Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

A Workhouse Christmas

Paperback edition released 29/10/2020

by Kay Brellend

Part of the Workhouse to War Series

A Workhouse Christmas Synopsis

Discover the Workhouse to War trilogy by Kay Brellend: a new saga series set in the Whitechapel Union workhouse in East London, between 1904 and 1916. . . Christmas Eve, 1909. Eleven-year-old Lily Larkin is left to fend for herself in an East London workhouse after her dying mother is taken to an infirmary: her future looks bleak. Once she is separated from her twin brother, Davy, her childhood hopes seem to shatter. But Lily's fierce spirit - along with her beloved new friends - help her to endure the miserable drudgery of life at South Grove Workhouse and its cruel supervisor, Miss Fox. When a handsome, smartly-dressed gentleman shows up at the workhouse, claiming to be her cousin and with an offer of employment, Lily seizes her chance to escape. But her new job is far from perfect, and her reunion with her brother isn't what she thought it would be. Still, she relishes her freedom from the workhouse, and, finding herself on the cusp of womanhood, is determined to embrace her new life - until a shocking secret from her past is uncovered. As everything she'd ever believed about herself is thrown into confusion, will Lily ever be able to rise above her past? Praise for Kay Brellend 'Vividly rendered' Historical Novel Society 'A fantastic cast of characters' Goodreads 'Thoroughly absorbing' Goodreads

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780349425122
Publication date: 29th October 2020
Author: Kay Brellend
Publisher: Piatkus Books an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Primary Genre Sagas

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780349425122
Publication date: 29/10/2020
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780349425139
Publication date: 27/08/2020
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Kay Brellend

Kay Brellend was born in north London and her first saga, based in the early twentieth century slums of Islington, was published in 2011. The opening novel in the Bittersweet Legacy trilogy came out in 2017. Published by Piatkus, this series was set in a north London sweet factory and on the Somme battlefields. Kay's Workhouse to War trilogy is also set during the Great War. The series begins in the Whitechapel Union Workhouse and moves to the bustling markets of East London, between 1914 and 1918. It has all the heart, grit and personal connection that distinguishes her as one of the most ...

More About Kay Brellend

More Books By Kay Brellend

A Workhouse Christmas
A Workhouse Christmas
A Workhouse Christmas
View All Books By Kay Brellend

Share this book