Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Alastair Gunn - Author

About the Author

It’s difficult to say for certain, but Alastair Gunn may be a typical writer; one who ricochets somewhat unwittingly through many corridors, before eventually settling on the one thing that remained constant throughout: a good story.

After studying for his BA (honours) degree in Industrial Design at University, Alastair served brief stints in retail management and direct sales, (and as a truly terrible entrepreneur). But these tangents were discarded for his first venture into professional writing as a motoring journalist with Emap publishing, during which his work appeared in several national publications including Car and Auto Express.

Soon frustrated by the astringent word counts of magazine journalism, however, he decided to indulge an urge that, it now seems, had been inevitable all along. His first novel, The Advent Killer, was the result.

Alastair lives in Hertfordshire with his fiancée, Anna. His website is: www.alastairgunn.com

Books by Alastair Gunn

Cold Christmas

Cold Christmas

Author: Alastair Gunn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/11/2017

'Tis the season for dead bodies... In the small village of Cold Christmas there's a church that faces the wrong way . . . What has it to do with the three dead men found in a London flat? As Christmas approaches DCI Antonia Hawkins has a killer to catch. Only she can't predict what is waiting for her at the end of the chase. Nobody remembers the young men entering the abandoned London flat a few weeks ago. Nobody cares if they left. Until the unbearable smell of decay. DCI Antonia Hawkins is called in to view the dead men; three, lying neat in a row. There's no damage to the bodies, no obvious cause of death. Is this a suicide pact? Or is that just how it's meant to look? If there is a link between the three very different men then Hawkins needs to find it, and fast. Because unless she does, more are going to die. And they might not all be strangers. 'Stunning plot twist which I never saw coming . . . brilliantly done' Crime Fiction Lover on My Bloody Valentine 'A truly terrifying debut novel' My Weekly on The Advent Killer 'This is a strong, spell-binding crime novel that shows much promise of dark treasures to come from this author' Crimesquad on The Advent Killer

The Keeper

The Keeper

Author: Alastair Gunn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2016

Faced with seemingly unconnected murders multiplying at an alarming rate, can DCI Antonia Hawkins expose the killer before she becomes the next victim? The Keeper is the third instalment in the gripping DCI Antonia Hawkins series, from bestseller Alastair Gunn. Let the games begin. A man is found buried in a secluded wood on the outskirts of London. Naked, beaten and bruised; forensics show that he hasn't eaten in the 24 hours before his murder. To DCI Antonia Hawkins it looks like a vicious, targeted attack. The hunt is on. But as more bodies are unearthed in the same state, Hawkins struggles to find a pattern in the seemingly random killings as the body count continues to climb. But who is the hunter? A unique kind of serial killer. One that is playing a twisted game. And so far the killer is the one winning . . .

My Bloody Valentine DI Antonia Hawkins 2

My Bloody Valentine DI Antonia Hawkins 2

Author: Alastair Gunn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/01/2015

From the bestselling author of The Advent Killer SHE LOVES ME, SHE LOVES ME NOT ... The second thrilling novel in the DCI Antonia Hawkins series by Alastair Gunn When the body of a young woman is found brutally slain on Valentine's Day the press reacts with barely disguised glee. For DCI Antonia Hawkins, still recovering from the terrible wounds inflicted by another killer, the pressure of another high profile murder investigation could barely be worse timed. But, battling her own physical limitations and under pressure from a new member of the team whose ambition to displace her is barely disguised, Hawkins must discover not just who killed the first victim, but why. Or watch helplessly as others die at the hands of a monster whose been labelled the Valentine Killer... Praise for My Bloody Valentine: 'Stunning plot twist which I never saw coming . . . brilliantly done' Crime Fiction Lover Praise for Alastair Gunn: A truly terrifying debut novel - My Weekly This is a strong, spell-binding crime novel that shows much promise of dark treasures to come from this author - Crimesquad

Key issues for a Clan Gunn history

Key issues for a Clan Gunn history

Author: Alastair Gunn Format: Paperback Release Date: 18/02/2014

This booklet is thoroughly grounded in academic research and radically challenges traditional Clan Gunn history. It is obviously not a full history; I am working on that. The traditional Gunn history includes descent from important people on the Orkney Islands (and so from the ancient Norwegian royal families), assorted Chiefs, a Gunn coroner / Crowner being important in Caithness in the early to mid 1400s, assorted Gunn / Keith battles and a couple of Gunn castles. The Gunns have a far simpler past than that which is currently claimed - for example, the Gunns do not have a 'Chief' link to the Orkney Islands and there were no Clan Gunn Chiefs. As said, this booklet provides a radical challenge to the traditional history of the Clan Gunn; check the sample pages.

The Advent Killer DI Antonia Hawkins 1

The Advent Killer DI Antonia Hawkins 1

Author: Alastair Gunn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/11/2013

The Advent Killer is the electrifying debut thriller from British author, Alastair Gunn. Christmas is coming. One body at a time. Three weeks before Christmas: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is drowned in her bathtub. One week later: Sunday, one a.m. A woman is beaten savagely to death, every bone in her body broken. Another week brings another victim. As panic spreads across London, DCI Antonia Hawkins, leading her first murder investigation, must stop a cold, careful killer whose twisted motives can only be guessed at, before the next body is found. On Sunday. When the clock strikes one . . . A terrifying British debut thriller, The Advent Killer introduces DCI Antonia Hawkins, with the second in the series coming from Penguin in 2014. Fans of Chris Carter and Richard Montanari should be paying attention. Praise for The Advent Killer: 'A truly terrifying debut novel' My Weekly

Scotland and Beyond; the Families of Donald Gunn (Tormsdale) and John Gunn (Dalnaha, Strathmore and Braehour)

Scotland and Beyond; the Families of Donald Gunn (Tormsdale) and John Gunn (Dalnaha, Strathmore and Braehour)

Author: Alastair Gunn, Donald Gunn Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/04/2012

This book examines two linked Caithness Gunn families over many generations in places such as Scotland, Canada, Jamaica and Australia. It has many family trees, photographs and original documents including details of trips to Canada in the 1840s and Australia in the 1850s. Many letters from the mid 1800s are included. The book has many biographies including the Hon. Donald Gunn of Canada, William Gunn of Waranga Park, Sir John Gunn of Tormsdale and the Hon. John Alexander Gunn of New South Wales ('anthrax' Gunn). This book contains much original information showing how Gunns integrated into new lands. This work has taken many years and builds on documents held within the family and much detailed genealogical research. Two versions are available; a paperback black and white version and a deluxe hardback version with some colour photographs. The information and images are the same in both texts.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://alastairgunn.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×