Book Series

Stevens & Windermere

The Professionals

The Professionals

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/07/2014

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. Four bright university friends turn to professional kidnapping for profit in a failing job market. All goes well with this new business venture until the day they kidnap the wrong man and all hell breaks loose. With both the authorities and a blood-thirsty organized crime outfit on their trail, the loosely criminal entrepreneurs have to do a perilous balancing act to emerge in one piece from the unholy mess. Fast-moving, witty and frightfully imaginative, this is the first in a highly heralded new American series that will appeal to fans of Lee Child, Michael Connelly and other best thriller writers from over the pond. Terrific twists and thrills litter the pages.   Sarah Broadhurst's View... Rather like a present day Bonnie and Clyde with events escalating far beyond what was initially thought to be a safe wheeze, it concerns four young American graduates unable to get satisfying jobs who turn to kidnapping to make a living.  They take ultra-wealthy people, don’t demand too much so it’s easily affordable and then move on.  All goes well until they kidnap the daughter of a Mafia don.  Now they have both the FBI and the Mafia after them … Good action, good characters, lots of plot and good fun.

eBooks of the Month
Criminal Enterprise

Criminal Enterprise

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/09/2014

From the outside, Carter Tomlin's life looks perfect: a big house, a pretty wife, two kids - a St. Paul success story. But Tomlin has a secret. He's lost his job, the bills are mounting, and that perfect life is hanging by a thread. Desperate, he robs a bank. Then he robs another. As the red flags start to go up, FBI Special Agent Carla Windermere hones in on Tomlin from one direction, while Minnesota state investigator Kirk Stevens picks up the trail from another. The two cops haven't talked since their first case together, but that's all going to change very quickly. Because Carter Tomlin's decided he likes robbing banks. And it's not because of the money, not anymore. Tomlin has guns and a new taste for violence. And he's not quitting anytime soon...

Kill Fee

Kill Fee

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/02/2015

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. A third successful outing for Minnesota state investigator Kirk Stevens and his occasional FBI special agent and younger sidekick Carla Windermere (earlier volumes were The Professionals and Criminal Enterprise). When a local billionaire is assassinated, the cross-country trail weavingly leads to a sinister high tech website advertising murder for hire. It's no longer a matter of identifying the blank-faced killer but also the powers behind the criminal organisation and their motives, whether pecuniary or not. Slick and fast-paced storytelling and likeable characters combine to make this a rapid and involving read and a series that grows on you and is almost ready-made for the smalll screen. Impeccable entertainment perfected with slide rule precision.

eBooks of the Month
The Stolen Ones

The Stolen Ones

Author: Owen Laukkanen Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/05/2015

Cass County, Minnesota: A sheriff's deputy steps out of a diner on a rainy summer evening and a few minutes later he's lying dead in the mud. When state investigator Kirk Stevens arrives on the scene, he discovers local authorities have taken into custody a single suspect: a hysterical young woman found sat beside the body, holding the deputy's own gun. She has no ID, speaks no English. A mystery woman. The puzzle only deepens from there, as Stevens and Carla Windermere, his partner in the new joint state and FBI violent crime task force, find themselves on the trail of a massive international kidnapping and prostitution operation. Before the two agents are done, they will have travelled over half the country, and come face-to-face not only with the most vicious man either of them has ever encountered, but two of the most courageous women. They are sisters, stolen ones. But just because you're a victim doesn't mean you have to stay one.

eBooks of the Month