book price comparison
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Provocative Prose Provocative Prose - Erotic Stories

All authors and books in this category
Show this month's Provocative Prose Books
Show Author List

Page 1 2 3 4 5 5 pages in total
Darker Fifty Shades Darker as Told by Christian by E L James
Darker Fifty Shades Darker as Told by Christian
E L James
E L James revisits the world of Fifty Shades with a deeper and darker take on the love story that has enthralled millions of readers around the globe. Determined to win her back, he tries to suppress his darkest desires...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/11/2017
The Tryst by Monique Roffey
The Tryst
Monique Roffey
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. Jane and Bill, a London couple whose relationship is enduring the pressures of time but harbours some element of dissatisfaction, come across Lilah in a pub. She is sex incarnate, a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/07/2017
White Fur by Jardine Libaire
White Fur
Jardine Libaire
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. It's Romeo and Juliet modern grunge style when Elise Perez, a girl from the wrong side of the tracks and colour meets Jamey Hyde, the scion of a rich family studying...
Format: Hardback - Released: 30/05/2017
Fifty Shades Darker by E. L. James
Fifty Shades Darker
E. L. James
Daunted by the dark secrets of the tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Ana Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a US publishing house. But desire for Grey still dominates her every waking thought, and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/01/2017
Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum
Jill Alexander Essbaum
A much talked about novel of female alienation, US poet Essbaum's is a curious blend of Madame Bovary and Anna Karenina brought into the modern post-feminist age. Married to Bruno, a stolid Swiss banker, American middle-aged wife Anna...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/04/2016
One with You by Sylvia Day
One with You
Sylvia Day
Falling in love with him was the easiest thing I've ever done. It happened instantly. Completely. Irrevocably. Marrying him was a dream come true. Staying married to him is the fight of my life. Love transforms. Ours is both a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/04/2016
The Pleasure Quartet: Summer by Vina Jackson
The Pleasure Quartet: Summer
Vina Jackson
A striking and beautifully written 'adults only' read, containing some extreme and profoundly intimate scenes. Focusing once more on violinist Summer Zahova, this is the last in The Pleasure Quartet and is aptly titled Summer. Noah also enters the story, unsatisfied...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/01/1970
Grey Fifty Shades of Grey as Told by Christian by E. L. James
Grey Fifty Shades of Grey as Told by Christian
E. L. James
Christian Grey exercises control in all things; his world is neat, disciplined, and utterly empty - until the day that Anastasia Steele falls into his office, in a tangle of shapely limbs and tumbling brown hair. He tries to forget...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/06/2015
Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James
Fifty Shades of Grey
E. L. James
The book everyone’s been talking about, now a major motion picture. Young and innocent Anastasia Steele doesn’t quite know what to make of the smouldering industrialist Christian Grey when she interviews him for her student paper. Things get both troubling...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/01/2015
The Second Time I Saw You by Pippa Croft
The Second Time I Saw You
Pippa Croft
It's the beginning of a new term at Wyckham College, Oxford, and a fresh start for Lauren Cusack. Her fingers were badly burnt when a whirlwind romance with gorgeous English aristocrat, Alexander Hunt, became too hot to handle - and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/11/2014
Captivated by You A Crossfire Novel by Sylvia Day
Captivated by You A Crossfire Novel
Sylvia Day
Gideon calls me his angel, but he's the miracle in my life. My gorgeous, wounded warrior, so determined to slay my demons while refusing to face his own. The vows we'd exchanged should have bound us tighter than blood and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/11/2014
Darker Edge of Desire by Mitzi Szereto
Darker Edge of Desire
Mitzi Szereto
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. US-based Anglophile Szereto is one of the better anthologists in the literary erotica field and her standards are always set high, so any new collection she edits...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/10/2014
Undone by Kristina Lloyd
Kristina Lloyd
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. It's a shame that the success of FIFTY SHADES OF GREY hasn't given a boost (with a few rare exceptions) to the better writers of erotica who'd...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/09/2014
Tampa by Alissa Nutting
Alissa Nutting
A challenging but ultimately rewarding (and even in its own wonderfully twisted way, comic) exploration of the perverse mind of an older female teacher who is totally obsessed with young boys. Set aside your inborn societal prejudices and read this...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/06/2014
The List by Joanna Bolouri
The List
Joanna Bolouri
Written in first-person diary form, a sort of Bridget Jones/50 Shades of Grey cross where 30-something girl, Phoebe, makes a New Year resolution ‘list’ of ten sexual encounters she would like to explore: dogging, voyeurism, bondage and the like. With...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/04/2014
Breathless for You by Elizabeth Anthony
Breathless for You
Elizabeth Anthony
Forbidden passion in the Downton Abbey era. Will Sophie and Ash find the love they truly desire?
