Crime and Mystery Books

Enter the criminal underworld and solve a complex case all from the comfort of your favourite reading nook. Have a look at our Crime/Mystery selection to get your hands on the latest and greatest case and get mystery solving! You might also be interested in our Thriller and Suspense categories.  

Second Honeymoon

Second Honeymoon

Author: James Patterson Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/07/2014

FBI agent John O'Hara receives a call from a man desperate for his help. His son and daughter-in-law have been found murdered on their honeymoon in the Caribbean. The grieving father wants justice, and will pay O'Hara handsomely to hunt down the killer. Federal agents aren't allowed to moonlight, but O'Hara is on suspension and battling some serious demons. He takes on the case, but as O'Hara delves deeper, a past he thought was dead and buried soon comes back to haunt him.

Respect

Respect

Author: Mandasue Heller Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/07/2014

Chantelle has everything going against her. She's a good student who only wants to pass her exams and find a way out of the sink estate in Manchester where she grew up. But now her feckless mother has taken off for Spain with her latest boyfriend and she's single-handedly raising her tearaway nine-year-old brother Leon. She thinks her worst problem is the debt collectors at the door. But Leon has made some new friends: teenage gang members who have given him a mobile phone, a knife - and some drugs to hide in her flat. A part-time job seems to be the answer to Chantelle's prayers. But the violence is about to come home to her - with a vengeance. And the only person who's offering any help seems to be just as bad as the people she's trying to escape from ...

Letters To My Daughter's Killer

Letters To My Daughter's Killer

Author: Cath Staincliffe Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/07/2014

Grandmother Ruth Sutton writes to the man she hates more than anyone else on the planet: the man who she believes killed her daughter Lizzie in a brutal attack four years earlier. Ruth's burden of grief and hatred, has only grown heavier with the passing of time, her avid desire for vengeance ever stronger. In writing to him Ruth hopes to exorcise the corrosive emotions that are destroying her life, to find the truth and with it release and a way forward. Whether she can ever truly forgive him is another matter - but the letters are her last, best hope. Letters To My Daughter's Killer exposes the aftermath of violent crime for an ordinary family and explores fundamental questions of crime and punishment. How do we deal with the very human desire for revenge? If we get justice does reconciliation follow? Can we really forgive those who do us the gravest wrong? Could you?

Lawless

Lawless

Author: Jessie Keane Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/07/2014

Only the lawless will survive ...It is 1975 and Ruby Darke is struggling to deal with the brutal murder of her lover, Michael Ward. As her children, Daisy and Kit, battle their own demons, her retail empire starts to crumble. Meanwhile, after the revenge killing of Tito Danieri, Kit is the lowest he's ever been. But soon doubt is thrown over whether Kit killed the right person, and now the Danieris are out for his blood and the blood of the entire Darke family. As the bodies pile up, the chase is on - can the Darkes resolve their own family conflicts and find Michael Ward's true killer before the vengeful Danieris kill them? Or will they take the law into their own hands ...'Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante' Glamour

Ghostman

Ghostman

Author: Roger Hobbs Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/07/2014

Fast, hard and knowing: this is an amazing debut full of intrigue, tradecraft and suspense. Read it immediately! (Lee Child (author of the Jack Reacher novels)). I make things disappear. It's what I do. This time I'm tidying up the loose ends after a casino heist gone bad. The loose ends being a million cash. But I only have 48 hours, and there's a guy out there who wants my head in a bag. He'll have to find me first. They don't call me the Ghostman for nothing...

Dandy Gilver and the Reek of Red Herrings

Dandy Gilver and the Reek of Red Herrings

Author: Catriona McPherson Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/07/2014

On the rain-drenched, wave-lashed, wind-battered Banffshire coast, tiny fishing villages perch on ledges which would make a seagull think twice and crumbly mansions cling to crumblier cliff tops while, out in the bay, the herring drifters brave the storms to catch their silver darlings. It's nowhere for a child of gentle Northamptonshire to spend Christmas. But when odd things start to turn up in barrels of fish - with a strong whiff of murder most foul - that's exactly where Dandy Gilver finds herself. Enlisted to investigate, she and her trusty cohort Alec Osborne are soon swept up in the fisherfolk's wedding season as well as the mystery.

