Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

win prizes
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Series Books in the series:
Serpent's Tail Classics

Red Riding Nineteen Seventy Four by David Peace Red Riding Nineteen Seventy Four

Jeanette Garland, missing Castleford, July 1969. Susan Ridyard, missing Rochdale, March 1972. Claire Kemplay, missing Morley, since yesterday. Christmas bombs and Lord Lucan on the run, Leeds United and the Bay City Rollers, The Exorcist and It Ain't Half Hot...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/04/2018 - Category: Crime & mystery

Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three by David Peace Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three

Nineteen Eighty Three's three intertwining storylines see the Quartet's central themes of corruption and the perversion of justice come to a head as BJ, the rent boy from Nineteen Seventy Four, the lawyer Big John Piggott - who's as near...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/04/2018 - Category: Crime & mystery

Red Riding Nineteen Seventy Seven by David Peace Red Riding Nineteen Seventy Seven

If you thought fiction couldn't get darker than David Peace's extraordinary debut, Nineteen Seventy Four, then think again. Nineteen Seventy Seven, the second instalment of the Red Riding Quartet, is one long nightmare. Its heroes - the half decent copper...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/04/2018 - Category: Crime & mystery

Red Riding Nineteen Eighty by David Peace Red Riding Nineteen Eighty

Red Riding Nineteen Eighty is set against an evolving backdrop of power, corruption and lies. The nightmare continues during the winter of 1980 when the Ripper murders his thirteenth victim and the whole of Yorkshire is terrorised. Assistant Chief Constable...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/04/2018 - Category: Crime & mystery

As Serious As Your Life Black Music and the Free Jazz Revolution, 1957-1977 by Valerie Wilmer As Serious As Your Life Black Music and the Free Jazz Revolution, 1957-1977

In this classic account of the new black music of the 1960s and 70s, celebrated photographer and jazz historian Val Wilmer tells the story of how a generation of revolutionary musicians established black music as the true vanguard of American...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/03/2018 - Category: Jazz

White Bicycles Making Music in the 1960s by Joe Boyd, Hanif Kureishi White Bicycles Making Music in the 1960s
,
More than any previous '60s music autobiography, Boyd offers the real story of what it was like to be there
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/08/2017 - Category: Autobiography: arts & entertainment

African Psycho by Alain Mabanckou African Psycho

Finalist for the Man Booker International Prize 2015 Gregoire Nakobomayo, a petty criminal, has decided to kill his girlfriend Germaine. He's planned the crime for some time, but still, the act of murder requires a bit of psychological and logistical...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/03/2017 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Veronica by Mary Gaitskill Veronica

Alison and Veronica meet amid the nocturnal glamour of 1980s New York: one is a former modelling sensation, stumbling away from the wreck of her career, the other an eccentric middle-aged proofreader with a meticulous eye. Over the next twenty...
Format: Paperback - Released: 08/12/2016 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The Silent Cry by Kenzaburo Oe The Silent Cry

In Oe's masterpiece of the human condition and family psychology, estranged brothers Mitsusaburo and Takashi have long since left their family home in a remote forested valley on Shikoku, in the south of Japan: Mitsusaburo for work in Tokyo; his...
Format: Paperback - Released: 16/06/2016 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver, Kate Mosse
We Need to Talk About Kevin
Lionel Shriver, Kate Mosse
Winner of the Orange Prize for Fiction 2005. Narrated by a mother, Eve, in letters to her estranged husband, this is a truly horrific story of a 15-year old boy’s killing spree but it is more the tale of how...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/01/2016
If He Hollers Let Him Go by Chester Himes, Jake Arnott If He Hollers Let Him Go
,
Robert Jones is a crew leader in a naval shipyard in Los Angeles in the 1940s. He should have a lot going for him, being educated, with a steady job and a steady relationship. But in the four days covered...
Format: Paperback - Released: 14/01/2016 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The Passport by Herta Muller The Passport

A beautiful, haunting novel by the winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize for Literature
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/12/2015 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Jernigan by David Gates, Stuart Evers
Jernigan
David Gates, Stuart Evers
Peter Jernigan is a drunk single father who’s far too clever for his own good. His slow descent into disaster is marked with brilliant wit, equally hopeless characters and David Gates's unmistakable razor-sharp storytelling prowess. Shot through with gin and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/08/2015
A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines, Attica Locke A Lesson Before Dying
,
A novel of prejudice, community and what it means to be a man in the American South. It explores the deep prejudice of the American South in the tradition of Harper Lee's To Kill A Mockingbird and Toni Morrison's Beloved...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/06/2015 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Fatale by Jean-Patrick Manchette, David Peace Fatale
,
Aimee Joubert is a drop-dead gorgeous femme fatale with a penchant for bloody murder. Ever on the lookout for opportunities for self-enrichment, she finds plenty to like as a newcomer to the detestable backwater town of Bleville: small-minded parochialism, self-interested...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/03/2015 - Category: Crime & mystery

