Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Tom Michell - Author

About the Author

Tom Michell was born and grew up on the rural downs of southern England, where he grew to love animals, birds and plants. After living in Argentina he returned home and settled in Cornwall where he helps with the family business, tends a small plot of what he calls 'good Cornish soil' and sings with a local choir. He is an amateur artist and in his spare time he draws and paints subjects from the wildlife around his home, specializing in birds of prey. Tom is an enthusiastic proponent of understanding how humans can live in genuinely sustainable ways. He is married with four grown-up children and three grandchildren.

Click here to read a Q&A with this author.

 

Featured books by Tom Michell

Other books by Tom Michell

Der Pinguin meines Lebens

Der Pinguin meines Lebens

Author: Tom Michell Format: eBook Release Date: 23/06/2016

Eine wahre und herzergreifende Freundschaftsgeschichte zwischen Mensch und Pinguin, wie es sie noch nie gab. Der junge Lehrer Tom Michell geht mit 21 nach Sudamerika, bereist Urugay und heuert dann in Argentinien als Lehrer in einem Internat an. Was er sucht, ist das ganz groe Abenteuer. Womit er nicht rechnet, ist ein Pinguin, der sein Leben verandern soll.Als Tom Michell einen Pinguin mit olverschmiertem Gefieder am Strand von Uruguay findet und beschliet, ihn mitzunehmen um das Ol zu entfernen, ahnt er noch nicht, dass der watschelnde Zeitgenosse nicht nur sein Leben vollkommen auf den Kopf stellen wird. Michell beschliet, den Pinguin mit nach Argentinien zu nehmen und tauft ihn Juan Salvador: "e;Ich betete, dass der Pinguin uberleben wurde. Ich hatte ihm in diesem Augenblick einen Namen gegeben, und mit diesem Namen begann eine enge Verbundenheit, die ein Leben lang halten sollte."e; Der Pinguin zieht auf Tom Michells Terasse ein. Fur den jungen Lehrer wird er ein treuer Freund, fur seine Schuler zum Pinguin des Vertrauens. Pinguine sind namlich nicht nur wahnsinnig niedlich, sondern auch hervorragende Zuhorer ... Ein herzergreifendes, traurig-schones Memoir und ein Geschenk fur alle, die im Zoo auch immer zuerst zu den Pinguinen gehen, und fur alle Fans von Lassie, Flipper und Bob.

Penguin Lessons

Penguin Lessons

Author: Tom Michell Format: eBook Release Date: 27/10/2015

A unique and moving real-life story of the extraordinary bond between a young teacher and a penguin, this book will delight readers who loved Marley & Me, Dewey the Library Cat, The Good Good Pig, and any book by Jon Katz.In 1975, twenty-three-year-old Englishman Tom Michell follows his wanderlust to Argentina, where he becomes assistant master at a prestigious boarding school. But Michell's adventures really begin when, on a weekend in Uruguay, he rescues a penguin covered in oil from an ocean spill, cleans the bird up, and attempts to return him to the sea. The penguin refuses to leave his rescuer's side. ';That was the moment at which he became my penguin, and whatever the future held, we'd face it together,' says Michell in this charming memoir. Michell names the penguin Juan Salvador (';John Saved'), but Juan Salvador, as it turns out, is the one who saves Michell.After Michell smuggles the bird back to Argentina and into his campus apartment, word spreads about the young Englishman's unusual roommate. Juan Salvador is suddenly the center of attentionas mascot of the rugby team, confidant to the dorm housekeeper, co-host of Michell's parties, and an unprecedented swimming coach to a shy boy. Even through the collapse of the Peronist government and amid the country's economic and political strife, Juan Salvador brings joy to everyone around himespecially Michell, who considers the affectionate animal a compadre and kindred spirit. Witty and heartwarming, The Penguin Lessons is a classic in the making, a story that is both absurd and wonderful, exactly like Juan Salvador.Praise for The Penguin Lessons ';I loved this book, and you will, too! It's as charming, heartwarming, and surprising as a penguin on a roof terrace. What's more, The Penguin Lessons teaches an important truth: that a single act of compassion can be repaid a thousand-fold.'Sy Montgomery, author of The Good Good Pig and the National Book Award finalist The Soul of an Octopus ';[Tom Michell's] tone suits the material perfectly. . . . You believe every word. . . . No fool, this penguin. No fools, these publishers, who have unleashed such a delightful and charming book just in time for Christmas.'Daily Mail (U.K.) ';Heart-warming is a wholly inadequate phrase to describe this captivating story that is pure delight from beginning to end.'The Bookseller (U.K.)

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more