The Cook of the Halcyon

Paperback edition released 16/09/2021

by Andrea Camilleri

Part of the Inspector Montalbano mysteries Series

The Cook of the Halcyon Synopsis

The Cook of the Halcyon is the penultimate novel in the Inspector Montalbano mystery series from the master of Sicilian crime, Andrea Camilleri. Moments later the all-white schooner, which looked like a hospital ship, began to pass ever so slowly before him, as if wanting to show itself off in all its beauty. The name on the prow said: Halcyon. Two deaths - the suicide of a recently fired worker and the murder of an unscrupulous businessman - lead Inspector Montalbano to the Halcyon, a mysterious ship that visits Vigata's port each day. With very few crewmen, no passengers, and a stern large enough to land a helicopter, it piques the Inspector's interest straight away. In the midst of this, a rare trip to Genoa to visit Livia ends with the Vigata police department in disarray, and Inspector Montalbano's position as the head of the commissariat in jeopardy. It will be up to Montalbano to fix the damage done.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781529053371
Publication date: 16th September 2021
Author: Andrea Camilleri
Publisher: Picador an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Primary Genre Crime and mystery: police procedural

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781529053371
Publication date: 16/09/2021
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781529053357
Publication date: 01/04/2021
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781529053364
Publication date: 18/03/2021
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Andrea Camilleri

Andrea Camilleri was one of Italy's most famous contemporary writers. The Inspector Montalbano series, which has sold over 65 million copies worldwide, has been translated into thirty-two languages and was adapted for Italian television, screened on BBC4. The Potter's Field, the thirteenth book in the series, was awarded the Crime Writers' Association's International Dagger for the best crime novel translated into English. In addition to his phenomenally successful Inspector Montalbano series, he was also the author of the historical comic mysteries Hunting Season and The Brewer of Preston. He died in Rome in July 2019.

More About Andrea Camilleri

More Books By Andrea Camilleri

The Cook of the Halcyon
The Cook of the Halcyon
The Cook of the Halcyon
View All Books By Andrea Camilleri

Share this book