Black Reed Bay

by Rod Reynolds

Part of the Detective Casey Wray Series

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Crime and Mystery Action Adventure Thriller and Suspense Literary Fiction Book Club Recommendations Books of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Black Reed Bay

The launch of an explosive, brand-new series from much-admired Rod Reynolds featuring Detective Casey Wray, a complex and convincing new addition to the American Noir pantheon.

When Orenda Books decides to back an author, whether they write in - or are translated into - English, it’s wise to pay attention as they have an uncanny knack for finding and signing up writers of great quality in publishing’s busiest and most competitive genre.

Rod Reynolds is no exception. Having gained plaudits aplenty for his excellent Charlie Yates 1940’s noir series; The Dark Inside, Black Night Falling and Cold Desert Sky, Reynolds then diverted to the brutal London-based stand-alone thriller, Blood Red City, and gained a long-listing for the CWA Steel Dagger for his troubles. 

Pivoting ‘back to black’ with Black Reed Bay, Reynolds introduces us to his newest creation, Detective Casey “Big Case” Wray, through a superbly crafted contemporary who-why-how-dunnit. 

Set in the fictitious Hampstead County - which bears a striking resemblance to Nassau County N.Y - on Long Island, with windswept Atlantic beaches and the cookie cutter beachfront McMansions of a comfortable community, each scene is imbued with a sense of location so real, you can feel the salt spray and neighbourly judgment sting your skin.

On the face of it it’s a standard crime/thriller narrative: something bad happens and the police investigate. For some the female victim trope will rankle, but the story and cast are introduced with such nuance and style and then, credentials established, around the 100 page mark Reynolds moves up through the gears to deliver a beautifully paced, smartly plotted read that really delivers.

And Wray? Well she is the real star of the story. Somewhere between Frances McDormand’s “Marge Gunderson” in Fargo and Helen Mirren as “Jane Tennison” in Prime Suspect; too good a human and too big hearted to be hard boiled, but à point cynical and with a great store of whip-crack one-liners.

Mark these words, Reynolds is going to good places fast if he can repeat the magic of Black Reed Bay in his next few books. Join in and get reading, it’s going to be quite the journey.

Paul Blezard

Black Reed Bay Synopsis

Don't trust ANYONE...

When a young woman makes a distressing middle-of-the-night call to 911, apparently running for her life in a quiet, exclusive beachside neighbourhood, miles from her home, everything suggests a domestic incident.

Except no one has seen her since, and something doesn't sit right with the officers at Hampstead County PD. With multiple suspects and witnesses throwing up startling inconsistencies, and interference from the top threatening the integrity of the investigation, lead detective Casey Wray is thrust into an increasingly puzzling case that looks like it's going to have only one ending...

And then the first body appears...

For fans of Susie Steiner, Sarah Hilary, M J Arlidge, James Lee Burke and Tana French

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781913193676
Publication date: 2nd September 2021
Author: Rod Reynolds
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 300 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 03/10/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from July to September. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: The Beresford by Will Carver - Published 22nd July Girls Who Lie by Eva Bjorg Aegisdottir - Published 22nd July No Honour by Awais Khan - Published 19th August The Great Silence by Doug Johnstone - Published 19th August Black Reed Bay by Rod Reynolds - Published 2nd September This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 3rd October 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Black Reed Bay

Edge of the Grave
Knife Edge
Midnight Atlanta
Cogan's Trade

Rod Reynolds Press Reviews

‘Urgent, thrilling and richly imagined. Without doubt his best yet' Chris Whitaker, author of We Begin at the End

‘Reynolds captures the claustrophobic feel of a small town  … a tense slice of American noir’ Vaseem Khan, author of Midnight at Malabar House

‘Compelling and stylish, with devious twists and a cleverly crafted ending. Very, very impressive’ G J Minnett, author of The Syndicate

‘One of the greatest crime talents of his generation’ Tim Baker

‘There’s something particularly special about Black Reed Bay and it’s Detective Casey Wray … I felt like I’d known her all my life’ Joy Kluver 

‘Beautifully written, deeply atmospheric and cleverly plotted, with a brilliant new protagonist’ Andrea Carter

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781913193676
Publication date: 02/09/2021
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Rod Reynolds

Rod Reynolds was born in London and, after a successful career in advertising, working as a media buyer, he decided to get serious about writing. He recently completed City University's two-year Crime Writing Masters course and The Dark Inside is his first novel. He lives in London with his wife and daughter.

More About Rod Reynolds

More Books By Rod Reynolds

Black Reed Bay
Black Reed Bay
Black Reed Bay
View All Books By Rod Reynolds

Share this book