likeyoulove
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Kill Call by Stephen Booth
  

Synopsis

The Kill Call by Stephen Booth

An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill. On a rain-swept Derbyshire moor, hounds from the local foxhunt find the body of a well-dressed man whose head has been crushed. Yet an anonymous caller reports the same body lying half a mile away. Called in to investigate the discovery, detectives DS Diane Fry and DC Ben Cooper become entangled in the violent world of hunting and hunt saboteurs, horse theft and a little-known sector of the meat trade. As Fry follows a complex trail of her own to unravel the shady business interests of the murder victim, Cooper realizes that the answer to the case might lie deep in the past. History is everywhere around him in the Peak District landscape - particularly in the `plague village' of Eyam, where an outbreak of Black Death has been turned into a modern-day tourist attraction. But, even as the final solution is revealed, both Fry and Cooper find themselves having to face up to the disturbing reality of the much more recent past.

Reviews

Praise for The Kill Call:

`Informative and clever
Literary Review



`Plenty to get your teeth into here... adds an extra edge of darkness to an already twilight tale
Northern Echo

Praise for Dying to Sin:



`Clever, intricate plot... Cooper is an ascendant Lewis to Fry's lonely, bitter Morse in this... gripping procedural
Financial Times

Praise for Scared to Live:



'It's easy to see why Stephen Booth's novels are so popular. The Peak District's awesome scenery is an ideal background for a murder or two; he has developed his two principal characters into rounded personalities and he always gives them an intriguing mystery to investigate'
Sunday Telegraph



'A modern master of rural noir'
Guardian



'Booth's aim is to portray the darkness that lies below the surface... in this he succeeds wonderfully well'
Daily Mail



'Ingenious plotting and richly atmospheric'
Reginald Hill

Praise for Stephen Booth:



'Stephen Booth creates a fine sense of place and atmosphere ... the unguessable solution to the crime comes as a real surprise'
Sunday Telegraph



'The complex relationship between [Cooper and Fry] is excellently drawn, and is combined with an intriguing plot and a real sense of place: Stephen Booth is an author to keep an eye on'
Evening Standard



'Stephen Booth makes high summer in Derbyshire as dark and terrifying as midwinter'
Val McDermid



'Sinks its teeth into you and doesn't let go ... A dark star may be born!'
Reginald Hill



'A leading light of British crime writing'
Guardian

About the Author

Stephen Booth

Born in Lancashire, Stephen Booth has been a newspaper and magazine journalist for 25 years. He has worked as a rugby reporter, a night shift sub-editor on the ‘Scottish Daily Express’ and Production Editor of the ‘Farming Guardian’ magazine, in addition to spells on local newspapers in the North of England. Stephen lives in a Georgian dower house in Nottinghamshire with his wife, three cats and three goats.

His debut crime novel ‘Black Dog’ was the first in a series set in the Peak District and featuring young Derbyshire police detectives Ben Cooper and Diane Fry. ‘Black Dog’ was named as one of the six best crime novels of 2000 by the ‘London Evening Standard’, and Reginald Hill said: “Stephen Booth’s ‘Black Dog’ sinks its teeth into you and doesn’t let you go.”

Author photo © Charlie Hopkinson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2010

Author

Stephen Booth

More books by Stephen Booth
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.stephen-booth.com/

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
544 pages

Categories

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780007243471

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools