Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

debuts of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Kill Call by Stephen Booth
  

Synopsis

The Kill Call by Stephen Booth

An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill. On a rain-swept Derbyshire moor, hounds from the local foxhunt find the body of a well-dressed man whose head has been crushed. Yet an anonymous caller reports the same body lying half a mile away. Called in to investigate the discovery, detectives DS Diane Fry and DC Ben Cooper become entangled in the violent world of hunting and hunt saboteurs, horse theft and a little-known sector of the meat trade. As Fry follows a complex trail of her own to unravel the shady business interests of the murder victim, Cooper realizes that the answer to the case might lie deep in the past. History is everywhere around him in the Peak District landscape - particularly in the `plague village' of Eyam, where an outbreak of Black Death has been turned into a modern-day tourist attraction. But, even as the final solution is revealed, both Fry and Cooper find themselves having to face up to the disturbing reality of the much more recent past.

Reviews

Praise for The Kill Call:

`Informative and clever
Literary Review



`Plenty to get your teeth into here... adds an extra edge of darkness to an already twilight tale
Northern Echo

Praise for Dying to Sin:



`Clever, intricate plot... Cooper is an ascendant Lewis to Fry's lonely, bitter Morse in this... gripping procedural
Financial Times

Praise for Scared to Live:



'It's easy to see why Stephen Booth's novels are so popular. The Peak District's awesome scenery is an ideal background for a murder or two; he has developed his two principal characters into rounded personalities and he always gives them an intriguing mystery to investigate'
Sunday Telegraph



'A modern master of rural noir'
Guardian



'Booth's aim is to portray the darkness that lies below the surface... in this he succeeds wonderfully well'
Daily Mail



'Ingenious plotting and richly atmospheric'
Reginald Hill

Praise for Stephen Booth:



'Stephen Booth creates a fine sense of place and atmosphere ... the unguessable solution to the crime comes as a real surprise'
Sunday Telegraph



'The complex relationship between [Cooper and Fry] is excellently drawn, and is combined with an intriguing plot and a real sense of place: Stephen Booth is an author to keep an eye on'
Evening Standard



'Stephen Booth makes high summer in Derbyshire as dark and terrifying as midwinter'
Val McDermid



'Sinks its teeth into you and doesn't let go ... A dark star may be born!'
Reginald Hill



'A leading light of British crime writing'
Guardian

About the Author

Stephen Booth

Born in Lancashire, Stephen Booth has been a newspaper and magazine journalist for 25 years. He has worked as a rugby reporter, a night shift sub-editor on the ‘Scottish Daily Express’ and Production Editor of the ‘Farming Guardian’ magazine, in addition to spells on local newspapers in the North of England. Stephen lives in a Georgian dower house in Nottinghamshire with his wife, three cats and three goats.

His debut crime novel ‘Black Dog’ was the first in a series set in the Peak District and featuring young Derbyshire police detectives Ben Cooper and Diane Fry. ‘Black Dog’ was named as one of the six best crime novels of 2000 by the ‘London Evening Standard’, and Reginald Hill said: “Stephen Booth’s ‘Black Dog’ sinks its teeth into you and doesn’t let you go.”

Author photo © Charlie Hopkinson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st April 2010

Author

Stephen Booth

More books by Stephen Booth
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.stephen-booth.com/

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
544 pages

Categories

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780007243471

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools