10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Queen High

View All Editions

£16.99 £15.29

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

About

Queen High Synopsis

Thrilling dystopian fiction from the acclaimed author of Widowland, 'Clever, thrilling, brilliantly imagined ... chillingly convincing post-war dystopia' (Clare Chambers). Perfect for fans of Fatherland and The Handmaid's Tale. Britain, with the wrong queen. 1955. The Leader has been dead for two years. His assassination, on British soil, provoked violent retribution and intensified repression of British citizens, particularly women. Now, more than ever, the Protectorate is a place of surveillance and isolation - a land of spies. The royal family has been usurped, and the widowed Queen Wallis reigns in their place. Yet still some citizens hold out hope that Elizabeth may one day return. Every evening Rose Ransom looks in the mirror and marvels that she's even alive. A mere woman, her role in the Leader's death has been miraculously overlooked. She still works at the Culture Ministry, where her work now focuses on the outlawed subject of Poetry, a form of writing that transmits subversive meanings, emotions and signals that cannot be controlled. Therefore all Poetry is banned and Rose is appointed a Poet Hunter. To widespread surprise, President Eisenhower is to make a state visit to the Alliance and Rose is tasked with visiting the widowed Wallis to provide a background briefing. When she arrives at the palace, she finds Wallis in a state of paranoia, desperate to return to America and enjoy the liberty of her homeland. She claims she has a secret document so explosive that it will blow the Protectorate apart - but will she dare to pull the trigger on the Alliance? PRAISE FOR QUEEN HIGH 'Begins with a bang' CLARE CHAMBERS 'Full of twists' RED 'A gripping thriller' BEL MOONEY 'Exciting and provocative' OBSERVER 'Thrilling, subversive' JANE HARRIS 'A triumph' AMANDA CRAIG 'Enthralling' THE SUNDAY TIMES 'Ingenious' SABINE DURRANT

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781529412031
Publication date: 13th October 2022
Author: C J Carey
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 432 pages
Primary Genre Dystopian Fiction
Other Genres:

Press Reviews

Author

You Might Also Like...

Leave the World Behind

Rumaan Alam

Paperback

In Stock

£8.99 £9.99

Femlandia

Christina Dalcher

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99

She's A Killer

Kirsten McDougall

Paperback

In Stock

£8.99 £9.99

The Power

Naomi Alderman

Paperback

In Stock

£8.99 £9.99

The Marriage Act

John Marrs

Hardback

In Stock

£15.29 £16.99

The Future

Naomi Alderman

Hardback

In Stock

£18.00 £20.00