Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Anneliese Mackintosh - Author

About the Author

Featured books by Anneliese Mackintosh

Other books by Anneliese Mackintosh

So Happy It Hurts

So Happy It Hurts

Author: Anneliese Mackintosh Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/07/2018

`This lovely, quirky novel will appeal to fans of Miranda July and Sheila Heti' Red Ottila McGregor is thirty years old and has decided it's time to sort her life out. She's going to quit drinking, stop cheating and finally find true happiness. Easy, right? Getting in the way of this plan are: 1. Grace, her best friend, who believes self-improvement is for people in their forties. 2. Mina, her sister, who is mentally ill, and it might be Ottila's fault. 3. Thales, the Greek guy who works in the hospital cafeteria - probably the best, most dangerous person Ottila's ever met. Told through a scrapbook of emails, receipts, therapy transcripts and other ephemera, this is an infectious one-off of a novel that makes you wince and laugh in equal measure.

So Happy It Hurts

So Happy It Hurts

Author: Anneliese Mackintosh Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/07/2017

'I want to be a good person. And I want to be happy. So happy it hurts. I need you to help me with that.' Ottila McGregor is thirty years old and has decided it's time to sort her life out. She's going to quit drinking, stop cheating and finally find true happiness. Easy, right? Of course not. For a start, there's Grace, her best friend, who believes self-improvement is for people in their forties. Next there's Mina, her sister, who is mentally ill, and it might be Ottila's fault. And then there's Thales, the Greek guy who works in the hospital cafeteria. He's probably the best, most dangerous person Ottila's ever met. To make sense of it all, Ottila keeps a scrapbook of everything: emails, receipts, tickets, letters, her therapy transcripts, a boyfriend's note rescued from the bin... The result is an infectious one-off of a novel that makes you wince and laugh in equal measure, and which asks the question: what does it take to be so happy it hurts? **Shortlisted for the DIVA Rising Star Literary Award**

Greengrocer's Apostrophe, The: Penny's From Heaven (BBC Radio 4: Afternoon Reading)

Greengrocer's Apostrophe, The: Penny's From Heaven (BBC Radio 4: Afternoon Reading)

Author: Anneliese Mackintosh Format: eBook Release Date: 01/01/1970

'Penny's from Heaven' is the first of three comic tales from BBC Radio 4's 'The Greengrocer's Apostrophe', inspired by those hand-written signs offering 'Apple's and Banana's' which can be found in every town in Britain. Originally broadcast in the 'Afternoon Reading' slot on 28 September 2010. James Anthony Pearson reads a quirky story about the apostrophe that ends a relationship, written by Anneliese Mackintosh. Produced by Eilidh McCreadie.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more