LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Canary Keeper

by Clare Carson

The Canary Keeper Synopsis

'What a joy! Reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' LESLEY THOMSON. They will see me hang for this. London, 1855. In the grey mist of the early morning a body is dumped on the shore of the Thames by a boatman in a metal canoe. The city is soon alive with talk of the foreign killer and his striking accomplice: a young woman dressed in widow's weeds. Branna 'Birdie' Quinn's sleeplessness led her to the river that morning, but was it only thoughts of her drowned husband that kept her awake? She has always been wilful, haughty, different... but is she a murderess? To clear her name, Birdie must retrace the dead man's footsteps to Orkney and the far north. A dangerous journey for a woman alone, but one she must make in order to save her neck from the hangman's noose. This gripping, richly layered historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, The House Between Tides and The Confessions of Franny Langton. Reviews for Clare Carson: 'Superb storytelling, clever and convoluted plotting, and a wonderful sense of time and place' CRIME REVIEW. 'Meaty, beautifully written and original' IRISH INDEPENDENT. 'Original and absorbing' LITERARY REVIEW.

The Canary Keeper Press Reviews

'Gripping ... A top quality piece of historical fiction' iScotland. 'Carson's story comes into its own as the action moves to Scotland where Birdie begins to unearth startling truths about death and corruption in the transatlantic fur trade' Sunday Times. 'What a joy. The Canary Keeper reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' Lesley Thomson.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781786690609
Publication date: 6th February 2020
Author: Clare Carson
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 384 pages
Categories: Historical mysteries, Historical adventure, Historical romance,

About Clare Carson

Clare Carson grew up in the suburbs of London. She studied anthropology at university, and lived for a while in villages in Tanzania and Zimbabwe doing ethnographic research. She has worked as an adviser on human rights and international development for nearly twenty years and has written three novels, all published by Head of Zeus. She lives by the sea in Sussex with her partner, two daughters and a couple of very large cats.

More About Clare Carson

More Books By Clare Carson

Cover for Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson
Cover for Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson
Cover for Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson
View All Books By Clare Carson

Share this book