Popular Science

Get up to speed with the most popular developments in science, with everything from the tiniest atom to the farthest flung findings of the universe, and every scientific discovery in between. Our selection of books in this category will keep you up to date.

Ask an Astronaut

Ask an Astronaut

Author: Tim Peake Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/10/2017

The new book from astronaut Tim Peake, the number one bestselling author of Hello, is this planet Earth? From training to launch, from his historic spacewalk to re-entry, he reveals for readers of all ages the cutting-edge science behind his ground-breaking experiments, and the wonders of day-to-day life on board the International Space Station.

eBooks of the Month
Tamed Ten Species that Changed our World

Tamed Ten Species that Changed our World

Author: Dr. Alice Roberts Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/10/2017

For hundreds of thousands of years, our ancestors depended on wild plants and animals for survival. They were hunter-gatherers, consummate foraging experts, taking the world as they found it. Then a revolution occurred - our ancestors' interaction with other species changed. They began to tame them. The human population boomed; civilisation began.

eBooks of the Month
The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook

Author: Michael Brooks Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/10/2017

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

eBooks of the Month
Snow's Kitchenalia

Snow's Kitchenalia

Author: Alan Snow Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/10/2017

Having made way too many impulsive purchases of kitchen equipment in my time, this would be a most welcome guide to the now huge range of “stuff” available to modern cooks. It goes from the simple for the back to basics type of cook and the eco-conscious right up to the bells and whistles type of high end equipment that would probably take your coat off for you if you asked it. A symbol to the amount of washing up involved would have been useful, as remembering my juicer it was soon back to the wooden reamer!   ~ Sue Baker Like for Like Reading: Consider the Fork by Bee Wilson You might also like to consider the following but they are both out of print: Kitchen Things: An Album of Vintage Utensils, Richard Snodgrass (9781626360365) In Praise of Slow: How a Worldwide Movement is Challenging the Cult of Speed, Carl Honore (9780752864143)  

eBooks of the Month
Science(ish) The Peculiar Science Behind the Movies

Science(ish) The Peculiar Science Behind the Movies

Author: Rick Edwards, Michael Brooks Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/10/2017

Films – what do they know about science, what have they got right and what they have got wrong? (all that clunky computer equipment in Alien for a start). Can we teleport, grow a dinosaur or shapeshift, Doctor Michael Brooks explains it all to us and to colleague Rick Edwards. Taken from their Twitter pages they discuss science shown in films that have often delved into the science.  This is the quintessential Christmas gift for lovers of science and movies based on the hit podcast, Science(ish), stylishly designed and illustrated throughout. Like for Like Reading The Physics of Star Trek by Lawrence Krauss The Haynes Zombie Survival Manual by Sean T Page

eBooks of the Month
Natural Wonders of the World

Natural Wonders of the World

Author: DK Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/10/2017

A continent by continent journey around Earth's most beautiful, spectacular, and captivating landscapes. Discover which of Earth's wonders should definitely make it onto your bucket list with this unparalleled survey of the world's incredible natural treasures. With a foreword by Chris Packham, Natural Wonders of the World is the most in-depth look at Earth's greatest wonders.

eBooks of the Month
The Lost Words

The Lost Words

Author: Robert Macfarlane, Jackie Morris Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/10/2017

One of Our Books of the Year 2017 |  A book to make you think and feel, this is an important, beautiful, spellbinding treasure. Words from nature are disappearing, being removed, left to one side to be forgotten. Some words are in real danger of being lost forever, this book reveals those words, sings them, shows them, reminds us how to love them. Spell-weavers Robert MacFarlane and Jackie Morris have created a bewitching ode to nature, reminding us of the danger of absence, highlighting beauty, whispering to our soul. It feels as though the words, the poems, and vividly beautiful pictures are as one, the essence of the word, of the being, escapes the page to wrap itself around you. ‘The Lost Words’ is suitable for all ages, and should find a special place in all homes, all libraries, all schools, all hearts. Do read the spell-poems out loud, listen, look, feel, touch, allow your awareness to open and receive these gifts. I found myself entranced, I fell completely under the spell of The Lost Words, I simply can’t recommend it highly enough.   Explore our '80+ Books That Deliver a Hug' listicle for more feel-good or uplifting books.

Cat Wisdom

Cat Wisdom

Author: Neil Somerville Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2017

Cats have the answers; we humans only have to watch – and learn. Life lessons in friendship, courage and responsibility or discovering how to improve your appearance and surroundings – Neil Somerville reminds us of what there is to learn…. I see he is not encouraging us to take up curtain climbing and the similar bad habits I could learn from my cats so we are talking ideal cats here, the ones who have had some training in mindfulness.  ~ Sue Baker   Like for Like Reading How it Works: The Ladybird Book of the Cat by Jason Hazeley and Joel Morris One Hundred Secret Thoughts Cats Have about Humans by Celia Haddon  

eBooks of the Month
How to Build a Universe An Infinite Monkey Cage Adventure

How to Build a Universe An Infinite Monkey Cage Adventure

Author: Brian Cox, Robin Ince Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2017

From the hosts of the legendary BBC Radio 4 programme comes this irreverent celebration of scientific marvels - a hectic leap through the grand and bizarre ideas conjured up by human imagination, from dark matter to consciousness via neutrinos and earthworms.

eBooks of the Month
Adventures of a Young Naturalist The Zoo Quest Expeditions

Adventures of a Young Naturalist The Zoo Quest Expeditions

Author: Sir David Attenborough Format: Hardback Release Date: 21/09/2017

The early adventures of a young David Attenborough. Written with his trademark wit and charm, Zoo Quest is not just the story of a remarkable adventure, but of the man who made us fall in love with the natural world, and who is still doing so today.

Unbelievable Science

Unbelievable Science

Author: Colin Barras Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/09/2017

This dazzling collection of stories reveals the key recent breakthroughs in science, across all fields. Inside you will meet the killers lurking in Earth's ice, the super-coral that could save our seas and the neuroscientists hunting ghosts. You will travel beyond our galaxy to worlds where the sun sets twice, and beyond our time to a future where the Internet is unhackable and chickenosaurs roam the land. Divided into sections covering physics, space, humanity, the brain, plants and animals, and linking stories from different fields, Unbelievable Science offers a boundless journey of discovery for anyone with a passion for the world around them. Prepare to be shocked and amazed on every page.

Science in the Soul Selected Writings of a Passionate Rationalist

Science in the Soul Selected Writings of a Passionate Rationalist

Author: Richard Dawkins Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/06/2017

Richard Dawkins - author of The Selfish Gene, The Blind Watchmaker, and The God Delusion - is one of science's greatest communicators. This anthology of more than forty pieces is a kaleidoscopic argument for the power and the glory of science. Breathtaking, brilliant and passionate, these essays, journalism, lectures and letters make an unanswerable case for the wonder of scientific discovery and its power to stir the imagination; for the practical necessity of scientific endeavour to society; and for the importance of the scientific way of thinking - particularly in today's 'post-truth' world. Alongside the explications, the celebrations and the controversies are wonderfully funny ventures into satire and parody, and moving personal reflections in memory and honour of others.