Rugby took prominence this year with Kevin Sinfield dedicating his double victory to his inspirational best friend Rob Burrow, following his passing earlier this week. The Extra Mile picked up the Sports Bestseller Award and Overall Sports Book of the Year, with former England Rugby Union captain Lawrence Dallaglio winning The Charles Tyrwhitt Rugby Book of The Year with The Boys of Winter.

2023 Winner Beth Mead built on previous success with a win for the Children’s Sports Book of the Year with Roar.

The Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards in association with The Sunday Times 2024 winners are:

Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards Autobiography of the Year, in association with The Sunday Times

Kammy by Chris Kamara 

An unforgettable ride, Kammy is replete with entertaining stories and anecdotes about his experiences, from his management at Bradford City to his glittering presenting career.

Pinsent Masons Sports Writing Award

Concussed by Sam Peters 

This timely and important examination of rugby’s concussion issue details how a British newspaper campaign made this subject front-page news. Raising crucial and pressing questions, Peter examines evidence linking sports-related concussions to premature deaths and dementia increases.

Kicking Goat Sports Entertainment Book of the Year

The Tourist by Phil Tufnell with John Woodhouse 

Written with John Woodhouse, The Tourist tells tales from Tufnell's glorious tours around the globe, filled with hilarious cricketing anecdotes in his trademark charm and wit. 

The Vikki Orvice Women's Sports Writing Award, in association with DAZN

Other Ways to Win by Lee Craigie 

This award was created in honour of the late Vikki Orvice – a trailblazing sports journalist who championed female sports writing. As one of Scotland’s great cyclists, adventurers and storytellers, Other Ways to Win tells the epic story of how Craigie discovered the freedom of cycling. With breathtaking honesty, she reflects on her cycling adventures, her ongoing work with the Adventure Syndicate, and the immense power of the outdoors.

Children’s Sports Book of the Year, supported by National Literacy Trust & Waterstones

Roar by Beth Mead with Matt Oldfield 

Beth Mead, previous BBC Sports Personality of the Year and star of the winning team of the UEFA Women's Euros, received yet another Sports Book Award for her empowering children’s book, an inspiring guide filled with advice and insights, that aims to encourage all children to excel, both on and off the pitch.

Francis Clark Financial Planning International Sports Book of the Year

Phil by Alan Shipnuck 

In this compelling and raw biography of one of the world’s best golfers, Phil Mitchelson, Shipnuck captures a life defined by victories, crushing defeats, and countless controversies.

Titan Wealth Football Book of the Year, in association with the Football Writers’ Association

The Match by Piero Trellini 

The tale of one of the most iconic games in World Cup history, Italy v Brazil in Spain 1982, is the subject of Trellini’s The Match, which takes readers on a journey through the iconic Mundial.

Charles Tyrwhitt Rugby Book of the Year, in association with the Rugby Union Writers’ Club

The Boys of Winter by Lawrence Dallaglio & Owen Slot 

This book shares the inside story of England’s triumphant 2003 Rugby World Cup. Featuring interviews with all those involved, Dallaglio and his co-writer, Owen Slot, build a definitive account of what will always be remembered as an iconic sporting event.

The Heartaches’ Cricket Book of the Year

The Tour by Simon Wilde 

In The Tour by Simon Wilde, the incredible team performances and individual feats are celebrated, and tales of misadventure, mishaps and scandal are shared.

LoveReading Cycling Book of the Year

1923 by Ned Boulting 

Written by the esteemed cycling commentator, the journey of this award-winning book began when Boulting found a length of Pathé news film featuring a stage of the Tour de France from 1923, and set about finding out everything he could about the event.

The JP Marland Charitable Trust Illustrated Book of the Year

London Irish: 125 Years of Passion in Exile by Patrick Lennon

This book is an exhaustive account of London Irish Rugby, beautifully presented and wonderfully illustrated throughout.

Sports Bestseller Award and Overall Sports Book of the Year

The Extra Mile by Kevin Sinfield with Paul Hayward 

An extraordinary bestselling memoir from the sporting icon, The Extra Mile is an inspirational and life-affirming read that explores both Sinfield’s experience as a one-club legend of Leeds Rhinos and defence coach, as well as his recent heroism in raising awareness and funds for motor neurone disease, on behalf of his inspirational best friend, the late Rob Burrow. In an emotional night following Rob Burrow’s passing, Kevin dedicated his double award to the great man.

All awards were presented at the 22nd Sports Book Awards at a grand awards ceremony hosted by Mark Pougatch and held at the Kia Oval, in the presence of fellow sporting greats, including Dame Kelly Holmes, Lawrence Dallaglio, Brian Lara, Matt Dawson, Chris Kamara, Chris Robshaw, Rory Kinnear, Carl Frampton, Maggie Alphonsi, Sharron Davies, Louise Minchin, Jill Douglas and many more. This was the first ceremony held in partnership with new headline sponsor, Charles Tyrwhitt – a distinguished British clothing brand with a long history of supporting sports players that uphold the values of excellence and integrity.

For more information about the Sports Book Awards 2024, visit




*All Photos by Jordan Mansfield*