Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

join us on facebook debuts of the month
Search our site
A Country Escape by Katie Fforde Read the opening extract of the brand new Katie Fforde book before its publication on 22/02/2018

Reader Reviewed
Treachery by S. J. Parris
  

Treachery

Crime / Mystery   Action Adventure / Spy   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A 2016 World Book Night selection.

The fourth in the series featuring Giordano Bruno, mathematician, philosopher, heretic and spy, and solver of murders in Elizabethan England. In previous novels Bruno encountered John Dee, Nostradamus and Walsingham. He’s good friends with Philip Sidney (historically rumoured to be the Queen’s lover) and in this episode he is under the feet of Sir Francis Drake. Bruno’s deep and wonderful mind make these books more meaty than an historical romp and more vividly complex than the run of cosy crime. A spirit of adventure and true love of the period infuses the prose. Reading this alone won’t spoil your enjoyment of the mystery but to get the full flavour I recommend starting with Heresy the first in the series.

If you like S. J. Parris you might also like to read books by Rory Clements, Ariana Franklin and C. J. Sansom.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. It is August 1585, and as relations between England and Spain become increasingly strained, Sir Francis Drake is preparing to mount a dangerous raid against the enemy. But when one of his sailors is found murdered, the Captain begins to fear for the safety of his expedition, and calls in Queen Elizabeth’s investigators, the unfulfilled poet and dandy, royal favourite Philip Sidney, and the enigmatic exile and spy, Giordano Bruno. As Sidney and Bruno track the killer through the dark backstreets of Plymouth, they begin to uncover a deadly plot against the realm, in this lively, intelligent and intriguing historical mystery.
~ Susie Cogan

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Helen Sidebottom - 'Definitely a page turner, a Tudor who done it with more twists and turns than any country lane.' Read full review >
  • Lynn Curtis - 'A maritime setting with plenty of red herrings in the latest Giordano Bruno mystery. Like its predecessors this is a highly atmospheric and intriguing mystery.' Read full review >
  • George Willmett - 'Historical fiction is not something that I usually read but I found this to be thoroughly enjoyable and engaging.' Read full review >
  • Angie Rhodes - 'I loved this book, which is one of four...S.J. Parris has once again written a great Elizabethan novel.'  Read full review >
  • Susan Walsh - 'This is a brilliantly written book, I rate it 10/10...Once you pick it up, you won’t want to put it down. An absolute delight.' Read full review >
  • Pam Woodburn - 'A very pleasant History lesson with a twist!' Read full review >
  • Glenda Worth - 'Great first read by SJ Parris, I will be looking out for other titles now!...Easy to read, no getting bogged down in historical fact, and told at a good pace.' Read full review >
  • Magdalena Vidgen - 'I give Treachery 5/5 and would recommend it to anybody who likes intelligent history thrillers.' Read full review >
  • Gill Williams - 'A big blockbuster of a book to get your teeth into. Difficult to put down once started. Parris creates the sound and the smells and the atmosphere of Elizabethan Britain very evocatively.' Read full review >
  • Andrea Dean - 'This is a truly captivating story with all the twists and turns found in modern crime stories...This story is a must for everyone who enjoys both crime and historical novels.' Read full review >
  • Nicola Crisp - 'A gripping read, full of mystery and historical detail, with lots of twists. Can you work out who did it before our hero does? I know I didn't!' Read full review >
  • Julie Bickerdyke - 'A delightful story of Elizabethan England with a fascinating central character...I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will be reading more by SJ Parris.' Read full review >
  • Lee Ruddin - '...this Elizabethan “whodunit” is an accessible standalone read requiring little prior knowledge...With Parris’s pen bringing alive the port of Plymouth, Treachery is sure to climb bestseller lists.' Read full review >
  • Neil - 'The author does a fantastic job of making Elizabethan Plymouth come alive whilst giving you a genuine buy in to the characters and what happens to them.' Read full review >

Synopsis

Treachery by S. J. Parris

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the Inquisition, finds a new life working as a spy for Sir Francis Walsingham. Along with his friend, Sir Philip Sidney, Bruno travels to Plymouth on the Queen's behalf. There, they meet Sir Francis Drake, who is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish, which could turn the tide of war. Unbeknownst to Bruno, however, Sidney plans to stowaway with Drake's fleet and return a hero - dragging Bruno with him to the New World. But when a murder occurs aboard Drake's own ship, fear and suspicion grip the fleet and threaten to abort the expedition before it begins. Navigating the jealousies and loyalties of the crew, Bruno learns that someone with a deadly grudge is shadowing his investigation. Tracking the killer through Plymouth's menacing backstreets, he uncovers some of the darkest secrets the city is harbouring. Failure will come at the highest cost - not just for Bruno, but all of England...

Reviews

Praise for Treachery:

'Hugely enjoyable... It's played straight, but never humourlessly so, and there's just enough proper history amid the intrigue to keep purists on side' Guardian

'With its twisting plot and vivid-scene setting, TREACHERY confirms Parris's growing reputation as a writer of historical thrillers.'
Sunday Times

'An evil bookseller and a terrifying brothel lie ahead; what's not to like? Gripping and fun.'
Observer

'Parris's Giordano Bruno series has been a joy. Her Elizabethan England is loud, pungent and blessedly free of some of the genre's more egregious cliches. She wears her research lightly: at home with the detail of the period, she is quite happy to engage in a little creative anachronism to bring the story home'
Telegraph

'There are echoes of CJ Sansom's Shardlake series here. But Parris is better than the usual run of imitators. Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming' The Times

Praise for S. J. Parris:

'Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins'
Daily Telegraph

'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history'
Kate Mosse

'Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please'
The Times

'Full of surprises ... an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth's security'
TLS

'Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping'
Conn Iggulden

'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I'
Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

About the Author

S. J. Parris

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student in Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th August 2014

Author

S. J. Parris

More books by S. J. Parris
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.sjparris.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
576 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Action Adventure / Spy
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical mysteries

ISBN

9780007481224

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools