LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Map from Here to There

by Emery Lord

'new gen' - Great Books for Young Adults Family Drama Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Map from Here to There

Like When We Collided and Open Road SummerThe Map from Here to There demonstrates Emery Lord’s talent for capturing the exhilaration and angst of characters on the cusp of adulthood.

“I was beginning to think that half of growing up was figuring out when to let go and when to hold on,” Paige muses partway through her story journey, but being an anxiety prone over-thinker, that’s not an easy conundrum to crack. After the pain of her first boyfriend passing away a few years back, life has taken an upward turn. She has a set of supportive friends, she’s excited by the prospect of studying screenwriting, and she’s besotted with her new boyfriend Max. 

But having such an active life – working shifts at a cinema, applying to college, taking on a theatre internship, wanting to spend time with Max and her friends - begins to take its toll. Paige wants it all, but big decisions must be made, and the trouble is, saying yes to one thing (like choosing where to go to college) means saying no to another. When fatalism kicks in and affects her close relationships, Paige takes heart from her mom’s wise words: “As much as I love a pro-and-con list – and you know I do – sometimes you have to ignore all of that. Your gut instinct can say a lot.”

Authentic, honest and shot through with empathy, this offers a helping hand to young adults navigating similarly confusing crossroads, alongside being an out and out entertaining story.

Joanne Owen

The Map from Here to There Synopsis

The Map from Here to There is an unforgettable story of identity and the companion novel to the stellar The Start of Me and You, which was a Zoella Book Club pick for WHSmith.

It's senior year, and Paige Hancock is finally living her best life. She has a fun summer job, great friends, and a super charming boyfriend who totally gets her. But senior year also means big decisions. Feeling the weight of 'the rest of her life' Paige starts to panic. Everything is exactly how she always wanted it to be - how can she leave it all behind next year? In her head, she knows there is so much more to life after high school. But in her heart, is it so terrible to want everything to stay the same forever? Emery Lord's signature storytelling shines with lovable characters and heartfelt exploration of life's most important questions. There will be break-ups, make-ups, a road trip, and even a wedding. Through it all, can Paige figure out what happens in the after part of happily ever after?

Fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon should look no further than this unforgettable story of friendship and connection.

Win a Signed Copy Of Witch!

Win a Signed Copy Of Witch!

Closing date: 01/11/2020

To celebrate the release of the debut YA novel Witch by Finbar Hawkins we have 5 signed copies to give away!  "A gobble-it-up fiery and intense yet thoughtful debut novel about family, betrayal, and witchcraft." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 1st November 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Map from Here to There Press Reviews

Praise for When We Collided;

This is more than a love story. When We Collided carefully yet effortlessly puts mental illness in conversation with the beauty and struggle of adolescence. It is a book I wish could have written, but am so much better for having read - Julie Murphy, bestselling author of Dumplin' 

A five-star must-read romance - USA Today 

A beautiful, emotional read - Maximum Pop

Searingly honest, gut-wrenchingly authentic, and deeply romantic, When We Collided is a gift of a novel. It tackles tough topics with nuance, and will make readers both laugh and cry, sometimes within the span of a page - Jasmine Warga, author of My Heart and Other Black Holes

Praise for The Start of Me and You;

In sharp contrast to darker, more issue-driven YA books, this title keeps truer to the problems that most teens face. The protagonist's upbeat attitude will inspire readers to persevere even during the low points in life - Starred review, School Library Journal

Lord offers a sweet story of love and loss. ... The author is gentle with Paige as she struggles to redefine herself both in school and at home, as well as figure out who understands her best as she stumbles toward new romance - Publishers Weekly

If you loved this, you might like these...

Cane Warriors
Witch
Punching the Air
Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781526606648
Publication date: 05/03/2020
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526606648
Publication date: 5th March 2020
Author: Emery Lord
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Family Drama, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage),

About Emery Lord

Emery Lord is the author of Open Road Summer, The Start of Me and You, and When We Collided. She lives in a pink row house in Cincinnati, with a husband, two rescue dogs, and a closet full of impractical shoes.

More About Emery Lord

More Books By Emery Lord

Cover for Open Road Summer by Emery Lord
Cover for The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
Cover for When We Collided by Emery Lord
View All Books By Emery Lord

Share this book