Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Betty Burton - Author

About the Author

Betty Burton is the author of JUDE, JAEN, WOMEN OF NO ACCOUNT, HARD LOVES, EASY RICHES and GOODBYE PICCADILLY as well as the acclaimed collection of short stories WOMEN ARE BLOODY MARVELLOUS! She has written for both television and radio, and won the Chichester Festival Theatre Award.

Her books are constantly praised for their strong women characters; women with hopes, passions, and an indomitable love of life. She also has a reputation as a very ‘English’ writer, with a powerful sense of English rural and town life underlying all her novels.

Featured books by Betty Burton

Other books by Betty Burton

Goodbye Piccadilly

Goodbye Piccadilly

Author: Betty Burton Format: eBook Release Date: 13/11/2017

A stunning coming-of-age story from the author of the Lu Wilmott sagasOtis Hewetson is 17 years old, pretty but unconventional and rebellious. She spends the summer of 1911 on a glorious holiday with her parents, and on a quest for independence.But little does she realise how her new friendships with Jack and Esther will change her life forever. Their paths are destined to cross as they grow from adolescence through to marriage, the fight for women's rights and the bitter bloodspilling of the War...For readers of Diney Costeloe, Rosie Goodwin and Rita Bradshaw, Goodbye Piccadilly is an unforgettable novel of hopes and passions.'It is encouraging when someone like Betty Burton manages against the odds to become a roaring success' Guardian

Consequences of War

Consequences of War

Author: Betty Burton Format: eBook Release Date: 13/11/2017

The changing lives of three women as their men are sent away to fightEveryone remembered the summer of '39 as golden and strange. Golden because it was the driest on record; strange because people were burrowing holes and roofing them with iron. Waiting for the bombs...In the Hampshire town of Markham, Georgia Kennedy wakes on her husband's last day in Civvy Street and feels elated. Conventionally married to the pompous Hugh, she discovers liberation during the war. Like other women, she embraces the camaraderie previously held back by gender and class. For Georgia, for rich, spoiled Eve, for salt-of-the-earth Dolly, life will never be the same again.Warm, witty and poignant, The Consequences of War confirms Betty Burton's reputation as a master storyteller, and is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Diney Costeloe or Rosie Harris.

Face of Eve

Face of Eve

Author: Betty Burton Format: eBook Release Date: 16/10/2017

One woman's passionate courage in the Second World WarWhen Eve left her hometown of Portsmouth, she'd never intended to return. But now she has a confidence and maturity far beyond her years.This makes her a very attractive prospect to David Hatton, charged with selecting highly unusual, independent and intelligent candidates for the Special Operations Executive. For in the war that lies ahead, brute force won't be enough.Eve becomes part of the Second World War in a way that few others could manage. And when the time for role-playing and secrecy is over, who can say which is the real face of Eve?The extraordinary conclusion to Betty Burton's captivating Lu Wilmott novels, perfect for readers of Josephine Cox, Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale.

Girl Now Leaving

Girl Now Leaving

Author: Betty Burton Format: eBook Release Date: 16/10/2017

A heart-wrenching and powerful saga of one girl's journey to adulthood Lu Wilmott grows up in the Portsmouth slums of the 1920s. Stricken by diphtheria, she is sent to the Hampshire countryside where she discovers a robust fighting spirit and the first stirrings of attraction...But then she must follow her mother into the city's grim corset-making trade. Lu realizes that things must change. And she can make it happen. Her journey from shy child to energetic woman encompasses love, deep friendship, and a growing political awareness. Above all, Lu is a survivor - and one to be reckoned with.The Girl Now Leaving is a powerful and unputdownable saga perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Nadine Dorries and Mary Gibson.

Not Just a Soldier's War

Not Just a Soldier's War

Author: Betty Burton Format: eBook Release Date: 16/10/2017

In the powerful sequel to The Girl Now Leaving, Betty Burton takes her heroine into the Spanish Civil WarPoverty and factory work have filled Lu Wilmott with a determination to make something of herself. The call to Spain is irresistible: she can live up to her ideals and finally be the woman she's always wanted to be. Signing up as a driver, Lu leaves her past and becomes Eve. One of the few women in charge of heavy vehicles, faced with constant danger, she falls for Spain. But here 'Eve' encounters an old love. Can she find room in her stretched new life for romance? Amidst death and disease, fear and chaos, with food running low, we find a formidable woman is formed from the spirited, naive girl who left PortsmouthAn unforgettable and moving wartime saga, perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin, Rita Bradshaw and Rosie Archer.

The Story of Rags

The Story of Rags

Author: Betty Burton Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/09/2013

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more