Ed Catmull - Author

About the Author

Ed Catmull is co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios and president of both Pixar and Walt Disney Animation Studios. He has been honored with five Academy Awards, including the Gordon E. Sawyer Award for lifetime achievement in the field of computer graphics. He earned a B.S. degrees in computer science and physics and a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Utah. He lives in San Francisco. www.CreativityIncBook.com @DisneyPixar

Featured books by Ed Catmull

Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Author: Ed Catmull Format: Paperback Release Date: 23/04/2015

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the world's first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream first as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged an early partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later and against all odds, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. Since then, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner twenty-seven Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Now, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques, honed over years, that have made Pixar so widely admired - and so profitable. Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation Studios - into the story meetings, the postmortems, and the 'Braintrust' sessions where art is born. It is, at heart, a book about how to build and sustain a creative culture-but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, 'an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.'

Other books by Ed Catmull

Creativity, Inc.

Creativity, Inc.

Author: Ed Catmull, Amy Wallace Format: eBook Release Date: 08/04/2014

From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studiosthe Academy Awardwinning studio behindCoco, Inside Out,andToy Storycomes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington Post *; Financial Times *; Success *; Inc. *; Library JournalCreativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animationinto the meetings, postmortems, and ';Braintrust' sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativitybut it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, ';an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.' For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up,WALL-E, and Inside Out,which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admiredand so profitable. As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his co-founding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie's successand in the thirteen movies that followedwas the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as: *; Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better. *; If you don't strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead. *; It's not the manager's job to prevent risks. It's the manager's job to make it safe for others to take them. *; The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them. *; A company's communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more