Book Series

Patrik Hedstrom and Erica Falck

The Ice Princess

The Ice Princess

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/10/2017

The gripping psychological thriller debut of No 1 bestselling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg. 'Heart-stopping and heart-warming, The Ice Princess is a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing' Val McDermid A small town can hide many secrets Returning to her hometown after the funeral of her parents, writer Erica Falck finds a community on the brink of tragedy. The death of her childhood friend, Alex, is just the beginning. Her wrists slashed, her body frozen in an ice-cold bath, it seems like she's taken her own life. Meanwhile, local detective Patrik Hedstroem is following his own suspicions about the case. It's only when they start working together that the truth begins to emerge about a small town with a deeply disturbing past...

The Girl in the Woods

The Girl in the Woods

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/11/2018

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedstroem and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. A missing child When a four-year-old girl disappears in the woods outside Fjallbacka, people are horror-struck. Thirty years ago, a child went missing from the same spot, and was later discovered, murdered. A murder Back then, two teenage girls were found guilty of the killing. Could one of them be the culprit this time? Detective Patrik Hedstroem starts investigating, with his wife, bestselling crime writer Erica Falck, by his side. A community torn apart But as Patrik and Erica dig deeper, it seems that everyone in the tight-knit community is hiding something. And soon, the residents must confront the fact that there could be a murderer in their midst...

The Preacher

The Preacher

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/03/2011

The second psychological thriller from No 1 bestselling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg. In the fishing community of Fjallbacka, life is remote, peaceful - and for some, tragically short...

eBooks of the Month
The Stonecutter

The Stonecutter

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/03/2011

March 2011 Book of the Month. A psychological thriller 'par excellence' from the critically acclaimed and no. 1 bestselling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg. The remote resort of Fjallbacka has seen its share of tragedy, though perhaps none worse than that of the little girl found in a fisherman's net. But the post-mortem reveals that this is no case of accidental drowning!

eBooks of the Month
The Stranger

The Stranger

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/03/2012

March 2012 Book of the Month. It’s ironic that Sweden always comes near the top of the best places to live yet also is increasingly the place to raise the current crop of dark and compelling thriller writers. Billed as Sweden's Agatha Christie this is Camilla Lackberg's fourth, rather disturbing, psychological thriller – again featuring the doughty detective Patrik Hedstrom. Complex atmospheric plots are her hallmark and if you have read Stieg Larsson or Jo Nesbo then you should try Camilla Lackberg.   Click here to view The Drowning, which is out in hardback. 

eBooks of the Month
The Hidden Child

The Hidden Child

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/06/2011

August 2011 Book of the Month. Featured on The TV Book Club on More4 on 31 Jul 2011. Worldwide bestseller Camilla Lackberg weaves together another brilliant contemporary psychological thriller with the chilling struggle of Erica, a young woman who discovers within the pages of her mother's diary a painful revelation about her own past. Could what little knowledge she has be enough to endanger her husband and newborn baby? As the dark past comes to light, no one can escape the truth.This is chilling to the bone and yet by turns almost cosy.

eBooks of the Month
The Drowning

The Drowning

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/07/2012

Camilla Lackberg continues to write top-notch, chilling crime fiction and she is especially good at capturing the effects of violent crime on small communities where on the surface everyone is friends.  This is the fifth in the series featuring crime writing wife Erica Falck and doggedly determined detective and husband Patrik Hedstrom as they jointly track a killer who seems to have a grudge against authors… If you have read Stieg Larsson or Jo Nesbo then you should try Camilla Lackberg.

eBooks of the Month
The Lost Boy

The Lost Boy

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/08/2013

One of our Books of the Year 2013. The harrowing subject of domestic violence and its destructive consequences are expertly handled in Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller which will be irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. Mats Sverin was Fjallbacka’s financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he is found murdered, Detective Patrik Hedstrom must find answers. Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? What does she know about who Mats really was? As the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper – and before long, everyone’s lives will be dragged into the light ...  With a plot that tightens like a noose throughout the book it is pretty hard to put down.   August 2013 Book of the Month.   In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Lost Boy a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title - 'The Lost Boy is a delight from start to finish, in the course of which Ms Lackberg weaves together a seemingly disparate series of plot lines with her customary skill.' - Chris Nolan. Scroll down to read more reviews.

eBooks of the Month
Buried Angels

Buried Angels

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/09/2014

One of our Books of the Year 2014. This is a huge, complex, dark Swedish psychological thriller which you need to pay attention to in order to sort out the names if nothing else! It gives you a back story over the generations from 1908 to today but the heart of the mystery is a strange disappearance of a family from a boarding school in the Easter holidays of 1974 leaving a one-year old baby behind – and five sons of rich parents. The boys were out fishing when whatever happened occurred. This mystery is the glue that keeps the five together into a successful adulthood, for there is something very disturbing about the old school, something that lingers on into the present. A reunion reveals all … this is thrilling stuff.

eBooks of the Month
The Ice Child

The Ice Child

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/10/2016

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. SEE NO EVIL It's January in the peaceful seaside resort of Fjallbacka. A semi-naked girl wanders through the woods in freezing cold weather. When she finally reaches the road, a car comes out of nowhere. It doesn't manage to stop. HEAR NO EVIL The victim, a girl who went missing four months ago, has been subjected to unimaginably brutal treatment - and Detective Patrik Hedstroem suspects this is just the start. SPEAK NO EVIL The police soon discover that three other girls are missing from nearby towns, but there are no fresh leads. And when Patrik's wife stumbles across a link to an old murder case, the detective is forced to see his investigation in a whole new light.