LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Chestnut Man The gripping debut novel from the writer of The Killing

by Soren Sveistrup

Crime / Mystery

The Chestnut Man The gripping debut novel from the writer of The Killing Synopsis

One blustery October morning in a quiet Copenhagen suburb, the police make a terrible discovery. A young woman is found brutally murdered with one of her hands missing. Above her hangs a small doll made of chestnuts. Ambitious young detective Naia Thulin is assigned the case. Her partner, Mark Hess, is a burned-out investigator who's just been kicked out of Europol. They soon discover a mysterious piece of evidence on the chestnut man - evidence connecting it to a girl who went missing a year earlier and is presumed dead; the daughter of politician Rosa Hartung. But the man who confessed to her murder is already behind bars and the case long since closed. Soon afterwards, a second woman is found murdered, along with another chestnut man. Thulin and Hess suspect that there's a connection between the Hartung case and the murdered women. But what is it? Thulin and Hess are racing against the clock, because it's clear that the killer is on a mission that is far from over . . . Fans of The Killing, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Jo Nesbo will love this debut thriller. 

The Chestnut Man The gripping debut novel from the writer of The Killing Press Reviews

Soren Sveistrup, is clearly a master craftsman - Telegraph

TV of the absolute finest quality . . . the writing shines - Guardian

Excellent . . . A shrewd mix of police procedural, political thriller and domestic drama - New York Times

Praise for The Killing - -

The Chestnut Man is an intensely gripping first novel that feels anything but debut-like. Seasoned crime fans with feel as though they're in very safe hands ... [Sveistrup] throws his hat into the ring with extreme professionalism and a talent for deploying his special tricks in precisely calibrated doses. - Borsen

Individual scenes in the narrative stand out knife-sharp in all their calculated evil. Their encounter with brutal reality nearly overwhelms those involved, and the reader is profoundly challenged by the novel's material. But you survive because you retain a clear sense that there must be a deep well of sorrow behind the crimes, and because the author depicts his cast of characters in such a nuanced way that you sympathise with the hard-pressed investigative team, the victims, and the person behind the terrible murders. Sveistrup keeps the reader gripped until the very end. This is professional writing in the very best sense, and I'm looking forward to more. - Dagbladenes Bureau

While other writers come across as formulaic, Sveistrup's plot develops naturally, and he finds space amid the child abuse and harassment for enough injections of humanity that The Chestnut Man never turns into violence porn, a stumbling block for several of his Danish colleagues. The key is Thulin and Hess, the most promising pair of investigators in Nordic crime since Saga and Martin first met over a corpse on a bridge in 2011 - A-magsinet

The ingredients in this stew are familiar to everyone who reads crime novels. Sveistrup's great skill becomes apparent in the solid, complex plot, as well as in the pacing and impact that drives the reader onward page after page. The Chestnut Man is a demonstration of how a novel of this type should be sewn together. The result is incredibly thrilling! - Dagbladet

Sveistrup is a skilled weaver of plot, able to surprise the reader and maintain a well-developed sense of pacing, tension and action. He keeps the reader hooked until the final page - Bok 365

Crime fiction of the highest quality - fascinating characters, great storytelling, and unbearable suspense. I absolutely loved it - Deon Meyer

Simply so well written, well constructed and suspenseful. I've read a lot of fantastic crime novels, but this is far and away the best I've read in a long time. . . . insanely suspenseful and gripping - RandiGlensbo.dk

A powerful portrait of two intriguing detectives who are here to stay . . . - Vildmedkrimi.dk

This nerve-racking debut novel has a brilliant plot . . . - Ugebladet Sondag

Not all good scriptwriters can produce a detective story designed to be read rather than watched on TV. But Soren Sveistrup, the man responsible for The Killing, proves . . . that it can be done . . . The characters, the plot with its deep, eerie undercurrent of the unknown, and the intense, compelling manipulation of suspense are qualities reminiscent of The Killing - Marie Louise Toksvig

Absolutely fantastic crime novel. The plot keeps you gripped, and you always end up wanting to read just one more page. Nerve-racking. Nail-biting. Thrilling. Hair-raising - Krummeskrummelurer.dk

