LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Frances Fyfield - Author

About the Author

Frances Fyfield is a criminal lawyer, a trade she has used to huge success in many of her novels. She lives in London and in Deal, by the sea which is her passion. She has won several awards, including the Silver Dagger.

Photograph © Charlie Hopkinson
 

Featured books by Frances Fyfield

Other books by Frances Fyfield

Deep Sleep

Deep Sleep

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: eBook Release Date: 21/01/2014

This gripping psychological maze is perfect for fans of Ruth Rendell and P. D. James.Pip Carlton is a devoted husband and a highly respected pharmacist, cherished by his loyal customers. When his wife dies in her sleep, with no apparent cause, he is distraught. Comforted by his caring assistant, Pip ignores the rumors about Margarets death, relieved that the police seem to have moved on.But prosecutor Helen West refuses to believe that Margaret simply slipped into her final slumber. As she probes deeper into the affairs of the neighborhood, she uncovers a vipers nest of twisted passion, jealous rage, and lethal addictions.Then a sudden act of violence erupts, shaking the community, and one lone man, armed with strange love potions, prepares to murder again

Undercurrents

Undercurrents

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: eBook Release Date: 07/01/2014

Fans of Laura Lippman and A. S. A. Harrison will love this haunting psychological thriller.For twenty years, Henry Evans has been haunted by the memory of Francesca, the one that got away. When he travels to England to reconnect with his long-lost love, what he finds is a horrific shock: Francesca has been imprisoned for murdering her five-year-old son.But Henry refuses to believe Francesca is guilty, even if she did confessin chilling detailto drowning her own child. In his search for the truth, Henry will find that the darkest of evils are hidden deep beneath the surface

Nature of the Beast

Nature of the Beast

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: eBook Release Date: 17/12/2013

What kind of life would drive you to fake your own death?Beautiful blonde Amy Petty is involved in a horrific train crash. The authorities assume she perished in the resulting fire, but there is no body. If she's not dead, why has she disappeared?Is it because of her husbandrich, charismatic, evil-tempered, and currently embroiled in a libel lawsuit? Or is she running from a past that she cannot escape?This gripping psychological thriller is perfect for readers who loved The Silent Wife by A. S. A. Harrison.

Question of Guilt

Question of Guilt

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: eBook Release Date: 10/12/2013

Cunning and evil, poisoned by a lifetime of love withheld, Eileen Cartwright has an unrivaled passion for revenge. When the rich, middle-aged widow falls in love with her lawyer, she goes to fatal lengths to make him hers. Prosecutor Helen West is assigned to the case, but when Eileen's extraordinary evil reaches out even from behind prison bars, the investigation reaches a climax of frightening and frenzied violence.

Cold to the Touch

Cold to the Touch

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: eBook Release Date: 03/12/2013

A tense psychological thriller ideal for fans of Faye Kellerman and Louise Penny.Things are not going well for prestigious lawyer and professional mistress Sarah Fortune. Her life is a mess, but it would be so much simpler to try and fix somebody else's. So when she meets the vulnerable and troubled Jessica Hurley, Sarah feels she must save her.Jessica longs to return to the small village where she grew up, but she has burned all her bridges. Instead, Sarah travels to Jessica's cloistered hometown to repair the wreckage of her friend's pastand to solve the mystery of why she left in the first place.But when Sarah arrives, she finds that Jessica is even more unwelcome than she thought, and suddenly Jessica is missing, her number unavailable. Sarah's increasingly desperate search for her tortured friend takes her to places even colder than the grave.

Gold Digger

Gold Digger

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/11/2013

The warmth of him, the glorious warmth, was fading by the minute. In a huge old school house by the sea, full of precious paintings, Thomas Porteous is dying. His much younger wife Di holds him and mourns. She knows that soon, despite her being his sole inheritor, Thomas's relatives will descend on the collection that was the passion of both of their lives. And descend they do. The two needy daughters, who were poisoned against their father by their defecting mother, are now poison themselves. With the help of an unlikely collection of loners and eccentrics, Di sets a trap to hoist the family members on their own greed. And on the night they are lured to the house, Di will be ready. Or will she?

Blood from Stone

Blood from Stone

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: eBook Release Date: 26/11/2013

A twisting tale of suspenseperfect for fans of Linda Fairstein.When the body of a successful criminal lawyer is found outside a chic London hotel, it looks like a suicide. For those who knew her, the woman's death is a shockMarianne Shearer was at the pinnacle of her career, wealthy and stylishbut for the police, the case is open-and-shut.There's something strange about the circumstances, though, something that prompts her colleague Peter Friel to dig deeper. Little by little, he discovers that things are not as they seem. In her final days, Marianne appears to have left a series of small, almost imperceptible cluesclues that point to a far more sinister truth.