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/04/2014
Three Weeks with Lady X by Eloisa James
Three Weeks with Lady X
Eloisa James
Right from the start it is pretty obvious who is going to end up with whom here but finding out how that occurs is the most enormous fun. Lady Xenobia, also known as India, is left orphaned with only her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 25/03/2014
Seduced by Fire: A Partners in Play Novel by Tara Sue Me
Seduced by Fire: A Partners in Play Novel
Tara Sue Me
Tara Sue Me became a worldwide phenomenon with her enticing and scandalous Submissive Trilogy which enthralled millions. Now she presents a scorching tale about a risky passion too hot to ignore... For fans of E. L. James, Sylvia...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/03/2014
Wicked Pleasure by Lora Leigh
Wicked Pleasure
Lora Leigh
If Sylvia has had her day, and fifty shades is simply grey, here's a little wicked pleasure from the number one bestseller Lora Leigh.
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/01/2014
The Dining Club by Marina Anderson
The Dining Club
Marina Anderson
An erotic novel with a refreshing slant. Grace, a young theatre director, lands herself a rich, older, sophisticated boyfriend, David. She becomes completely smitten. Six months into their relationship he invites her to a dining club. There are five tables...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/01/2014
Wanted by Julie Kenner
Julie Kenner
Dark, sensual and seductive – Wanted is the first in a new erotic series by J Kenner. Slow to start but once Angelina and Evan get together the storyline is explosive. Expect some pretty racy sex and raunchy pillow-talk. Not...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/01/2014
The Beauty of Surrender by Eden Bradley
The Beauty of Surrender
Eden Bradley
The Beauty of Surrender is a hot erotic romance which will delight fans of E L James, Sylvia Day and Portia Da Costa.
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/10/2013
A Secret Shared A S.E.C.R.E.T. Novel by L. Marie Adeline
A Secret Shared A S.E.C.R.E.T. Novel
L. Marie Adeline
The second in the erotic S-E-C-R-E-T series of an underground society dedicated to helping women fulfil their sexual fantasies. We have previously met Cassie who now helps a newcomer, Dauphine, in this journey to ecstasy but along the way has...
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/10/2013
Beneath This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Beneath This Man
Jodi Ellen Malpas
Ava and Jesse’s passionate adventures continue in the second of ‘The Man Trilogy’ In the first instalment, This Man, Ava was totally overwhelmed by Jesse’s sensuality and the only way to keep her sanity was to leave him. But...
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/10/2013
The Secret Lives of Married Women by Elissa Wald
The Secret Lives of Married Women
Elissa Wald
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. Maxim Jakubowski's view... Hiding behind a title and a lurid cover illustration which deliberately hark back to the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/10/2013
This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas
This Man
Jodi Ellen Malpas
The first in a new sexy trilogy firmly aimed at fans of 50 Shades and the Vina Jackson books and it won’t disappoint. A young interior designer, Ava, gets a lot more than she expected when she turns...
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/10/2013
Dark Secret Love: A Story of Submission by Alison Tyler
Dark Secret Love: A Story of Submission
Alison Tyler
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. One of the leading contemporary authors of erotica long before the E. L. James tsunami, American writer Tyler...
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/09/2013
Mistress of Night and Dawn by Vina Jackson
Mistress of Night and Dawn
Vina Jackson
Lovers of erotic, romantic fiction will be thrilled to hear that the great master (or is that mistress?) of the passion genre and Sunday Times Top 10 bestseller, Vina Jackson, author of the Eighty Days quintet is back! with Mistress...
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/09/2013
Tampa by Alissa Nutting
Alissa Nutting
One of Maxim Jakubowski's Books of the Year 2013. Maxim Jakubowski's October 2013 Highly Recommended. A...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/08/2013
A Passion for Him by Sylvia Day
A Passion for Him
Sylvia Day
Sylvia Day's A Passion for Him - the classic erotic romance, part of the Georgian series - is a tale of heartbreak, forbidden love and true desire.
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/06/2013
Page 1 2 3 4 5 5 pages in total
Add to favourites

50 Shades of Great _________________________

Literature has addressed sex throughout history. The joys and complexities are shown in 'The Song of Solomon' in the Bible. Byron, Chacer and Donne are famous for their compemplations on sex and desire.

Provocative prose is not simply pornographic, and product created simply to excite and arouse. Provocative prose stands apart as it is able to offer excitement while also deliviering social commentary and an examination of human feelings and behaviour. This genre can help you to think more deeply about sex, desire and how are attitudes to this topic are formed and what impact they have.

One of the most famous literary erotica would be Lady Chatterly's Lover by D.H. Lawrence, which manages to combine titilation and provocation while also offering character development, and an examination of the theme.

While some will still find these books shocking and a step too far. However there are marvelous modern authors such as Henry Miller, Anais Nin, and Annie Rice with her 'Sleeping Beauty' series which was published under the name Anne Roquelaure. With the development and exploration of this genre, there is a wide and varied selection of books for those interested in indulging.