newgen books for YA readers twitter
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
Treachery by S. J. Parris
  

Treachery

Crime / Mystery   Action Adventure / Spy   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A 2016 World Book Night selection.

The fourth in the series featuring Giordano Bruno, mathematician, philosopher, heretic and spy, and solver of murders in Elizabethan England. In previous novels Bruno encountered John Dee, Nostradamus and Walsingham. He’s good friends with Philip Sidney (historically rumoured to be the Queen’s lover) and in this episode he is under the feet of Sir Francis Drake. Bruno’s deep and wonderful mind make these books more meaty than an historical romp and more vividly complex than the run of cosy crime. A spirit of adventure and true love of the period infuses the prose. Reading this alone won’t spoil your enjoyment of the mystery but to get the full flavour I recommend starting with Heresy the first in the series.

If you like S. J. Parris you might also like to read books by Claire Letemendia, Rory Clements and James Forrester.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. It is August 1585, and as relations between England and Spain become increasingly strained, Sir Francis Drake is preparing to mount a dangerous raid against the enemy. But when one of his sailors is found murdered, the Captain begins to fear for the safety of his expedition, and calls in Queen Elizabeth’s investigators, the unfulfilled poet and dandy, royal favourite Philip Sidney, and the enigmatic exile and spy, Giordano Bruno. As Sidney and Bruno track the killer through the dark backstreets of Plymouth, they begin to uncover a deadly plot against the realm, in this lively, intelligent and intriguing historical mystery.
~ Susie Cogan

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Helen Sidebottom - 'Definitely a page turner, a Tudor who done it with more twists and turns than any country lane.' Read full review >
  • Lynn Curtis - 'A maritime setting with plenty of red herrings in the latest Giordano Bruno mystery. Like its predecessors this is a highly atmospheric and intriguing mystery.' Read full review >
  • George Willmett - 'Historical fiction is not something that I usually read but I found this to be thoroughly enjoyable and engaging.' Read full review >
  • Angie Rhodes - 'I loved this book, which is one of four...S.J. Parris has once again written a great Elizabethan novel.'  Read full review >
  • Susan Walsh - 'This is a brilliantly written book, I rate it 10/10...Once you pick it up, you won’t want to put it down. An absolute delight.' Read full review >
  • Pam Woodburn - 'A very pleasant History lesson with a twist!' Read full review >
  • Glenda Worth - 'Great first read by SJ Parris, I will be looking out for other titles now!...Easy to read, no getting bogged down in historical fact, and told at a good pace.' Read full review >
  • Magdalena Vidgen - 'I give Treachery 5/5 and would recommend it to anybody who likes intelligent history thrillers.' Read full review >
  • Gill Williams - 'A big blockbuster of a book to get your teeth into. Difficult to put down once started. Parris creates the sound and the smells and the atmosphere of Elizabethan Britain very evocatively.' Read full review >
  • Andrea Dean - 'This is a truly captivating story with all the twists and turns found in modern crime stories...This story is a must for everyone who enjoys both crime and historical novels.' Read full review >
  • Nicola Crisp - 'A gripping read, full of mystery and historical detail, with lots of twists. Can you work out who did it before our hero does? I know I didn't!' Read full review >
  • Julie Bickerdyke - 'A delightful story of Elizabethan England with a fascinating central character...I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will be reading more by SJ Parris.' Read full review >
  • Lee Ruddin - '...this Elizabethan “whodunit” is an accessible standalone read requiring little prior knowledge...With Parris’s pen bringing alive the port of Plymouth, Treachery is sure to climb bestseller lists.' Read full review >
  • Neil - 'The author does a fantastic job of making Elizabethan Plymouth come alive whilst giving you a genuine buy in to the characters and what happens to them.' Read full review >

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

Treachery by S. J. Parris

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the Inquisition, finds a new life working as a spy for Sir Francis Walsingham. Along with his friend, Sir Philip Sidney, Bruno travels to Plymouth on the Queen's behalf. There, they meet Sir Francis Drake, who is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish, which could turn the tide of war. Unbeknownst to Bruno, however, Sidney plans to stowaway with Drake's fleet and return a hero - dragging Bruno with him to the New World. But when a murder occurs aboard Drake's own ship, fear and suspicion grip the fleet and threaten to abort the expedition before it begins. Navigating the jealousies and loyalties of the crew, Bruno learns that someone with a deadly grudge is shadowing his investigation. Tracking the killer through Plymouth's menacing backstreets, he uncovers some of the darkest secrets the city is harbouring. Failure will come at the highest cost - not just for Bruno, but all of England...

Reviews

Praise for Treachery:

'Hugely enjoyable... It's played straight, but never humourlessly so, and there's just enough proper history amid the intrigue to keep purists on side' Guardian

'With its twisting plot and vivid-scene setting, TREACHERY confirms Parris's growing reputation as a writer of historical thrillers.'
Sunday Times

'An evil bookseller and a terrifying brothel lie ahead; what's not to like? Gripping and fun.'
Observer

'Parris's Giordano Bruno series has been a joy. Her Elizabethan England is loud, pungent and blessedly free of some of the genre's more egregious cliches. She wears her research lightly: at home with the detail of the period, she is quite happy to engage in a little creative anachronism to bring the story home'
Telegraph

'There are echoes of CJ Sansom's Shardlake series here. But Parris is better than the usual run of imitators. Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming' The Times

Praise for S. J. Parris:

'Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins'
Daily Telegraph

'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history'
Kate Mosse

'Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please'
The Times

'Full of surprises ... an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth's security'
TLS

'Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping'
Conn Iggulden

'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I'
Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

About the Author

S. J. Parris

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student in Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th August 2014

Author

S. J. Parris

More books by S. J. Parris
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.sjparris.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
576 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Action Adventure / Spy
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical mysteries

ISBN

9780007481224

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools