Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

join us on facebook
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Wolfson History Prize 2017 The Wolfson History Prize 2017

All authors and books in this category
Show this month's The Wolfson History Prize 2017 Books
Show All The Wolfson History Prize 2017 Books


The Wolfson History Prize 2017The Wolfson History Prize 2017 Winner announced! The winner of this year’s Wolfson History Prize is Dr Christopher de Hamel for his book Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts. The overall winner was revealed at a reception at Claridge’s on Monday 15 May 2017 and received a prize of £40,000. The shortlisted books for this year’s award were:House of the Dead: Siberian Exile Under the Tsars by Daniel BeerHenry IV by Chris Given_WilsonMeetings with Remarkable Manuscripts by Christopher de HamelSleep in Early Modern England by Sasha HandleyMartin Luther: Renegade and Prophet by Lyndal RoperHenry the Young King by Matthew Strickland The Judges for the Wolfson History Prize 2017 were: Sir David Cannadine (Chairman), Sir Richard Evans, Professor Julia Smith and Sir Diarmaid MacCulloch.

Sir David Cannadine, Chair of the Prize Judges, said: “Christopher de Hamel's outstanding and original book pushes the boundaries of what it is and what it means to write history. By framing each manuscript of which he writes as the story of his own personal encounter with it, he leads the reader on many unforgettable journeys of discovery and learning. Deeply imaginative, beautifully written, and unfailingly humane, Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts distils a lifelong love of these astonishing historical treasures, which the author brings so vividly to life. It is a masterpiece.”

Click here to find out more about the Wolfson Foundation.

Daniel Beer
Christopher de Hamel
Lyndal Roper
Chris Given-Wilson
Sasha Handley
Matthew Strickland