Clear Conscience

Clear Conscience

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: eBook Release Date: 05/11/2013

A tense, twisting thriller perfect for fans of Linda Fairstein.Crown Prosecutor Helen West spends her days fighting for justice in domestic violence cases, so its no wonder she cant find the energy to clean her own apartment.Helen is thrilled to have found the lovely and sad-eyed Cath, whom she pays to clean for her. But when she notices bruises on Caths arm, Helen cant stop thinking about what the girl must go home to at night. And when Caths brother is brutally murdered, Helen is pulled down a dark and disturbing path where violence is the only guarantee.

Art of Drowning

Art of Drowning

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: eBook Release Date: 08/10/2013

A loner. A liar. A secret.Let the games begin.Accountant Rachel Doe leads a sheltered, beige-colored life Until she meets Ivy, who is everything Rachel isnt. Ivy is a wild child. She is charismatic and seductive, a charmer with tragedy in her past. The two women begin an intense and unexpected friendship.But, as the intimacy between them escalates, Rachel is drawn deeper into the darkness that surrounds Ivyand the secrets that hide there. In the bestselling tradition of Gone Girl and Reconstructing Amelia, this riveting psychological thriller.

Gold Digger

Gold Digger

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/11/2012

The warmth of him, the glorious warmth, was fading by the minute. In a huge old school house by the sea, full of precious paintings, Thomas Porteous is dying. His much younger wife Di holds him and mourns. She knows that soon, despite her being his sole inheritor, Thomas's relatives will descend on the collection that was the passion of both of their lives. And descend they do. The two needy daughters, who were poisoned against their father by their defecting mother, are now poison themselves. The family regard Thomas's wealth as theirs by right, with the exception of young Patrick, who adored his grandfather and is torn between his parents and Di, the interloper. The family know Di's weaknesses, and she has to learn theirs. After all, she met Thomas when she came to his house to rob him. With the help of an unlikely collection of loners and eccentrics, she sets a trap to hoist the family members on their own greed. And on the night they are lured to the house, Di will be ready. Or will she?

Shadows on the Mirror

Shadows on the Mirror

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: eBook Release Date: 04/10/2012

Sarah Fortune is bored to death - but few know, and less would guess, how the beautiful and successful redheaded solicitor escapes the stultifying tedium of her career. Since the death of her unfaithful husband, Sarah has found a practical way of transforming the lives of lonely men that also suits her warm and defiant nature.Kind, witty and obese lawyer Malcolm Cook is the first to benefit from Sarah's generosity - he shrugs off years of weight and loneliness. But then she meets Charles Tysall, an important client of the firm, whose charisma and enormous wealth conceal an implacable will and a misogynist's mad obsession.

Cold To The Touch

Cold To The Touch

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/01/2010

Beautiful, volatile Jessica has long since burned her boats in the village by the sea where she was born. She longs to return, but first she needs to secure the love of the powerful man who has spurned her obsessive adoration.Sarah Fortune, her older, cynical friend, is keen to distance herself from her usual haunts and welcomes the chance to leave London in the hope that she might she be able to effect a reconciliation between Jessica and her mother. Pennyvale both charms and distracts her with hints of scandal and buried secrets, but it soon begins to disquiet her as cracks of distrust and jealousy show in the polite facades. Sarah is excited when Jessica tells her she is coming home, but she never arrives. Sarah's instinctive knowledge of Jessica leads her back to the capital, fearful of what she will find. What she discovers reveals a truth more chilling than she could have imagined, but she has to return to Pennyvale to fully understand how Jessica was finally brought home, and why...

Let's Dance

Let's Dance

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/12/2006

Isabel Burley returns to her childhood home to look after he mother, Serena, who is suffering from Alzheimer's disease. There she finds a bemused, angry, charming old woman, prey to the threats of failing memory, the inability to run her own home - and the local villains who are eyeing her isolated home. As the villains inexorably move in, Isabel finds herself struggling with another threat from within. She thinks she has gone home to do some good, but is she really looking for the love she lacked as a child? Alienated by her mother's growing eccentricity, the two women become locked in a relationship of love, hatred and simmering violence, with roots that go deep into the past.

Mystery of the Mystery of Edwin Drood, The

Mystery of the Mystery of Edwin Drood, The

Author: Frances Fyfield Format: eBook Release Date: 01/01/1970

Writer Frances Fyfield uses the manuscript of Dickens's last, unfinished, novel to work on the mystery of what happened to the book's eponymous hero Edwin Drood. First broadcast: BBC Radio 4, 19 January 2012.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.francesfyfield.co.uk/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more