LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Books in the series: DI Nick Lowry

Yellowhammer

Yellowhammer

Author: James Henry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/07/2018

The new Essex-based thriller from the author of Blackwater and the Detective Jack Frost prequels July 1983, Essex. A boy playing hide-and-seek sees a fox tugging at something up on a railway embankment. He approaches it cautiously. Seconds later, a blast is heard, and rooks ascend from the poplars surrounding the farmhouse at which the boy is spending his summer holiday with cousins. DI Nick Lowry is called upon to investigate two deaths at Fox Farm, the home of eminent historian Christopher Cliff. The body in the farmhouse kitchen is Cliff himself, having seemingly taking his own with an antique shotgun. The fox-disturbed body on the property boundary is as yet unidentified. Lowry is already under pressure: County Chief Merrydown was at college with Cliff and knows the family. He must enlist colleagues Daniel Kenton and Jane Gabriel to answer two key questions: just who was at the house with Cliff that morning, and just what has since happened to Cliff's wife?

Blackwater

Blackwater

Author: James Henry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/05/2017

'A fast-moving thriller. I was totally absorbed by it' ELLY GRIFFITHS 'Vivid and compelling, with great evocation of the 1980s period' PETER JAMES 'A masterclass in place and landscape' CHRISTIE WATSON PERFECT FOR FANS OF PETER JAMES AND STUART MACBRIDE. January 1983, Blackwater Estuary A new year brings a new danger to the Essex shoreline. An illicit shipment, bound for Colchester - 100 kilograms of powder that will frantically accelerate tensions in the historic town, and leave its own murderous trace. Detective Inspector Nick Lowry, and his fellow officers Daniel Kenton and Jane Gabriel must now develop a tolerance to one another, and show their own substance, to save Britain's oldest settlement from a new, unsettling enemy.