win prizes book price comparison books of the month
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Silver Locomotive Mystery by Edward Marston
  

The Silver Locomotive Mystery

RRP £7.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Synopsis

The Silver Locomotive Mystery by Edward Marston

1854. As the Cardiff-bound train puffs out of Paddington Station, young Hugh Kellow wraps a protective arm around his large valise. He has been entrusted with a priceless silver coffee pot, designed in the shape of a locomotive, by his elderly silversmith employer. But two of Hugh's fellow passengers are taking an enormous interest in the young man and his priceless cargo. When a dead body is discovered in a room at the Cardiff Railway Hotel, beside an empty valise, the great Railway Detective Robert Colbeck and his trusty sergeant Victor Leeming are called in to investigate; and face a whole host of unexpected problems.

Reviews

'A grand romp very much in the tradition of Holmes and Watson'
Time Out

About the Author

Edward Marston was born and brought up in South Wales. A full-time writer for over thirty years, he has worked in radio, film, television and the theatre, and is a former chairman of the Crime Writers' Association.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th June 2010

Author

Edward Marston

More books by Edward Marston
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Allison & Busby

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Historical mysteries

ISBN

9780749007782

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools