Katie Zhao - Author

Featured books by Katie Zhao

How We Fall Apart

How We Fall Apart

Author: Katie Zhao Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/11/2021

Set in a super-elite high school, How We Fall Apart, Katie Zhao's super-suspenseful YA debut, serves insights into race, class and the pressure to perform in gripping style. Shimmering with secrets, love, toxic peer pressure, parental pressure and tested loyalties, the novel delves deep into the world of academic competitiveness to create an edgy fast-paced thriller. Voiced by scholarship student Nancy Luo, “the daughter of two immigrants who’d fought tooth and nail to make it to the States, only to spend years struggling to make ends meet”, the story begins with the disappearance of one of Sinclair Prep’s most tipped-for-the-top pupils, Jamie Ruan. One-time best friend of Nancy, Jamie is the kind of girl who “could get away with anything, do away with anyone”, until someone does away with her. It’s not long before Nancy and her three friends seem to be the prime suspects in her murder, with an anonymous poster on the school’s gossip app incriminating them and threatening to reveal their darkest secrets. Tingling with suspense, and an undercurrent of class division, fans of edgy YA thrillers will be turning the pages at breakneck speed as the mystery twists and turns in unexpected directions.

Other books by Katie Zhao

Last Gamer Standing

Last Gamer Standing

Author: Katie Zhao Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/07/2022

Ready Player One meets the action of battle royale video games in this middle-grade sci-fi perfect for fans of Fortnite. To twelve-year-old Reyna Cheng, gaming is everything, so she's thrilled to have the opportunity to attend a gaming summer camp courtesy of Dayhold - the world's biggest VR battle royale game. Reyna is an up-and-coming junior amateur gamer but despite her rising popularity and skills online, no one knows that behind her male avatar is a twelve-year-old Chinese American girl. Gaming is still a boys' club and to protect her true identity against trolls and their harassment, she plays as the mysterious TheRuiNar. When Reyna qualifies for the Dayhold Junior Tournament, she knows she's got what it takes to win the championship title and the $10,000 prize. It's a chance to make a step forward towards her professional esports dreams and to help her family with the costs of her mother's hospital bills. But when she's blackmailed and her identity is threatened to be revealed by an anonymous troll, Reyna has to confront the toxic gaming community head-on. With her dreams and the cash prize on the line, it's game on! Gaming has never been more popular with the tournament in the book reflecting real tournaments such as the Fortnite World Cup Fantastic representation of a Chinese-American character from an own voices author Exhilirating, heartracing experience - Reyna's perspective lets you feel like you're playing the game yourself!

Winnie Zeng Unleashes a Legend

Winnie Zeng Unleashes a Legend

Author: Katie Zhao Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/04/2022

Winnie Zeng Unleashes a Legend by Katie Zhao

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more