LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Nuala Ellwood - Author

About the Author

Nuala Ellwood was chosen as one of the Observer's 'New Faces of Fiction 2017' for her first thriller, the bestselling My Sister's Bones. Nuala teaches Creative Writing at York St John University, and lives in the city with her young son.

Featured books by Nuala Ellwood

The House on the Lake

The House on the Lake

Author: Nuala Ellwood Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/02/2020

No matter how far you run . . . He's never far behind Lisa needs to disappear. And her friend's rambling old home in the wilds of Yorkshire seems like the perfect place. It's miles away from the closest town, and no one there knows her or her little boy, Joe. But when a woman from the local village comes to visit them, Lisa realizes that she and Joe aren't as safe as she thought. What secrets have Rowan Isle House - and her friend - kept hidden all these years? And what will Lisa have to do to survive, when her past finally catches up with her? 

Day of the Accident

Day of the Accident

Author: Nuala Ellwood Format: Paperback Release Date: 21/02/2019

A sharp, dramatic and thrilling tale, prepare the edge of your seat as you might be spending some time there! Maggie wakes to living nightmare, her daughter died in the accident that placed Maggie in a coma, her husband has disappeared, and Maggie remembers nothing about the incident. The prologue in Crown Court, immediately sets the scene and encourages intrigue to run amok. The first few chapters, so short, yet so full of tension ensured my brain tasted and tested every word as I read. Nuala Ellwood intricately sews little pieces of information into the pages, just waiting for you to discover them. Letters appear every few chapters, heart-aching moments in time. I existed in two spaces, part of me just reading and thoroughly enjoying the story, the other exploring and examining thoughts and feelings in detail. Day of the Accident slams with impact, gave my brain a huge workout and is a thoroughly captivating read.

Other books by Nuala Ellwood

The Perfect Life

The Perfect Life

Author: Nuala Ellwood Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/08/2021

HAVE YOU EVER WANTED TO BE SOMEONE ELSE? Vanessa has always found it easy to pretend to be somebody different, somebody better. When things get tough in her real life, all she has to do is throw on some nicer clothes, adopt a new accent and she can escape. That's how it started: looking round houses she couldn't possibly afford. Harmless fun really. Until it wasn't. Because a man who lived in one of those houses is dead. And everyone thinks Vanessa killed him... ** PRE-ORDER THE GRIPPING NEW THRILLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF The Day of Accident NOW! ** ______________________ Praise for Nuala Ellwood 'A gripping, poignant novel ... I read it in one sitting' Rosamund Lupton 'A clever, twisty plot that takes psychological mind games to a new level. Nuala Ellwood has done it again!' Jane Corry 'This book will take all your expectations and upend them, making you question everything you thought you knew' Emma Kavanagh 'Brilliantly compulsive and with one hell of a twist! I was consumed until the final heartbreaking page' Claire Douglas 'Absolutely brilliant - exciting, clever, it deserves to be a bestseller' Priscilla Masters

Day of the Accident

Day of the Accident

Author: Nuala Ellwood Format: Ebook Release Date: 21/02/2019

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Day of the Accident by Nuala Ellwood. They say you killed her . . . But what if theyre wrong? Sixty seconds after she wakes from a coma, Maggies world is torn apart. The police tell her that her daughter Elspeth is dead. That she drowned when the car Maggie had been driving plunged into the river. Maggie remembers nothing. When Maggie begs to see her husband, Sean, the police tell her that he has disappeared. He was last seen on the day of their daughters funeral. What really happened that day at the river? Where is Maggies husband? And why cant she shake the suspicion that somewhere, somehow, her daughter is still alive?

My Sister's Bones

My Sister's Bones

Author: Nuala Ellwood Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/09/2017

'RIVALS THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN AS A COMPULSIVE READ' The Guardian If you can't trust your sister, then who can you trust? Kate Rafter has spent her life running from her past. But when her mother dies, she's forced to return to Herne Bay - a place her sister Sally never left. But something isn't right in the old family home. On her first night Kate is woken by terrifying screams. And then she sees a shadowy figure in the garden... Who is crying for help? What does it have to do with Kate's past? And why does no one - not even her sister - believe her? The 'shocking' 'haunting' and 'riveting' thriller about the secrets even those closest to us keep, this book will keep you turning the pages late into the night. For fans of Clare Mackintosh, C L Taylor and Erin Kelly. 'For lovers of The Girl on the Train ...a tense story with multiple twists and turns' Prima '***** Wow...creeps slowly up your spine, grips you round the throat and doesn't let you go! ' Amazon reviewer 'A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller' Christobel Kent, author of The Loving Husband 'Compelling ... Brimful of tension, twists and darkness, this one grabbed me on the first page and didn't let go' Woman and Home 'Twists and turns until the last page' Tammy Cohen 'A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time.' C. L. Taylor 'Nuala Ellwood has created a tale that is gripping, engrossing and surprising at every turn. I loved it' Rowan Coleman 'Couldn't put the lights out until I'd finished it! Gripping, emotional and very well-written' Emma Curtis, author of One Little Mistake 'An accomplished and page-turning thriller. It twists and turns in so many directions it's impossible to guess where it's going next' Nicholas Searle, author of The Good Liar 'Loved I Let You Go and Behind Closed Doors? My Sister's Bones is guaranteed to be this year's most twisty and twisted read - you'll never see what's coming!' Ava Marsh, author of Untouchable 'Ellwood's protagonist Kate is a female hero in the best sense, flawed but brave' Helen Callaghan, author of Dear Amy 'My Sister's Bones is a tense, atmospheric, deliciously dark story' Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake 'A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting!' Lucy Atkins, author of The Other Child 'This book is amazing - harrowing and compelling' Luana Lewis

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more