Thriller and Suspense

  All engrossing, pure escapist, nail-biting anxiety, mind bending terror and psychological twists. We’re not sure why it’s so appealing. Good though, isn’t it! You might also like to browse our Crime and Mystery category.  

The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime

The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime

Author: Maxim Jakubowski Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/02/2012

This great annual covers the full range of mystery fiction, from noir and hardboiled crime to ingenious puzzles and amateur sleuthing. This year's volume contains stories by: Peter James, Nick Quantrill, Reginald Hill, Jay Stringer, Liza Cody, L. C. Tyler, Barbara Nadel, Adrian Magson, Val McDermid, Chris Ewan, Kate Horsley, Nicholas Royle, Ian Ayris, John Lawton, Nigel Bird, Zoe Sharp, Robert Barnard, Ann Cleeves, Mark Billingham, Paul Johnston, Amy Myers, Tony Black, Keith McCarthy, Martin Edwards, Ken Bruen, Marilyn Todd, Stuart Neville, Peter Lovesey, R. J. Ellory, Kate Ellis, Christopher Fowler, Michael Z. Lewin, Barry Maitland, Alison Bruce, Phil Lovesey, Matt Hilton, Andrew Taylor, Simon Brett, Brian McGilloway, Col Bury, Gerard Brennan, Christine Poulson and David Hewson.

Catch Me

Catch Me

Author: Lisa Gardner Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/02/2012

IN FOUR DAYS, SOMEONE IS GOING TO KILL ME...At 8pm on 21st January, twenty-eight-year-old Charlie Grant believes she is going to be murdered and she wants Boston's top homicide detective, D.D. Warren, to handle her death investigation. Confronting D.D. at her latest crime scene, Charlie lays her cards on the table. For each of the last two years, one of her childhood friends has been murdered leaving Charlie as the only one of the three friends to remain alive. But as D.D. delves deeper in to the details of Charlie's case, she begins to question the young woman's story. Because Charlie can now outfight and outrun anyone she meets and D.D.'s instinct is that she's hiding a secret. A secret so explosive that Charlie herself may turn out to be the biggest danger of all...BUT THE SON OF A BITCH HAS GOT TO CATCH ME FIRST.

Love You More

Love You More

Author: Lisa Gardner Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/02/2012

WHO DO YOU LOVE? A split-second decision and Brian Darby lies dead. His wife, state police trooper Tessa Leoni, claims to have shot him in self-defence and for Boston detective D.D. Warren it should be an open-and-shut case. But where is their six-year-old daughter? As D.D.'s homicide investigation ratchets into a frantic state-wide search for a missing child, she must move quickly in order to learn all of Tessa's secrets and understand what has happened to the little girl. But for Tessa, the worst has not yet happened. She is walking a tightrope, with no one to trust and nowhere to turn, as the clock ticks down to a terrifying deadline. She has one goal in sight, and she will use every ounce of her training to do what has to be done. All that matters is her child and no one could love her more...Two women. With one question...HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO SAVE YOUR CHILD?

Don't Cry

Don't Cry

Author: Beverly Barton Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/02/2012

The crime scenes are horrifying: the victims arranged with deliberate care, posed to appear alive despite their agonized last moments and the shocking nature of their deaths. For grief counsellor Audrey Sherrod it's clear the murders are the work of a deranged serial killer. At first, the only link is the victims' physical appearance. But then another connection emerges, tying them to a past series of horrifying crimes -- crimes that hit all too close to home. As the truth is unravelled, its more twisted and terrifying than anyone could ever imagine. Prepare to lose sleep with this shocking and utterly engrossing thriller, for fans of Karen Rose and Karin Slaughter.

66 North

66 North

Author: Michael Ridpath Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/02/2012

Iceland 1934: Two boys playing in the lava fields that surround their isolated farmsteads see something they shouldn't have. The consequences will haunt them and their families for generations. Iceland 2009: the credit crunch bites. The currency has been devalued, banks nationalized, savings annihilated, lives ruined. Grassroots revolution is in the air, as is the feeling that someone ought to pay...ought to pay the blood price. And in a country with a population of just 300,000 souls, in a country where everyone knows everybody, it isn't hard to draw up a list of exactly who is responsible. And then, one-by-one, to cross them off. Iceland 2010: As bankers and politicians start to die, at home and abroad, it is up to Magnus Jonson to unravel the web of conspirators before they strike again. But while Magnus investigates the crimes of the present, the crimes of the past are catching up with him.

White Knuckle Rides

________________________

Picture it. You’re going on holiday. The bags are packed and the family is ready, you’re at the gate, the plane is boarding, you’ve decided to start your brand new, especially purchased thriller right away. Suddenly, you’re immersed into the corridors of intrigue, conspiracy, murder, espionage and you don’t know who to trust. The plane has left without you. So has the family. You haven’t even noticed. At least you have a good book … and the whole house to yourself for a week!

 

This section is crammed with dangerously compelling adventures that will have your nails bitten and nervous system tested to the full. From Dan Brown, Stieg Larsson and James Patterson to Fred Vargas, Bernard Minier and C.J Sansom, there’s enough here to keep you ‘head-down and out-of-it’ for years. There’s certainly time to read one more before the family gets back from Torremolinos … and that’s where we come in!

_______________________________

 

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

 

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

 

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.


A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include: