Kathryn Schulz - Author

About the Author

Kathryn Schulz has written for a number of US publications from Rolling Stone to the New York Times, on subjects as varied as right-wing film festivals to the impact of antidepressant use on Japanese culture. In 2004 she was awarded a Pew Fellowship in International Journalism.

Featured books by Kathryn Schulz

Lost & Found

Lost & Found

Author: Kathryn Schulz Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/04/2022

Lost & Found is a memoir by Kathryn Schulz and a rich exploration of what it is to live in a complex world where we both delight in the joy of ‘finding’ while simultaneously dealing with the despair of loss. On the Loss side of the equation Schulz delves into everything from the frustration of losing everyday objects to the devastation of grief, and on the Found side she reflects on love and marriage and moments where ‘things’ are either recovered having vanished or are discovered anew. In the space of eighteen months two life-changing things happen in her world. First she meets the woman she will later marry, and then she loses her father - a man so remarkable and rich in character I would happily read a book just about him. In the way that life completes such circles, Schulz has fallen in love with her partner having recognised within her something of her father, and then her partner is there to support her through her grief. The stories flow easily between the broad and the narrow - the unimaginable loss her grandparents felt through exile during the war, to finding a pair of sunglasses lost to the ocean, to laying hands on a freshly landed meteorite, and to the author’s home town baseball team losing the world series. In addition to being a thought-provoking memoir this is also a guide book on how to move on when anything is lost and how to fully appreciate gifts when they come to you. The writing is beautiful and the philosophy insightful. In itself the book is a journey of discovering new ideas even as page after page it turns towards its inevitable end. I have been given books to read about grief before but they are never like this. Lost & Found goes deeper but also offers a much wider perspective and reveals a world held together by these moments that seem to tear it apart.

Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

Author: Kathryn Schulz Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/09/2010

  Shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award 2010.   More than often we like to think we are right, this book shows how very often we can be wrong. It’s in our nature to want to be right but this book looks at how being wrong is also a useful and necessary part of being who we are and how it effects us.  Interesting and enjoyable.

Debut Books of the Month

Other books by Kathryn Schulz

Being Wrong

Being Wrong

Author: Kathryn Schulz Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/06/2011

Being wrong is an inescapable part of being alive. And yet we go through life tacitly assuming (or loudly insisting) that we are right about nearly everything - from our political beliefs to our private memories, from our grasp of scientific fact to the merits of our favourite team. Being Wrong looks at why this conviction has such a powerful grip on us, what happens when this conviction is shaken, and how we interpret the moral, political and psychological significance of being wrong. Drawing on philosophies old and new and cutting-edge neuroscience, Schulz offers an exploration of the allure of certainty and the necessity of fallibility in four main areas: in religion (when the end of the world fails to be nigh); in politics (where were those WMD?); in memory (where are my keys?); and in love (when Mr or Ms Right becomes Mr or Ms Wrong).

Being Wrong

Being Wrong

Author: Kathryn Schulz Format: Ebook Release Date: 08/06/2010

Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New PlanetIn the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more