Book Series

DS McAvoy

Original Skin

Original Skin

Author: David Mark Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/10/2017

He squints his eyes against the glare on the glossy page. Knows, even before the image swims into focus, that the picture will be of a skinny young man with peacock feathers on his back, and a fleshy girl with blossoms and lilies upon her shoulder. Simon Appleyard and Suzie Devlin are two pleasure seekers defined by their flamboyant tattoos. Their lust for life is matched only by their hunger for taboo pleasures - a lifestyle that has just made them the deadliest enemy imaginable. DS Aector McAvoy has been a marked man all his life. A policeman with scars to his body and career, his fate will become linked with that of Simon and Suzie as painfully and intricately as tattooed markings on virgin skin.

eBooks of the Month
Dark Winter

Dark Winter

Author: David Mark Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/10/2017

Best selling author David Mark thrills with this fabulous start to his series of DS McAvoy novels. He writes with an assured hand and produces biting, stimulating reads that I can highly recommend. Books in The DS McAvoy Series: 1. Dark Winter 2. Original Skin 3. Sorrow Bound 4. Taking Pity 5. Dead Pretty 6. Cruel Mercy 7. Scorched Eath 8. Cold Bones Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

Taking Pity

Taking Pity

Author: David Mark Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/10/2017

DS AECTOR MCAVOY BOOK FOUR: TAKING PITY TAKES READERS FURTHER ONTO THE STREETS OF HULL. DS Aector McAvoy's family is in hiding. He has lost his way. His boss Trish Pharaoh gives him a distraction in the form of an old case. The Winn family was killed forty years ago: were the police right about who pulled the trigger? But McAvoy's enemies - the ruthless criminal organisation known as the Headhunters - are pitiless. They plan to take everything from those that stand in their way. And his cold case is strangely linked with the fire that's about to rain down on Hull... When McAvoy confronts the worst of killers and sinners, not everyone will escape unscathed. Hooked on Hull? Then check out the fifth instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Dead Pretty...

Cruel Mercy

Cruel Mercy

Author: David Mark Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/10/2017

DS Aector McAvoy's brother-in-law Valentine is missing. In New York City, half the world away. And the two men he travelled with have just been found in an open grave upstate: one dead, one as good as. McAvoy doesn't believe Valentine killed them. He does believe he's in trouble. And so he follows him to New York, determined to find out what happened. But Valentine is in more danger than McAvoy could have imagined. And McAvoy's walking into it right after him: into the darkness of murder, revenge, and a forty-year-old crime...

Sorrow Bound

Sorrow Bound

Author: David Mark Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/10/2017

NO GOOD DEED GOES UNPUNISHED - THE THIRD DS AECTOR MCAVOY THRILLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF DARK WINTER. Philippa Longman did what we all aim to do. She did the right thing. She's about to pay for it with her life... DS McAvoy has spent his career playing by the rules. He has the scars to show for it. And his latest case will take him into a world in which good intentions make no difference to those with a thirst for revenge... Where ruthless killers go to any lengths to get their way... And where the most powerful thing anyone can do is stand firm against the darkness. Hooked on Hull? Then check out the fourth instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Taking Pity...

Scorched Earth

Scorched Earth

Author: David Mark Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/09/2018

Detective McAvoy investigates a murder and a missing person case in this dark and compelling thriller, for fans of Stuart MacBride and Peter May. The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping? And how far would someone go to get revenge? The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

Cold Bones

Cold Bones

Author: David Mark Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/01/2019

It's the coldest winter in Hull for years. When McAvoy is told by a concerned stranger that an elderly woman hasn't been seen for a few days, he goes to check on her - only to find her in the bath, encased in ice: the heating off; the windows open; the whole house frozen over. It could be a macabre accident, but McAvoy senses murder. Someone watched her die. As he starts to uncover the victim's story and her connections to a lost fishing trawler, his boss Trish is half a world away, investigating a mysterious death in Iceland. Hull and Iceland have traditionally been united by fishing - in this case, they are linked by a secret concealed for half a century, and a series of brutal killings that have never been connected. Until now - when the secrets of the dead have returned to prey on the living.