Family Drama Books

Our high-quality Family Drama selection offers the heart-breaking and heart-warming conflicts and dramas directly from the hearth, telling the stories of these families that have been struck by tragedy, conflict and drama and their struggle to survive intact.

Power Play

Power Play

Author: Danielle Steel Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/01/2015

Fiona Carson has proven herself as CEO of a multibillion-dollar high-tech company - a successful woman in a man's world. Devoted single mother, world-class strategist, and tough negotiator, Fiona has to keep a delicate balance every day. Meanwhile, Marshall Weston basks in the fruits of his achievements. At his side is his wife Liz who has gladly sacrificed her own career to raise their three children. Smooth, shrewd and irreproachable, Marshall's power only enhances his charisma - but he harbors secrets that could destroy his life at any moment. Both must face their own demons, and the lives they lead come at a high price. But just how high a price are they willing to pay? Power Play is a compelling, heart-rending portrayal of love, family and career - the perfect read for fans of Penny Vincenzi and Lesley Pearce.

Campari for Breakfast

Campari for Breakfast

Author: Sara Crowe Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/01/2015

Deeply eccentric and very, very funny . (Mark Gatiss, co-creator of BBC's Sherlock). Life is full of terrible things. Ghosts of dead relatives, heartbreak ...burnt toast. In 1987, Sue Bowl's world changes for ever. Her mother dies, leaving her feeling like she's lost a vital part of herself. And then her father shacks up with an awful man eater called Ivana. But Sue's mother always told her to make the most of what's she got - and what she's got is a love of writing and some eccentric relatives. So Sue moves to her Aunt Coral's crumbling ancestral home, where she fully intends to write a book and fall in love ...and perhaps drink Campari for Breakfast. Campari for Breakfast is a heart-warming, eccentric novel that joins the ranks of great British coming-of-age novels such as Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle and Nancy Mitford's The Pursuit of Love.

When We Were Sisters

When We Were Sisters

Author: Beth Miller Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/01/2015

'I never think of Laura as my step-sister, but that's what she is.' Once they were the best of friends, inseparable as only teenage girls can be. That is until Miffy's Jewish father runs off with Laura's Catholic mother and both of their families imploded - as well as Laura's intense relationship with Miffy's brother...Twenty years on, they're all about to meet again...

The Winter War

The Winter War

Author: Philip Teir Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/01/2015

On the surface, the Paul family are living the liberal, middle-class Scandinavian dream. Max Paul is a renowned sociologist and his wife Katriina has a well-paid job in the public sector. They live in an airy apartment in the centre of Helsinki. But look closer and the cracks start to show. As he approaches his sixtieth birthday, the certainties of Max's life begin to dissolve. He hasn't produced any work of note for decades. His wife no longer loves him. His grown-up daughters - one in London, one in Helsinki - have problems of their own. So when a former student turned journalist shows up and offers him a seductive lifeline, Max starts down a dangerous path from which he may never find a way back. Funny, sharp, and brilliantly truthful, Teir's debut has the feel of a big, contemporary, humane American novel, but with a distinctly Scandinavian edge.

The Silent Sister

The Silent Sister

Author: Diane Chamberlain Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/01/2015

THE BRAND NEW NOVEL BY DIANE CHAMBERLAIN, BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE MIDWIFE'S CONFESSION. WHAT IF EVERYTHING YOU BELIEVED TURNED OUT TO BE A LIE? Riley MacPherson is returning to her childhood home in North Carolina. A place that holds cherished memories. While clearing out the house she finds a box of old newspaper articles - and a shocking family secret begins to unravel. Riley has spent her whole life believing that her older sister Lisa died tragically as a teenager. But now she's starting to uncover the truth: her life has been built on a foundation of lies, told by everyone she loved. Lisa is alive. Alive and living under a new identity. But why exactly was she on the run all those years ago, and what secrets are being kept now? As Riley tries to separate reality from fiction, her discoveries call into question everything she thought she knew about her family. Can she find the strength inside herself to decide her future. Incredibly gripping and emotionally powerful, The Silent Sister is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Liane Moriarty.

Mobile Library

Mobile Library

Author: David Whitehouse Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/01/2015

Twelve-year-old Bobby Nusku is an archivist of his mother. He catalogues traces of her life and waits for her to return home. Bobby thinks that he's been left to face the world alone until he meets lonely single mother Val and her daughter Rosa. They spend a magical summer together, discovering the books in the mobile library where Val works as a cleaner. But as the summer draws to a close, Bobby finds himself in trouble and Val is in danger of losing her job. There's only one thing to do -- and so they take to the road in the mobile library...Quirky, dark, magical and full of heart, Mobile Library is both a tragicomic road trip and a celebration of the adventures that books can take us on. It's a love-letter to unlikely families and the stories that shaped us.

Tragedy Begins at Home

________________________

Whether it’s Barbara Taylor Bradford’s window into the dark secrets of dynastic powerhouses, or the hard realities of Allison Pearson’s writing: the incisively humourous observations of Nick Hornby, or the light touch of Charlotte Bingham: the engrossing passion of Jojo Moyes, or the captivating worlds conjured by Jodi Picoult and Daisy Waugh, the range of fantastic stories in the Family Drama section is almost endless. Luckily our unique expert reviews and hand-picked recommendations are here to help match you with your perfect next read. Sign up to our monthly emails to stay in touch with the latest output from warm, wise Elizabeth Buchan, insightful Kate Atkinson, sensory-stimulating Joanna Harris, huge-scale Sidney Sheldon, magical Alice Hoffman and so many more in the varied family of fantastic authors of the genre.

_______________________________

 

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

 

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

 

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.


A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include: