10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

The Letters of Samuel Beckett: Volume 4, 1966–1989

View All Editions

The selected edition of this book is not available to buy right now.
Add To Wishlist
Write A Review


The Letters of Samuel Beckett: Volume 4, 1966–1989 Synopsis

This fourth and final volume, which completes the Cambridge edition of The Letters of Samuel Beckett, covers the final twenty-four years of what was, as Beckett saw it, a surprisingly long life. During these years he produced many of his finest and most concentrated works for theatre, plays that included Not I, Ohio Impromptu, and Catastrophe; for television he wrote Eh Joe and Ghost Trio; while in prose, he produced the late 'trilogy' that comprises Company, Ill Seen Ill Said, and Worstward Ho. In 1969, Beckett was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, and the letters from this period show him struggling to cope with the pressures created by his ever-growing international fame. The letters reveal how, later, he turned his mind to his legacy, as seen through his interactions with biographers and archivists. This volume also provides chronologies, explanatory notes, translations, and profiles of Beckett's chief correspondents.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780521867962
Publication date: 29th September 2016
Author: Samuel Beckett
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 942 pages
Series: The Letters of Samuel Beckett
Genres: Diaries, letters and journals
Literary studies: c 1900 to c 2000
Literary studies: fiction, novelists and prose writers
Literary studies: plays and playwrights