LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Caroline Lea - Author

About the Author

Caroline Lea was born and raised in Jersey. She gained a First in English Literature and Creative Writing from Warwick University and has had poetry published in The Phoenix Anthology and An Aston Anthology, which she also co-edited. When the Sky Fell Apart is her first novel.

Featured books by Caroline Lea

Other books by Caroline Lea

The Glass Woman

The Glass Woman

Author: Caroline Lea Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/11/2019

1686, Iceland. A cold, windswept land where they talk of witches and fear strangers . . . 'Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful' Sara Collins, author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton 'A perfect, gripping winter read. I loved it' Sophie Mackintosh, author of The Water Cure ____________ When Rosa is betrothed to Jon Eiriksson, she is sent to a remote village. There she finds a man who refuses to speak of his recently deceased first wife, and villagers who view her with suspicion. Isolated and disturbed by her husband's strange behaviour, her fears deepen. What is making the strange sounds in the attic? Who does the mysterious glass figure she is given represent? And why do the villagers talk of the coming winter darkness in hushed tones? The Glass Woman is a mysterious and captivating tale of love, fear and superstition, perfect for readers of The Miniaturist, The Silent Companions, and The Bear & The Nightingale. ____________ 'ENTHRALLING' Stacey Halls, author of The Familiars & The Foundling 'CRACKLES WITH TENSION. MOVING AND ATMOSPHERIC, I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions & Bone China 'MEMORABLE AND COMPELLING. A NOVEL ABOUT WHAT HAUNTS US - AND WHAT SHOULD' Sarah Moss, author ofGhost Wall 'EVOCATIVE, COMPELLING, WITH A BRILLIANT TWIST' Daily Express 'AN ICELANDIC JANE EYRE . . . COMPELLING, ATMOSPHERIC' Sunday Times 'INTENSELY WRITTEN AND ATMOSPHERIC, WITH AN UNUSUAL SETTING' Daily Mail 'A CHILLING TALE' Good Housekeeping 'LIKE A GHOST STORY TOLD AROUND A WINTER FIRE Tim Leach, author of Smile of the Wolf SHORTLISTED FOR THE HISTORICAL WRITERS ASSOCIATION DEBUT AWARD

The Glass Woman

The Glass Woman

Author: Caroline Lea Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/02/2019

'Crackles with tension. Moving and atmospheric, I couldn't put it down' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions and The Corset A rich and captivating tale of superstition and salvation, love and fear, for fans of The Binding, The Miniaturist and The Silent Companions. 1686, Iceland. An isolated, windswept land haunted by witch trials and steeped in the ancient sagas . . . ____________ Betrothed unexpectedly to Jon Eiriksson, Rosa is sent to join her new husband in the remote village of Stykkisholmur. Here, the villagers are wary of outsiders. But Rosa harbours her own suspicions. Her husband buried his first wife alone in the dead of night. He will not speak of it. The villagers mistrust them both. Dark threats are whispered. There is an evil here - Rosa can feel it. Is it her husband, the villagers - or the land itself? Alone and far from home, Rosa sees the darkness coming. She fears she will be its next victim . . . ____________ SHORTLISTED FOR THE HISTORICAL WRITERS ASSOCIATION DEBUT CROWN AWARD 'A fantastic, atmospheric debut' The Times 'An enthralling tale of the Icelandic witch trials' Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Familiars 'Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful' Sara Collins, author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton 'Evocative, compelling, with a brilliant twist' Daily Express 'Memorable and compelling. A novel about what haunts us - and what should' Sarah Moss, author of Ghost Wall 'Intensely written and atmospheric, with an unusual setting, this is a stark evocation of a community where fear of the outsider is rife and unsettling' Daily Mail

When The Sky Fell Apart

When The Sky Fell Apart

Author: Caroline Lea Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/02/2016