Action, Adventure, Spy and Espionage Books

Looking for your next literary adrenaline rush? Or to live vicariously through a thrill-seeking hero/heroine? Have a look at the titles in our Action/Adventure/Spy section for the latest danger and intrigue-filled novels.

Ghost Watch

Ghost Watch

Author: David Rollins Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/04/2011

Scarred by the death of a fellow agent last year, Special Agent Vin Cooper volunteers for the most dangerous job going: personal security for bent politicians in Afghanistan. But when his principal is blown up by a suicide bomber, Cooper is reassigned. Now he's babysitting a pair of spoilt hip-hop superstars, flown to a top-secret base in Rwanda to perform a sympathy gig for the US military. It's bad enough that the pair, once lovers, now hate each others guts. But then their UN chopper is forced down into the Congo jungle and things take a serious turn for the worse. Surrounded by enemy fire, Cooper has to think quickly as his principals are dragged away. Now he's trapped in the Congo without radio or supplies. He'll risk his life to save his superstars: that's his job. But who is he fighting? And why is he here?

The Blind Spy

The Blind Spy

Author: Alex Dryden Format: Paperback Release Date: 31/03/2011

Russia's intentions are aggressive. They want to control more of Europe. The Kremlin is threatening to invade Ukraine, a country vital to the West's oil and gas supplies. On the ground, in the seething pit of rumour and fear that is the city of Odessa, on the shore of the Black Sea, two top secret agents are searching for ways to prevent the horrors of invasion and war. Anna Resnikov, ex KGB, and Logan Patterson must negotiate the knife-edge of diplomacy and intimidation that pervades every corner of every street, cafe and back ally. They need information, the gold currency of espionage. The CIA is exerting heavy muscle and MI6 is influencing hearts and minds and both have their own agendas. Are there assassins on Anna and Logan's tail? And will they get to them before they uncover the identity of the deep, deep throat, known as the Blind Spy, who seems to have all the answers?

The Bible of the Dead

The Bible of the Dead

Author: Tom Knox Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/03/2011

A gripping high-concept thriller for fans of Dan Brown and Sam Bourne from the author of The Genesis Secret and The Marks of Cain. In the silent caves of deepest France, young archaeologist Julia Kerrigan unearths an ancient skull, with a hole bored through the forehead. After she reveals her discovery, her colleague is killed in suspicious circumstances. Meanwhile, in the jungles of south-east Asia photographer Jake Thurby is offered a curious assignment by a beautiful and determined Cambodian lawyer who is investigating 'finds' at the mysterious 2000-year-old Plain of Jars. 'Finds' which the authorities have gone to great lengths to keep secret. No one knows why. Back in England, an aged professor has been brutally and elaborately murdered. The murder remains unsolved. And it soon becomes clear that those who seek to unlock the compelling puzzle will be risking very much more than their lives.

The First Rule

The First Rule

Author: Robert Crais Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/03/2011

Frank Meyer had got out of 'the life' safely. He had put an end to his mercenary days, turned over a new leaf and settled down with his wife and children. It had been a hard decision but, encouraged by his boss and friend Joe Pike, he had walked away. Ten years later, a group of armed men break into his Los Angeles home and brutally gun down him and his family. It's a vicious, cold and professional job. The crew leave no trace behind except the bodies. But they have made one catastrophic, and almost certainly terminal, mistake - Joe Pike. Because Pike is now determined to hunt down and eliminate everyone involved in the attack, one by one. And it doesn't matter that, as he starts to investigate, he discovers that these criminals are bigger and better organised than he ever could have imagined, because they are about to learn the first rule...Don't make Joe Pike mad...

Espionage, Sabotage and Pacey Page-turning!

_________________________

Let Bernard Cornwell sweep you back to Arthurian times, or into the heat of battle with Richard Sharpe. Sail the high seas with Patrick O'Brian. Raise your pulse-rate with Michael Crichton. Experience the adrenaline of combat with Andy McNab. Feel the clear and present danger of Tom Clancy's thrilling Jack Ryan stories... Live on the edge with Lee Child's itinerant hero Jack Reacher? Navigating your way through all the twists and turns of this roller-coaster genre can be an adventure in itself.

So, let us help you find your next fuel-injected foray into the fields of battle, espionage, danger,heroism and even history rewritten. From Dan Brown, Tom Clancy and Ken Follett to Wilbur Smith, David Gibbins and Stieg Larsson, you’ll be over the waves, under the radar, up mountains, outside the law, beyond help, dicing with danger, battling monsters, rescuing the stricken, flying through flack, laying mines, playing political parlour-games, conning Congress, kidnapping commandos clashing with conquistadors and crossing swords with Crusaders … and all from the safety of your favourite chair.

 

_______________________________

 

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

 

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

 

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.


A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include: