Harry Mount - Author

About the Author

Harry Mount read Classics at Oxford and was a Latin tutor before becoming a journalist. He has been a leader-writer and New York correspondent at the Daily Telegraph. His memoir of his time as a libel barrister, My Brief Career, is published by Short Books.

Featured books by Harry Mount

Other books by Harry Mount

Summer Madness How Brexit Split the Tories, Destroyed Labour and Divided the Country

Summer Madness How Brexit Split the Tories, Destroyed Labour and Divided the Country

Author: Harry Mount Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/01/2017

In the three short weeks between the EU referendum on 23 June 2016 and Theresa May's ascent to Downing Street on 13 July, Brexit morphed into a mass murderer, destroying everything it touched. As the Bullingdon boys, David Cameron and George Osborne, were sensationally whacked, Mafia-style, the Cabinet was drained of blue blood and the tight-knit Notting Hill Set torn asunder.Michael Gove stabbed fellow Brexit cheerleader Boris Johnson squarely in the back, while Jeremy Corbyn joined the ranks of the living dead, as twentythree shadow Cabinet members deserted him. Even Nigel Farage, the only victorious party leader in the referendum, resigned the UKIP leadership, days after the vote.So how did Brexit turn into this weapon of mass political destruction? In this compelling insider account, journalist Harry Mount reveals the plots, power struggles and personal feuds that brought down a government. Analysing the nationwide split between Europhiles and Eurosceptics, and reflecting on Brexit's parallels with Donald Trump's victory, Summer Madness is the ultimate guide to the biggest political coup of the century.

The Wit and Wisdom of Boris Johnson

The Wit and Wisdom of Boris Johnson

Author: Harry Mount Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/10/2016

Planet-brained, snortingly ambitious and given to comic one-liners that the public and press take equal delight in, Boris Johnson is the most talked-about politician in Britain. This collection of his wit and wisdom, edited and introduced by eminent journalist Harry Mount, covers his background, education, journalism, personal life and politics, as well as the Olympics and his time as Mayor of London and Foreign Secretary. It begins with an in-depth introduction, now updated by the author, exploring his character and career, not ignoring his racy peccadilloes.

Harry Mount's Odyssey Ancient Greece in the Footsteps of Odysseus

Harry Mount's Odyssey Ancient Greece in the Footsteps of Odysseus

Author: Harry Mount Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/06/2016

Architecture, art, sculpture, economics, mathematics, science, metaphysics, comedy, tragedy, drama and epic poetry were all devised and perfected by the Greeks. Of the four classical orders of architecture, three were invented by the Greeks and the fourth, the only one the Romans could come up with, was a combination of two of the former.The powerful ghost of ancient Greece still lingers on in the popular mind as the first great civilization and one of the most influential in the creation of modern thought. It is the starting block of Western European civilization. In his new Odyssey, eminent writer Harry Mount tells the story of ancient Greece while on the trail of its greatest son, Odysseus. In the charming, anecdotal style of his bestselling Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, Harry visits Troy, still looming over the plain where Achilles dragged Hector's body through the dust, and attempts to swim the Hellespont, in emulation of Lord Byron and the doomed Greek lover, Leander. Whether in Odysseus's kingdom on Ithaca, Homer's birthplace of Chios or the Minotaur's lair on Crete, Mount brings the Odyssey - and ancient Greece - back to life.

How England Made the English From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours

How England Made the English From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours

Author: Harry Mount Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/04/2013

Harry Mount's How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories. Q. Why are English train seats so narrow? A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots. For readers of Paxman's The English, Bryson's Notes on a Small Island and Fox's Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather. You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow. Praise for Harry Mount: 'Highly readable, encyclopeadic, marvellous, illuminating. Mount portrays England via dextrous excavations of its geography, geology, history and weather' Independent 'Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion' Daily Mail 'Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed' Guardian Harry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London

A Lust For Window Sills A Lover's Guide to British Buildings from Portcullis to Pebble Dash

A Lust For Window Sills A Lover's Guide to British Buildings from Portcullis to Pebble Dash

Author: Harry Mount Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/03/2011

A brilliant, offbeat celebration of the great hodgepodge of British buildings' Thomas Marks, Sunday Telegraph From soaring Victorian railway stations to Edwardian terraces, from Perpendicular churches to Strawberry Hill, Britain has an architecture unrivalled in fertility, invention and heart-stopping beauty. And with some very strong feelings about window sills, Harry Mount could not be better qualified to survey it. Meandering through garden suburbs and cathedral closes, discovering Moghul palaces in Gloucestershire and Egyptian sphinxes in Islington, A Lust for Window Sills is rich with anecdote, allusion and such inspired digressions as where to find the ugliest gargoyles and a liquid history of watering holes from gin palaces to the Rovers Return.

Lust for Window Sills

Lust for Window Sills

Author: Harry Mount Format: eBook Release Date: 03/07/2008

The new collection from the number 1 bestselling writer named by TIME as America's Favourite Humorist.

Carpe Diem

Carpe Diem

Author: Harry Mount Format: eBook Release Date: 06/11/2007

Liber prosperissimus et mirabilis ex Britannia ad Americam tandem advenit! Umquam vexatus es quando homo inritans "e;sine qua non"e; aut "e;mea culpa"e; dicit Aut postmeridiana tempora vetera, quando verba obscura ediscere conatus es, terrunt. Nil desperandum! Linguae Latinae hoc in itinere iucundo, qui omnia ex lectione grammatica ab Monte Pythone ad Angelinae Jolia in pelle notas et omnia optima in historiae litteratae annis duo milliis ex poese et litteris excerpta habet, Henricus Mons pulvem ex libellis odiosis deterget et in linguam maximam in aeternum vitam respirat. The phenomenal bestseller from the U.K. finally arrives in the States! Have you even found yourself irritated when a "e;sine qua non"e; or a "e;mea culpa"e; is thrown into the conversation by a particularly annoying person? Or do distant memories of afternoons spent struggling to learn obscure verbs fill you with dread?Never fear!In this delightful guided tour of Latin, which features everything from a Monty Python grammar lesson to Angelina Jolie's tattoo and all the best snippets of prose and poetry from two thousand years of literary history, Harry Mount wipes the dust off those boring primers and breathes life back into the greatest language of them all.

My Brief Career

My Brief Career

Author: Harry Mount Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/03/2005

My Brief Career has all the horror of a Dickensian tragedy and all the charm of Bridget Jones' Diaries. An expose of what goes on behind the ancient walls of London's inns of court, this fascinating story dares to reveal the grim secrets of one of England's most archaic institutions...This is a book for everyone who has ever thought they might want to become a lawyer.

My Brief Career

My Brief Career

Author: Harry Mount Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/04/2004

An expose of what goes on behind the ancient walls of London's inns of court, Harry Mount's account of his hellish year as a pupil - a trainee barrister in The Temple - dares to reveal the grim secrets of one of England's most archaic institutions. This is a book for everyone who has ever thought they might want to become a lawyer.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.harrymount.co.uk/

Author's Facebook

Find Harry Mount on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more