LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Joseph Zobel - Author

About the Author

Books by Joseph Zobel

Black Shack Alley

Black Shack Alley

Author: Joseph Zobel Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/05/2020

Following in the tradition of Richard Wright's Black Boy, Joseph Zobel's semi-autobiographical 1950 novel Black Shack Alley chronicles the coming-of-age of Jose, a young boy grappling with his identity in colonial Martinique. As Jose transitions from childhood to young adulthood and from rural plantations to urban Fort-de-France on a quest for upward mobility, he bears witness to and struggles against the various manifestations of white supremacy, both subtle and overt, that will alter the course of his life. Zobel's masterpiece, the basis for the award-winning film Sugar Cane Alley, is a powerful testament to twentieth-century life in Martinique, with a foreword by award-winning Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau.

Antique Vienna Bronzes

Antique Vienna Bronzes

Author: Joseph Zobel Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/12/2007

Small bronze figures, made in Vienna, Austria, beginning around 1850, are well known for their great detail and expressiveness. They were produced in small factories and private artist studios in the forms of animals and humans, and were exported to sell in New York, London, and Paris. Depicted here in over 650 brilliant color photos are cast bronze birds, camels, cats, dogs, horses, bears, bulls, reptiles, and rodents as well as humans figures from around the globe and many professions. Figures integrated into lamps are also displayed. \nThe informative text highlights major artists and firms that produced Vienna bronze figures, and values are included in the captions. Antique and figurine collectors will find much pertinent information in this new study.