LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Lou Berney - Author

About the Author

Lou Berney is the author of three previous novels, Gutshot Straight, Whiplash River, and multiple prize-winning The Long and Faraway Gone. His short fiction has appeared in publications such as The New Yorker, Ploughshares, and the Pushcart Prize anthology. He lives in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Featured books by Lou Berney

Other books by Lou Berney

Whiplash River

Whiplash River

Author: Lou Berney Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/12/2018

Like Carl Hiaasen, Berney delights in the cartoonish. Like Elmore Leonard, he can drive a plot. What sets him apart is how well he evokes love, making the romance...as compelling as the mystery. -Boston Globe Lou Berney immediately earned a seat of honor at the mystery masters' table with his crackling caper novel, Gutshot Straight-a lightning-fast, fiendishly clever suspenser that screamed for a sequel. And here it is. Former professional wheel man Charles Shake Bouchon is back, living in the Caribbean paradise of Belize with his lawless past far behind him-until a gunshot tears through his beachside restaurant and he's on the run again. A twisting tale filled with lawmen, con men, and hit men; a beautiful but deadly FBI agent; and a murderous thug named Baby Jesus, Whiplash River recalls the best of the off-the-wall crime fiction impresarios-Elmore Leonard, Carl Hiaasen, James W. Hall, Robert Ferrigno, Tim Dorsey-while establishing its own unique orbit in the noir universe.

Gutshot Straight

Gutshot Straight

Author: Lou Berney Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/12/2018

Lou Berney's novel is so energetic, so droll, and so wheezingly funny that it accomplished what no book ever has before: it made me forget to eat lunch. -Stephen Harrigan, New York Times bestselling author of Challenger Park A fast and funny caper in the tradition of Elmore Leonard, Carl Hiaasen, and the Coen Brothers, Gutshot Straight brings a fresh new talent into the crime fiction fold: Louis Berney. He's already won raves for his short fiction collection The Road to Bobby Joe and Other Stories ( Rivals the work of contemporary hotshots T.C. Boyle and Ralph Lombreglia -Chicago Tribune). With Gutshot Straight, Berney is all in -sure to win a fervent following with the story of Shake Bouchon, fresh out of prison and on the straight and narrow path...after maybe just one last job.

November Road

November Road

Author: Lou Berney Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/10/2018

'A great read, combining brutal action with a moving love story; gorgeous writing, too' Ian Rankin 'Exceptional' Stephen King Winner of the 2018 Hammett Prize. A poignant and evocative crime novel - a story of unexpected connections, daring possibilities, and the hope of second chances. Frank Guidry's luck has finally run out... A loyal street lieutenant to New Orleans' mob boss Carlos Marcello, Guidry knows too much about the crime of the century: the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. Within hours of JFK's murder, everyone with ties to Marcello is turning up dead. Suspecting he's next, Guidry hits the road to Las Vegas. When he spots a beautiful housewife and her two young daughters stranded on the side of the road, he sees the perfect disguise to cover his tracks from the hit men on his trail. The two strangers share the open road west - and find each other on the way. But Guidry's relentless hunters are closing in on him, and now he doesn't want to just survive, he wants to really live, maybe for the first time. Everyone's expendable, or they should be, but Guidry just can't throw away the woman he's come to love. And it might get them both killed.

The Long and Faraway Gone

The Long and Faraway Gone

Author: Lou Berney Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/02/2015

WINNER OF THE EDGAR AWARD, THE MACAVITY AWARD, THE ANTHONY AWARD, AND THE BARRY AWARD FOR BEST PAPERBACK ORIGINAL NOMINATED FOR THE 2015 LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE With the compelling narrative tension and psychological complexity of the works of Laura Lippman, Dennis Lehane, Kate Atkinson, and Michael Connelly, Edgar Award-nominee Lou Berney's The Long and Faraway Gone is a smart, fiercely compassionate crime story that explores the mysteries of memory and the impact of violence on survivors-and the lengths they will go to find the painful truth of the events that scarred their lives. In the summer of 1986, two tragedies rocked Oklahoma City. Six movie-theater employees were killed in an armed robbery, while one inexplicably survived. Then, a teenage girl vanished from the annual State Fair. Neither crime was ever solved. Twenty-five years later, the reverberations of those unsolved cases quietly echo through survivors' lives. A private investigator in Vegas, Wyatt's latest inquiry takes him back to a past he's tried to escape-and drags him deeper into the harrowing mystery of the movie house robbery that left six of his friends dead. Like Wyatt, Julianna struggles with the past-with the day her beautiful older sister Genevieve disappeared. When Julianna discovers that one of the original suspects has resurfaced, she'll stop at nothing to find answers. As Wyatt's case becomes more complicated and dangerous, and Julianna seeks answers from a ghost, their obsessive quests not only stir memories of youth and first love, but also begin to illuminate dark secrets of the past. But will their shared passion and obsession heal them, or push them closer to the edge? Even if they find the truth, will it help them understand what happened, that long and faraway gone summer? Will it set them free-or ultimately destroy them?

Whiplash River

Whiplash River

Author: Lou Berney Format: eBook Release Date: 10/07/2012

Like Carl Hiaasen, Berney delights in the cartoonish. Like Elmore Leonard, he can drive a plot. What sets him apart is how well he evokes love, making the romanceas compelling as the mystery.Boston GlobeLou Berney immediately earned a seat of honor at the mystery masters table with his crackling caper novel, Gutshot Straighta lightning-fast, fiendishly clever suspenser that screamed for a sequel. And here it is. Former professional wheel man Charles Shake Bouchon is back, living in the Caribbean paradise of Belize with his lawless past far behind himuntil a gunshot tears through his beachside restaurant and hes on the run again. A twisting tale filled with lawmen, con men, and hit men; a beautiful but deadly FBI agent; and a murderous thug named Baby Jesus, Whiplash River recalls the best of the off-the-wall crime fiction impresariosElmore Leonard, Carl Hiaasen, James W. Hall, Robert Ferrigno, Tim Dorseywhile establishing its own unique orbit in the noir universe.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more