Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Understanding American Government and Politics

by Duncan Watts

Part of the Understanding Politics Series

Understanding American Government and Politics Synopsis

This eagerly-anticipated third edition builds on the established reputation of the Understanding series. It provides an accessible and intelligible text without compromising its high academic standards. Devices designed to help students study and revise effectively are used throughout including useful tables and boxes; clear definitions of key terms; and helpful introductory and concluding sections in each chapter. The third edition has been thoroughly updated to include such topics as the findings of the 2010 Census; the outcomes of the 2008 presidential contest and the 2010 mid-term elections; the role of the states in American federalism; reflections on the Bush presidency; the controversy over Health Care reform; and the rise of the Tea Party Movement. This is an ideal book for use by A Level teachers and students of American politics as it is closely geared to the requirements of the syllabuses laid down by the main examination boards. It is also deservedly popular with students pursuing introductory courses on the US political system in Higher Education. -- .

Book Information

ISBN: 9780719086830
Publication date: 13th March 2012
Author: Duncan Watts
Publisher: Manchester University Press
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 448 pages
Categories: Political structure & processes,

About Duncan Watts

Duncan Watts was a teacher and examiner in Government and Politics. He was prominent in the Politics Association Resource Centre, for which he wrote and edited many books and other materials. -- .

More About Duncan Watts

Share this book