First awarded in 2006, the An Post Irish Book Awards celebrate and promote Irish writing. Each year it brings together a vast community passionate about books to recognise the very best of Irish writing talent.

Liz Nugent, Eimear Ryan, Claire Keegan, Peter Donnelly, Sarah Webb and Lucinda Jacob as well as Moïra Fowley are among the winning authors at this year’s An Post Irish Book Awards which were held in the Convention Centre in Dublin on 22nd November.

Six titles are now in the running for prestigious overall ‘An Post Irish Book of the Year Award’ 2023 and the winner will be revealed during a one-hour television special presented by Oliver Callan on RTÉ One on Wednesday 6th December.


Check out the full list of winners and click on any of the links to add your favourites to your basket.

Eason Novel of the Year - The Bee Sting by Paul Murray Best Irish-Published Book of the Year - Sunday Miscellany: A Selection 2018 - 2023, edited by Sarah Binchy 

Bookselling Ireland Biography of the Year - Poor by Katriona O’Sullivan

Cookbook of the Year - Flavour by Mark Moriarty, photography by Cliodhna Prendergast

Bookstation Lifestyle Book of the Year - The Hike Life by Roz Purcell

Dubray Non-Fiction Book of the Year - A Thread of Violence by Mark O’Connell

Eason Sports Book of the Year in association with Ireland AM - The Grass Ceiling by Eimear Ryan

Library Association of Ireland Author of the Year - Claire Keegan 

Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year - Strange Sally Diamond by Liz Nugent 

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year - Kala by Colin Walsh

National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year - My Hot Friend by Sophie White

Foras na Gaeilge Irish Language Fiction Book of the Year Award - Imram agus Scéalta Eile by Róise Ní Bhaoill

The Last Word Listeners’ Choice Award - Poor by Katriona O’Sullivan

New Voices: The An Post Writing Prize - The Border / Кордон by Valeriia Shmyrova

International Education Services Teen and Young Adult Book of the Year, in honour of John Treacy - Black and Irish: Legends, Trailblazers and Everyday Heroes by Leon Diop and Briana Fitzsimons, illustrated by Jessica Louis

Brenden Corbett, Chairperson of the An Post Irish Book Awards, commented: “The An Post Irish Book Awards has established itself as a highlight of the Irish literary calendar and we are immensely proud of what we’ve achieved through a broad coalition of readers, writers, publishers, sponsors, booksellers and librarians. Many Irish books have been published during the last year, not only by established writers but also by a number of incredibly talented newcomers who are a wonderful addition to the Irish literary scene. We are delighted to congratulate all of this year’s winners of the An Post Irish Book Awards.”

The An Post Irish Book Awards also presented Professor Roy Foster with the ‘Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award’. Foster has published widely on Irish history and has taught at some of the world’s most prestigious universities including University of London, Oxford, and Princeton.

All previous winners of The Lifetime Achievement Award can be found at

For further information, please visit the An Post Irish Book Awards website