Blotto, Twinks and Riddle of the Sphinx

Blotto, Twinks and Riddle of the Sphinx

Author: Simon Brett Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/07/2014

The curse of Pharaoh Sinus Nefertop is upon Blotto so it's up to Twinks to banish it! Yet another financial crisis at Tawcester Towers! So this time the Dowager Duchess decides to sell off the less important family possessions, which have, for a long time, been consigned to the attics of the ancestral home. Blotto and Twinks are dispatched to help the valuer as he carries out an inspection. Not much of any worth is found but then the valuer spies some Egyptian artifacts, collected by the tenth duke, Rupert the Egyptologist. In some excitement he rushes back to London to consult his reference books, leaving Blotto and Twinks alone in the attic, where they are drawn to a sarchophagus decorated with hieroglyphs. Twinks starts to translate: 'Anyone who desecrates this shrine will be visited by the Pharoah's curse...' - just as Blotto prises the lid off. From that moment on a series of unpleasant incidents start happening at Tawcester Towers but it is only when the Dowager Duchess' precious pug is struck down with a stomach bug that she instructs her son to sort things out and stop the accelerating sequence of disasters. It's the brainy Twinks who decide the only thing to be done is to put the genie back in the bottle and so she, together with Blotto and their trusty chauffeur Corky Froggett, undertake take the sarcophagus back to Egypt, to the Valley of the Kings as only when this is done will the effect of the Pharoah's curse be lifted...

Art of Deception

Art of Deception

Author: A. J. Cross Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/07/2014

The New Year brings a gruesome discovery for forensic psychologist Dr Kate Hanson and Birmingham's Unsolved Crimes Unit: a mummified body. The victim is Nathan Troy, an art student who has been missing for 20 years. As Kate begins to dig further into Nathan's past, she discovers a series of toxic relationships. Why do his housemates refuse to talk about him? And what was his connection to the beautiful and apparently promiscuous daughter of his professor? Then the disappearance of a local teenager confirms that Nathan's killer is back. Kate and the team must work fast to untangle a web of lies and unmask a murderer who has lain dormant for two decades.

Letters To My Daughter's Killer

Letters To My Daughter's Killer

Author: Cath Staincliffe Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/07/2014

Grandmother Ruth Sutton writes to the man she hates more than anyone else on the planet: the man who she believes killed her daughter Lizzie in a brutal attack four years earlier. Ruth's burden of grief and hatred, has only grown heavier with the passing of time, her avid desire for vengeance ever stronger. In writing to him Ruth hopes to exorcise the corrosive emotions that are destroying her life, to find the truth and with it release and a way forward. Whether she can ever truly forgive him is another matter - but the letters are her last, best hope. Letters To My Daughter's Killer exposes the aftermath of violent crime for an ordinary family and explores fundamental questions of crime and punishment. How do we deal with the very human desire for revenge? If we get justice does reconciliation follow? Can we really forgive those who do us the gravest wrong? Could you?

Murderous, Mysterious, Machination

_________________________

From the suave to the sleazy, the saint to the sinner; from the sensitive to the sanguine, the sexy to the squalid, we just can’t resist a good sleuth. Here you’ll find immersive crime stories to feed your fascination for conspiracy, your love for psychological sorcery, to make your hairs stand up on the back of your neck, to make your blood run cold and adrenaline fill your nervous system. Whether you’re after a classic like; Poirot (Agatha Christie), Rebus (Rankin) or Morse (Colin Dexter); or a more contemporary crime confrontation from the likes of, Michael Connelly, Gillian Flynn or J.A Lance, there’s something here to float the most demanding of boats. Have a look at our Books of the Month from this and previous months for a head start to a great next read.

_______________________________

 

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

 

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

 

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.


A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include: