Germans. Life has been difficult for her over the war, having been held in an internment camp in France simply because of her nationality. Thankful that her son at least was safe in the care of his grandmother, she now finds that she has lost him too, and her life is in turmoil. Prue, her beloved sister-in-law, is also a war widow but has now fallen in love with an Italian PoW who works on the family estate. Once the war ends they hope to marry but she has reckoned without the disapproval of her family, or the nation. The two friends support each other in an attempt to resolve their problems and rebuild their lives. They even try starting a business, but it does not prove easy.

Forgotten Women

Forgotten Women

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/09/2016

Forgotten Women

Forgotten Women

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: eBook Release Date: 06/09/2016

It is 1936 and Spain is on the brink of civil war. Across Europe, young men are enlisting in the International Brigade to free their Spanish brethren from the grip of fascism, leaving sisters and lovers at home.But not all women are content to be left behind. In Britain, Charlotte McBain and Libby Forbes, friends from opposite sides of the class divide, are determined to do what they can; in Spain, Rosita Garca Daz, fiercely loyal to her family and country, cannot stand by and watch. Three brave women, inspired by patriotism, idealism, love and even revenge, dare to go into battle against tradition and oppression.Tying them all together is Jo, Libbys granddaughter. Five decades later she travels to Spain hoping to make sense of a troubling letter hidden among her grandmothers possessions. What she learns will change all of their lives forever.Deceit, heartbreak and a longstanding fear of reprisals must all be overcome if the deeds of the forgotten women are to be properly honoured.

La guardiana del ambar

La guardiana del ambar

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/05/2016

A Thousand Roads Home

A Thousand Roads Home

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/11/2015

1945. Finally, peace has been declared. Cathie hardly dares believe that Alex, the fiance she has not seen for nearly two years, is coming home. And, finally, life can begin again for Cathie and the orphaned baby in her care. But the Alex who returns is not the kind, loving man Cathie remembers. He's cold, selfish, sometimes even frightening. So Cathie has a choice: stand by him, and try to contain his violent temper? Or hold her tiny baby close...and run from the man she has yearned for. Home is Where the Heart Is is a heart-wrenchingly, poignant new saga from Freda Lightfoot, set in the aftermath of World War II.

Polly's Pride

Polly's Pride

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2015

From Sunday Times bestselling author, Freda Lightfoot. From brief riches to rural rags and ruin... 1920s, Manchester. Living in the deprived area of Ancoats area of Manchester Polly Pride feels more fortunate than most until her husband Matthew loses his job and her life is thrown into turmoil. With no money coming in Polly must act to keep her family from starvation. In a desperate gamble she sells all the family goods and buys a handcart, from which she sells second-hand rugs and carpets. But struggling to deal with poverty and her husband's hurt pride are only the start of her problems. For when tragedy strikes Polly has to do battle with the bigotry of a sour brother-in-law to keep herself and her family from falling apart. A stirring, heartrending story of love, passion, duty and family, set in the 1920s as the Second World War looms. Praise for Freda Lightfoot ' Freda's books are a joy to read - her characters are so believable and richly drawn - they're satisfying page turners!' - Anne Bennett

Polly's War

Polly's War

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2015

From Sunday Times bestselling author, Freda Lightfoot. The war might be over, but for Polly and her family the struggle continues... With the end of WW2 Polly Pride feels as though the fighting has moved to her own home. Her son, Benny, is mixed up with some unsavoury characters but continues to pull the wool over his mother's eyes. Daughter Lucy is carrying on with a fancy man behind her husband's back, leaving her children to run riot. And Charlie, Polly's beloved husband, is battling ill health and doesn't want her interfering. Polly risks losing all she's worked so hard to achieve, but refuses to go back to Ancoats area of Manchester and a life of grinding poverty. She will sacrifice all she has before she stands by and watches her family tear itself to pieces... A dramatic and emotional story of one woman's story to keep her family together. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale. Praise for Freda Lightfoot 'Freda's books are a joy to read - her characters are so believable and richly drawn - they're satisfying page turners!' - Anne Bennett

The Amber Keeper

The Amber Keeper

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2014

Lady of Passion

Lady of Passion

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/06/2014

Cup Cake Coffee Break

Cup Cake Coffee Break

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: eBook Release Date: 25/04/2013

Six heartwarming short stories - previously published in My Weekly, My Story, People's Friend, Woman's Realm and other magazines.

Watch For The Talleyman

Watch For The Talleyman

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: eBook Release Date: 25/04/2013

My Lady Deceiver

My Lady Deceiver

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2013

1905. Rosie Belsfield feels as if her life has ended when she is rejected from Ellis Island and put on the next boat back to England, leaving her family behind. But fate gives her a second chance when she befriends Lady Rosalind, a pregnant widow on her way to the home of her late husband's father, the wealthy Sir Ralph Tregowan. Having boarded the ship with one identity, fate decrees that Rosie leave it with another... As Rosie arrives in Cornwall as 'Rosalind', she must fend for herself amongst a new and bitterly resentful family. Rosie becomes increasingly trapped by her deception and the cruelty of those around her - the only light at the end of the tunnel seems to be the enigmatic Bryce Tregowan. With him the promise of a new life beckons, one of riches and even a title in beautiful Cornwall, but it is also one fraught with danger should her deceit be discovered. As she falls deeper into love and lies, can Rosie keep up the act, or will her secrets reveal themselves? And to what consequences?

Dancing on Deansgate

Dancing on Deansgate

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: eBook Release Date: 28/01/2013

The Promise

The Promise

Author: Freda Lightfoot Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/09/2012

San Francisco, 1904. Georgia Briscoe is unwillingly betrothed to businessman Drew Kemp when she falls for handsome British sailor Ellis Cowper. Drew has the charm to dazzle everyone around him, but once the couple are married, it transpires that Drew's charm is only skin-deep - he is a greedy gambling addict with a penchant for other women. London, 1948. When Chrissie Kemp travels to the Lake District to visit her grandmother Georgia, she is not prepared for the shocking revelation that is about to throw her family into turmoil. As the truth unfurls, the passion, emotion and astounding love that blossomed in San Francisco forty years earlier is revealed, and three generations of one family are tested to their limits.