LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Books in the series: A Holly Wakefield thriller

When Darkness Calls A dark and twisty serial killer thriller

When Darkness Calls A dark and twisty serial killer thriller

Author: Mark Griffin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/10/2018

'A thrilling new talent' Peter James 'Utterly compelling' Lesley Kara 'Wow . . . As many twists and turns as a rollercoaster!' Amy Lloyd 'Mightily impressive . . . Deviously plotted' Daily Mail *LONGLISTED FOR THE 2019 CWA DEBUT DAGGER AWARD* The first thriller in the gritty and gripping Holly Wakefield series, perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Angela Marsons, Stuart MacBride and the TV's Luther and Line of Duty. Holly Wakefield works for the NHS as a criminal psychologist specialising in serial killers. She has particular reason to be good at her job - but she keeps that to herself. When DI Bishop from the Met Police approaches Holly to investigate a recent killing, Holly is horrified by the dismembered bodies and the way they have been theatrically positioned. More shocking still is when the pathologist reveals this is not the first time she has seen these mutilations. It means a serial killer is out there, and they're going to kill again - soon. Holly is used to chasing serial killers. But this killer has something in common with Holly that she's kept hidden for as long as she can remember. And for the first time since she was a child, Holly is forced to face the darkness of her past . . . What readers are saying about When Darkness Calls: 'Gripping, shocking, nail biting!' Reader review, 5 stars 'A must read book!' Reader review, 5 stars 'Outstanding!' Reader review, 5 stars 'A moving, intense rollercoaster!' Reader review, 5 stars 'You have to read this book!' Reader review, 5 stars 'Dark, twisty and disturbing' Reader review, 5 stars 'Brilliant . . . you won't want to put it down' Reader review, 5 stars 'Compulsive' Reader review, 5 stars 'One of the very best books I've read' Reader review, 5 stars 'Couldn't put it down!' Reader review, 5 stars 'I was glued to this cover to cover' Reader review, 5 stars 'Absolutely loved this . . . It had me completely engrossed' Reader review, 5 stars 'Captivating, thrilling and brilliant' Reader review, 5 stars 'I lost count of how many times I held my breath - fantastic twists and turns' Reader review, 5 stars 'A fast-paced, page-turning thriller' Reader review, 5 stars 'So gripping, so cleverly written' Reader review, 5 stars 'An amazing storyline that kept me hooked' Reader review, 5 stars ***Pre-order the second Holly Wakefield thriller, When Angels Sleep, now***