Simply an unparalleled page-turner - Ord fra en bibliofil

Nerve-racking, you're sitting on the edge of your seat, and by the time you've finished the book you've got no nails left - Livetidukkehuset.dk

Sveistrup sets new standards in crime - bogfriisen.dk

I was completely blown away by this debut novel - sidsesbogreol.dk

Sveistrup keeps the reader gripped until the very end - Dagbladenes Bureau

A tension-charged debut, sharing elements of his signature TV writing with incendiary twists - Financial Times

Inside Soap's Hot List - Inside Soap

If you are one of the millions who enjoyed the Scandinavian crime series The Killing, you'll want to read the first novel by its creator. . . this will undoubtedly make for a compelling television adaptation - The Observer

Soren Sveistrup's page-turning thriller is a tale of crime and passion - Evening Standard Best Books of 2019

A debut thriller from the creator of The Killing opens with a gruesome discovery in a Copenhagen suburb - Guardian Books of 2019

BBC Top Fiction Picks of 2019 - BBC.co.uk

The action surges along in swinging the spotlight of suspicion around without ever letting the reader feel confident they have the right culprit, and the denouement is intense and very gory - Strong Words

if you are one of the millions who enjoyed The Killing, you'll want to read the first novel by its creator. Sveistrup's ability at building tension is evident, and this will undoubtedly make for a compelling television adaptation - Guardian

Sviestrup shows off his Scandi-noir know-how in this Stieg Larsson-worthy mystery featuring blood-curdling murders and a couple of ill-assorted investigators - Foyles

A nail-biting, atmospheric thriller - The Herald

Superbly written and carries you along at breakneck speed. If you liked The Killing, you are going to love this - My Weekly

A taut, high-octane thriller. Sveistrup snares his reader with his house-of-horrors opening and keeps us gripped. . . suffice to say that he leads and wrongfoots us through numerous twists, turns, cliff-hangers and red herrings to an outcome which is as bold as it is explosive. He makes every page count - it's a joy to be so immersed on the edge of a seat - The Herald

As in The Killing television series, Sveistrup offers lessons to seasoned practitioners of the serial-killer whodunit in how to inject new energy into this near-exhausted subgenre, and a reminder (via his portrayal of the families, homes and workplaces that his cops visit) that crimewriting has the potential to be eye-opening, panoramic social realism - Sunday Times

A full-throttle thriller in the tradition of classic Stieg Larsson, drenched in atmosphere and charged with adrenaline. Buckle up. You'll gulp down every word. I loved this book - A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

If you're pining for a dose of Jo Nesbo-style Scandi noir, The Chestnut Man should hit the spot. The twisty, tricksy storyline, delivered in short, sharp chapters that don't let anyone catch their breath, gathers an unstoppable momentum so that 500 pages disappear in a trice. A satisfying chiller. - The Times

***** The Chestnut Man has success written all over it. You will never want to play with conkers again - Daily Express

Creepy, clever and packed with tension - The Sun

Sveistrup's brilliant and brutal The Chestnut Man sets a new benchmark. The Steig Larsson comparisons seem unfair - on Sveistrup. He is quite simply in another league. Scandi noir is back with a bang with this sensational debut novel **** - Metro

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Unmaking of Ellie Rook
Wolves at the Door
The Last Widow
The Partisan Heart

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241372104
Publication date: 10/01/2019
Publisher: Michael Joseph Ltd an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241372104
Publication date: 10th January 2019
Author: Soren Sveistrup
Publisher: Michael Joseph Ltd an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 512 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense, Fiction in translation,

About Soren Sveistrup

Soren Sveistrup (Author) Soren Sveistrup is an internationally acclaimed scriptwriter of the Danish television phenomenon The Killing which won various international awards and sold in more than a hundred countries. More recently, Sveistrup wrote the screenplay for Jo Nesbo's The Snowman. Sveistrup obtained a Master in Literature and in History from the University of Copenhagen and studied at the Danish Film School. He has won countless prizes, including an Emmy for Nikolaj and Julie and a BAFTA for The Killing.

More About Soren Sveistrup

Share this book