The Seven Madmen by Roberto Arlt, Roberto Bolano The Seven Madmen
,
Remo Erdosain's Buenos Aires is a dim, seething, paranoid hive of hustlers and whores, scoundrels and madmen, and Erdosain feels his soul is as polluted as anything in this dingy city. Possessed by the directionlessness of the society around him,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/02/2015 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Psychotic Reactions and Carburetor Dung by Lester Bangs, Greil Marcus Psychotic Reactions and Carburetor Dung
,
Until his death aged thirty-three in 1982, Lester Bangs wrote wired, rock 'n' roll pieces on Iggy Pop, The Clash, John Lennon, Kraftwerk, Lou Reed. As a rock critic, he had an eagle-eye for distinguishing the pre-packaged imitation from the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/12/2014 - Category: Rock & Pop music

The Sexual Life of Catherine M. by Catherine Millet The Sexual Life of Catherine M.

A window into a life of insatiable desire and uninhibited sex - this is Parisian art critic Catherine M.'s account of her sexual awakening and her unrestrained pursuit of pleasure. From the glamorous singles clubs of Paris to the Bois...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/09/2014 - Category: Erotic confessions & true stories

Pedro Paramo by Juan Rulfo, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Susan Sontag Pedro Paramo
, ,
Swearing to his dying mother that he'll find the father he has never met, a certain Pedro Paramo, Juan Preciado sets out across the barren plains of Mexico for Comala, the hallucinatory ghost town his father presided over like a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 17/07/2014 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Quicksand & Passing by Nella Larsen Quicksand & Passing

A writer of the Harlem Renaissance, Nella Larsen wrote just two novels, published here, and a handful of short stories. Critically acclaimed, both speak powerfully of the contradictions and restrictions experienced by black women at that time. Quicksand, written in...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/05/2014 - Category: Classic fiction (pre c 1945)

Astragal by Patti Smith, Albertine Sarrazin Astragal
,
Tells the story of Anne, a young woman who breaks her ankle in a daring escape from prison. She makes it to a highway where she's picked up by a motorcyclist, Julien, who's also on the run. As they travel...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/03/2014 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Her Privates We by Frederic Manning Her Privates We

A novel about the Battle of the Somme told from the perspective of Bourne, an ordinary private. First published privately in 1929, it may amaze a new generation of readers with its depiction of the horror, the ordinariness and the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/09/2013 - Category: First World War fiction

The Walk by Robert Walser The Walk

One of the great works of European short fiction, by turns funny, reflective and profound
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/05/2013 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Whatever by Michel Houellebecq Whatever

A computer programmer by day, he is tolerably content, until he's packed off with a colleague - the sexually-frustrated Raphael Tisserand - to train provincial civil servants in the use of a new computer system.
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2011 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Beer in the Snooker Club by Waguih Ghali, Diana Athill Beer in the Snooker Club
,
Behind the bar at Jameel's in Cairo hang two mugs engraved with the names of Ram and Font. During their years together in London, they drank many a pint of Bass from these mugs. But there is no Bass in...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/12/2010 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

They Shoot Horses, Don't They? by Horace McCoy They Shoot Horses, Don't They?

The depression of the 1930s led people to desperate measures to survive. The marathon dance craze, which flourished at that time, seemed a simple way for people to earn extra money - dancing the hours away for cash, for weeks...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/11/2010 - Category: Classic fiction (pre c 1945)

The Piano Teacher by Elfriede Jelinek, Razia Iqbal The Piano Teacher
,
Erika Kohut teaches piano at the Vienna Conservatory by day. But by night she trawls the porn shows of Vienna while her mother, whom she loves and hates in equal measure, waits up for her. Into this emotional pressure-cooker bounds...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/11/2010 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The Book of Disquiet by Fernando Pessoa, William Boyd The Book of Disquiet
,
Sitting at his desk, Bernardo Soares imagined himself free forever of Rua dos Douradores, of his boss Vasques, of Moreira the book-keeper, of all the other employees, the errand boy, the post boy, even the cat. But if he left...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/05/2010 - Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Shoedog by George Pelecanos Shoedog

Constantine is a drifter with a lot of miles behind him, a lot more ahead and plenty of jobs in between that never showed up on anyone's books. Back in his home town, he hitches a ride on a bright...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/05/2010 - Category: Crime & mystery

We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
We Need To Talk About Kevin
Lionel Shriver
Winner of the Orange Prize for Fiction in 2005Lionel Shriver tells a compelling, absorbing, and resonant story while framing these horrifying tableaux of teenage carnage as metaphors for the larger tragedy - the tragedy of a country where everything...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/03/2005

Registered users have access to unique site features

Register now