Graphic novel and Comic book: types

Heartstopper Volume Three

Heartstopper Volume Three

Author: Alice Oseman Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/04/2022

*Now an acclaimed live-action Netflix series!* Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the third volume of the bestselling HEARTSTOPPER series. *Includes exclusive Tao/Elle mini-comic!* Charlie didn't think Nick could ever like him back, but now they're officially boyfriends. Nick's even found the courage to come out to his mum. But coming out isn't just something that happens once - there's Nick's older brother, and a school trip to Paris, not to mention all the other friends and family - and life can be hard, even with someone who loves you by your side. As their feelings get more serious, Charlie and Nick will need each other more than ever before. By Alice Oseman, winner of the YA Book Prize, Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

Chivalry

Chivalry

Author: Neil Gaiman Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/03/2022

From the award-winning creators Neil Gaiman and Colleen Doran comes a stunning new graphic novel. An elderly widow buys what turns out to be the Holy Grail from a second-hand shop, setting her off on an epic journey with an ancient knight who lures her with ancient relics in the hope of winning the cup. From the Eisner and Bram Stoker-award winning team of Snow, Glass, Apples comes a beautiful, brand-new graphic novel adaptation.

In Search of Lost Time: Swann's Way

In Search of Lost Time: Swann's Way

Author: Marcel Proust Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/06/2021

With its sweeping digressions into the past and reflections on the nature of memory, Proust's oceanic novel In Search of Lost Time looms over twentieth-century literature as one of the greatest, yet most endlessly challenging, literary experiences. Influencing writers like Virginia Woolf and James Joyce, and even anticipating Albert Einstein in its philosophical explorations of space and time, In Search of Lost Time is a monumental achievement and reading it is a rite of passage for any serious lover of literature. Now, in what renowned translator Arthur Goldhammer says might be likened to a piano reduction of an orchestral score, the French illustrator Stephane Heuet re-presents Proust in graphic form for anyone who has always dreamed of reading him but was put off by the sheer magnitude of the undertaking. This New York Times best-selling graphic adaptation reveals the fundamental architecture of Proust's work while displaying a remarkable fidelity to his language as well as the novel's themes of time, art, and the elusiveness of memory. As Goldhammer writes in his introduction, The reader new to Proust must attend closely, even in this compressed rendering, to the novel's circling rhythms and abrupt cross-cuts between different places and times. But this necessary attentiveness is abetted and facilitated by the compactness of the graphic format. In this first volume, Swann's Way, the narrator Marcel, an aspiring writer, recalls his childhood when-in a now-immortal moment in literature-the taste of a madeleine cake dipped in tea unleashes a torrent of memories about his family's country home in the town of Combray. Here, Heuet and Goldhammer use Proust's own famously rich and labyrinthine sentences and discerning observations to render Combray like never before. From the water lilies of the Vivonne to the steeple and stained glass of the town church, Proust's language provides the blueprint for Heuet's illustrations. Heuet and Goldhammer also capture Proust's humor, wit, and sometimes scathing portrayals of Combray's many memorable inhabitants, like the lovelorn Charles Swann and the object of his affection and torment, Odette de Crecy; Swann's daughter, Gilberte; local aristocrat the Duchesse de Guermantes; the narrator's uncle Adolphe; and the hypochondriac Aunt Leonie. Including a Proust family tree, a glossary of terms, and a map of Paris, this graphic adaptation is a surprising and useful companion piece to Proust's masterpiece for both the initiated and those seeking an introduction.

Sensible Footwear: A Girl's Guide

Sensible Footwear: A Girl's Guide

Author: Kate Charlesworth Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/06/2021

Included in our '35 LGBTQ books to read this Pride Month and every month' collecton.

Heartstopper Volume Four

Heartstopper Volume Four

Author: Alice Oseman Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/05/2021

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. The bestselling LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the fourth volume of Heartstopper, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.

El Deafo: The Superpowered Edition

El Deafo: The Superpowered Edition

Author: Cece Bell Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/10/2020

A special edition of the New York Times bestselling and Newbery Honor-winning graphic novel memoir This deluxe edition of the critically acclaimed, bestselling graphic novel will include 40 extra pages of back matter, including photo references, early sketches, interviews, and more. Funny and deeply heartfelt, El Deafo chronicles the author's hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a powerful and very awkward hearing aid. The Phonic Ear allows her to hear but it also isolates her from her classmates. She really just wants to fit in and find a friend. Eventually, she's able to harness her own power and become El Deafo, Listener for All -and more important, declare a place for herself in the world. This is a moving and humorous memoir that helps show kids that what makes them different is what makes them extraordinary.

Heartstopper Volume Two

Heartstopper Volume Two

Author: Alice Oseman Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/07/2019

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of the bestselling HEARTSTOPPER series. Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie's gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn't. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family ... and himself. By Alice Oseman, winner of the YA Book Prize, Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. This is the second volume of Heartstopper, which is now an acclaimed live-action Netflix series.