desmond elliott 2017 debuts of the month books of the month
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Book Awards - Shortlists and Winners All Shortlists and Winners

Discover authors who are winners of, or have been in contention for, some of the most prestigious awards. By their very presence on this page, you can be sure that each of the books featured here is the 'crème-de-la-crème' of today's literature.

This Month's Featured Books

Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels
Fugitive Pieces
Anne Michaels
A powerful story of suffering and the power of love. When a young holocaust survivor is found in the woods by a Greek archaeologist his life is transformed. Although haunted by the death of his family he discovers that love...
Format: Paperback - Released: 21/09/2017
Devil's Day by Andrew Michael Hurley
Devil's Day
Andrew Michael Hurley
The second novel from the author of the award-winning bestseller The Loney. Every autumn, John Pentecost returns to the Lancashire farm where he grew up to help gather the sheep from the moors. Generally, very little changes in the Briardale...
Format: Hardback - Released: 19/10/2017
Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie
Home Fire
Kamila Shamsie
LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017 A contemporary reimagining of Sophocles' Antigone, Home Fire is an urgent, fiercely compelling story of loyalties torn apart when love and politics collide - confirming Kamila Shamsie as a master storyteller of our times....
Format: Hardback - Released: 15/08/2017
The Schooldays of Jesus by J. M. Coetzee
The Schooldays of Jesus
J. M. Coetzee
When you travel across the ocean on a boat, all your memories are washed away and you start a completely new life. That is how it is. There is no before. There is no history. The boat docks at the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 21/09/2017
Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
Homegoing
Yaa Gyasi
Taking us from the Gold Coast of Africa to the cotton-picking plantations of Mississippi; from the missionary schools of Ghana to the dive bars of Harlem, spanning three continents and seven generations, Yaa Gyasi has written a miraculous novel -...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/10/2017
History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves
Emily Fridlund
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. Already being acclaimed as one of the most exciting new debuts of 2017, Emily Fridlund's History of Wolves is a brilliant coming-of-age novel that will appeal to fans of The Girls and The...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/02/2017
Ragdoll by Daniel Cole
Ragdoll
Daniel Cole
October 2017 Debut of the Month Shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2017. A simply sensational and thrilling debut! Met police detectives William Oliver Layton-Fawkes and Emily Baxter find themselves smack bang in the middle of the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/10/2017

Last Month's Featured Books

4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster

4 3 2 1
Paul Auster
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. The contemporary magician of the post-modern and often quirky...

Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land

Reader Reviewed Good Me Bad Me
Ali Land
September 2017 Book of the Month Shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2017. Ooh, this truly is a fabulously captivating and unpredictable tale, and it kept me...

The Watcher by Ross Armstrong

Reader Reviewed The Watcher
Ross Armstrong
Longlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2017. A clever first novel with a sinister setting in London where blocks of flats are being demolished. The juxtaposition of...

The Good People by Hannah Kent

The Good People
Hannah Kent
Shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2017. Three women are at the heart of this beguiling, elemental novel, in which the dialogue dances, and the force of...

The Transition by Luke Kennard

The Transition
Luke Kennard
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2017. A fabulous premise, step inside, and...

Exit West by Mohsin Hamid

Exit West
Mohsin Hamid
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. An extraordinary story of love and hope from the bestselling, Man Booker-shortlisted author of The Reluctant Fundamentalist. In a city swollen by...

The Month Before's Featured Books

Little Deaths by Emma Flint

Little Deaths
Emma Flint
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2017. A thoroughly perturbing, provocative, yet riveting...

See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill
  
Add to favourites

Keep Tabs on the Winners

_________________________

From the huge and prestigious literary awards like the Nobel Prize for Literature, the Man Booker Prize for Fiction, the Women's Prize for Fiction, the British Book Awards (Nibbies) and the Costa Awards, to those for specific genres like the Women's Prize for New Writers, the Hugo Awards and the Nebula Awards (Fantasy and Science Fiction) and the Crime Writers Association Dagger Awards we’ll cover the whole range.

_______________________________

STOP PRESS... Want to know more about the Desmond Elliot Prize and 2017 Longlist? Then sign up to the exclusive newsletter.

_______________________________

For each award, Lovereading will feature the shortlist of books and authors before the individual winner is announced. As with all our Featured Books, you will be able to download and print off free Opening Extracts of each book. In this way, you can choose your own winner and see if the judges agree with you!

And remember, even if the judges don't pick your favourite, all Book Award titles are available to order online at 25% off the RRP.


Member of a Reading Group? - Buy 5 or more copies of any single title and get an extra 5% discount!

A selection of other awards that will feature in this Lovereading category include:

Philip K. Dick Award (FSF)  Hawthornden Prize (Imaginative Literature)  National Book Awards (USA)  Hugo Awards (SF)  Bram Stoker Awards (Horror) Dagger Awards (Crime Fiction)  The Women's Prize for New Writers


Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools