Lovereading.co.uk

Search
  • Follow us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
Register



Vouchers









Read Extract Free Provocative Prose Book or Novel Online - as well as Sports and Suspense

     
Provocative Prose

Provocative Prose - Erotic Stories

Writer and all round literary don Maxim Jakubowski, our crime expert, also has a passion for erotic fiction. So, he has taken on the mantle of selecting books for our Provocative Prose genre. We hope you enjoy his selections.

Fifty Shades of Grey
E. L. James
The book everyone’s been talking about, now a major motion picture. Young and innocent Anastasia Steele doesn’t quite know what to make of the smouldering industrialist Christian Grey when she interviews him for her student paper. Things get both troubling...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/01/2015
     

Darker Edge of Desire
Mitzi Szereto
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. US-based Anglophile Szereto is one of the better anthologists in the literary erotica field and her standards are always set high, so any new collection she edits is...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/10/2014
     

The Pleasure Quartet: Autumn
Vina Jackson
I always knew I was different from other women...An eminent psychiatrist has established there are five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. When Dominik died, I experienced none of these. I initially found myself reeling in shock,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/11/2014
     


50 Shades of Great

_________________________

 


 

A note from Maxim Jakubowski

 

 

 

From time immemorial, prose has celebrated the joy of the senses and addressed the joys and complexities of sex. Think ‘The Song of Solomon’ in the Bible or The 1001 Nights, through to Chaucer, Boccaccio and the often shocking sensual nightmares of the Marquis de Sade.

 

_________________________________

So where does the line between what is considered erotic and what might be termed pornographic stand? Some argue that if titillation is the only object of the exercise, then it falls into the realm of the latter. But then one must be careful to distinguish between titillation and provocation, and who would deny that D.H. Lawrence, for instance, with LADY CHATTERLEY’S LOVER seriously attempted to combine both elements, while still offering social commentary and a deep examination of human feelings and attitudes to sexuality.


More modern practitioners of erotica like Henry Miller, Anais Nin, Anne Rice with her ‘Sleeping Beauty’ trilogy (as Anne Roquelaure) and others have pushed the envelope further, and I would argue that we are right now in the middle of a veritable Golden Age for literary erotica. Naturally, some will always find such books shocking. but I daresay none of those I have selected for your further perusal could be found guilty of being exploitative.

So, stretch your fictional limits and dip, with caution, into this ocean of pleasure!


Get Adobe Flash player
 

 
 
Last Month's Featured Books
The Month Before's Featured Books 


A Shiver of Light Book 9
Laurell K. Hamilton
I am Princess Meredith NicEssus. Legal name Meredith Gentry, because Princess looks so pretentious on a driver's license. I was the first faerie princess born on American soil, but I...
 
 
 


The Second Time I Saw You
Pippa Croft
Lauren and Alexander's journey continues in the second novel in Pippa Croft's Oxford Blue romance series. It's the beginning of a new term at Wyckham College, Oxford, and a fresh...
 
 
 


Captivated by You A Crossfire Novel
Sylvia Day
Gideon calls me his angel, but he's the miracle in my life. My gorgeous, wounded warrior, so determined to slay my demons while refusing to face his own. The vows...
 
 
 

The Month Before's Featured Books


Breathless for You
Elizabeth Anthony
Set in the 1920s, this passionate, provocative tale is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and E.L. James' Fifty Shades of Grey. November 1921. Since arriving in London, Madeline, the...
 
 
 


Tampa
Alissa Nutting
A challenging but ultimately rewarding (and even in its own wonderfully twisted way, comic) exploration of the perverse mind of an older female teacher who is totally obsessed with young...
 
 
 


Undone
Kristina Lloyd
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. It's a shame that the success of FIFTY SHADES OF GREY hasn't given a boost (with a few...
 
 
 


See ALL Featured Books, with Opening Extracts, in this category 

Share or bookmark this page

Share this page on Facebook and Twitter.


Tell a friend about this page on Lovereading.co.uk.

We respect your privacy. The names and e-mail addresses you enter are used only for sending this message. Please read our Privacy Policy.
Your Friend's Name
Your Friend's Email
Your Name
Your E-mail
Your Message
(max. 1024 characters)
 


 
LovereadingLovereading4kids - Love Reading for KidsLIST ALL FEATURED AUTHORS