The Crime Writers Association Daggers


The CWA Dagger Awards

The CWA Dagger Awards are the longest established literary awards in the UK and are internationally recognised as a mark of excellence and achievement.

The Crime Writers' Association was established in 1953 by crime writer John Creasey. The Daggers began with what was originally known as the Crossed Red Herring Award in 1955 and have grown from there. 10 Daggers are awarded every year.

The longlists for the 2020 CWA Daggers have been announced. The winner will be announced at the glamorous CWA Dagger Awards Gala Dinner at the Leonardo Royal Hotel London City on 22 October 2020. Booking for the ceremony will be open later in the year, so watch this space.

To find out more about the CWA Dagger Awards you may visit the CWA website by clicking here.

The Daggers name and Crossed Daggers logo are registered Trade Marks of the Crime Writers’ Association.

The Crime Writers Association Daggers 2020

CWA Gold Dagger

John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger Award

The Crime Writers Association Daggers Archive

Click on a year below to view past years from this award.