Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

win prizes
Search our site
The Last Summer by Andree Michaud Read the opening extract of the brand new Andree Michaud book before its publication on 25/01/2018

The Silver Locomotive Mystery by Edward Marston
  

Synopsis

The Silver Locomotive Mystery by Edward Marston

1854. As the Cardiff-bound train puffs out of Paddington Station, young Hugh Kellow wraps a protective arm around his large valise. He has been entrusted with a priceless silver coffee pot, designed in the shape of a locomotive, by his elderly silversmith employer. But two of Hugh's fellow passengers are taking an enormous interest in the young man and his priceless cargo. When a dead body is discovered in a room at the Cardiff Railway Hotel, beside an empty valise, the great Railway Detective Robert Colbeck and his trusty sergeant Victor Leeming are called in to investigate; and face a whole host of unexpected problems.

Reviews

'A grand romp very much in the tradition of Holmes and Watson'
Time Out

About the Author

Edward Marston was born and brought up in South Wales. A full-time writer for over thirty years, he has worked in radio, film, television and the theatre, and is a former chairman of the Crime Writers' Association.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th June 2010

Author

Edward Marston

More books by Edward Marston
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Allison & Busby

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Historical mysteries

ISBN

9780749007782

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools