newgen books for YA readers eleanor oliphant finding gobi books of the month before the fall
Search our site
Blue Light Yokohama by Nicolas Obregon Read the opening extract of the brand new Nicolas Obregon book before its publication on 18/09/2017

Book Awards - Shortlists and Winners All Shortlists and Winners

Discover authors who are winners of, or have been in contention for, some of the most prestigious awards. By their very presence on this page, you can be sure that each of the books featured here is the 'crème-de-la-crème' of today's literature.

Books of the Month

Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land
Good Me Bad Me
Ali Land
September 2017 Book of the Month Shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2017. Ooh, this truly is a fabulously captivating and unpredictable tale, and it kept me clinging to the very edge of my seat. Annie’s mother...
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017

Other Featured Books this Month

Exit West by Mohsin Hamid
Exit West
Mohsin Hamid
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. An extraordinary story of love and hope from the bestselling, Man Booker-shortlisted author of The Reluctant Fundamentalist. In a city swollen by refugees but still mostly at peace, or at least not...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/03/2017
History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves
Emily Fridlund
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. Already being acclaimed as one of the most exciting new debuts of 2017, Emily Fridlund's History of Wolves is a brilliant coming-of-age novel that will appeal to fans of The Girls and The...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/02/2017
The Watcher by Ross Armstrong
The Watcher
Ross Armstrong
Longlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2017. A clever first novel with a sinister setting in London where blocks of flats are being demolished. The juxtaposition of the bird watcher protagonist, Lily, and her people watching is...
Format: Paperback - Released: 21/09/2017
The Transition by Luke Kennard
The Transition
Luke Kennard
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2017. A fabulous premise, step inside, and a bold, captivating read awaits. Set at some point in...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017
The Good People by Hannah Kent
The Good People
Hannah Kent
Shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2017. Three women are at the heart of this beguiling, elemental novel, in which the dialogue dances, and the force of Irish fairy lore weaves its eerie, all-consuming ways through a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017
4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster
4 3 2 1
Paul Auster
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. The contemporary magician of the post-modern and often quirky novel (maybe equalled by just Haruki Murakami) returns with...
Format: Hardback - Released: 31/01/2017

Last Month's Featured Books

Little Deaths by Emma Flint

Little Deaths
Emma Flint
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2017. A thoroughly perturbing, provocative, yet riveting...

The Month Before's Featured Books

Golden Hill by Francis Spufford

Golden Hill
Francis Spufford
Winner of the Desmond Elliott Prize 2017. Inventively entertaining, niftily plotted...

Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

Days Without End
Sebastian Barry
July 2017 Book of the Month. Winner of the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2017. Winner of 2016 Costa Book of...

It Was Only Ever You by Kate Kerrigan

It Was Only Ever You
Kate Kerrigan
Winner of the RNA Historical Romantic Novel of the Year Award 2017. Heartbreak and misunderstandings are woven through this uplifting story of a woman who can never quite believe...

Ragdoll by Daniel Cole

Ragdoll
Daniel Cole
Shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2017. A simply sensational and thrilling debut! Met police detectives William Oliver Layton-Fawkes and Emily Baxter find themselves smack bang in...

A Horse Walks into a Bar by David Grossman

A Horse Walks into a Bar
David Grossman
Winner of the Man Booker International Prize 2017. A Horse Walks into a Bar is a shocking and breathtaking read. Betrayals between lovers, the treachery of friends, guilt demanding redress....

See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark
  
Add to favourites

Keep Tabs on the Winners

_________________________

From the huge and prestigious literary awards like the Nobel Prize for Literature, the Man Booker Prize for Fiction, the Women's Prize for Fiction, the British Book Awards (Nibbies) and the Costa Awards, to those for specific genres like the Women's Prize for New Writers, the Hugo Awards and the Nebula Awards (Fantasy and Science Fiction) and the Crime Writers Association Dagger Awards we’ll cover the whole range.

_______________________________

STOP PRESS... Want to know more about the Desmond Elliot Prize and 2017 Longlist? Then sign up to the exclusive newsletter.

_______________________________

For each award, Lovereading will feature the shortlist of books and authors before the individual winner is announced. As with all our Featured Books, you will be able to download and print off free Opening Extracts of each book. In this way, you can choose your own winner and see if the judges agree with you!

And remember, even if the judges don't pick your favourite, all Book Award titles are available to order online at 25% off the RRP.


Member of a Reading Group? - Buy 5 or more copies of any single title and get an extra 5% discount!

A selection of other awards that will feature in this Lovereading category include:

Philip K. Dick Award (FSF)  Hawthornden Prize (Imaginative Literature)  National Book Awards (USA)  Hugo Awards (SF)  Bram Stoker Awards (Horror) Dagger Awards (Crime Fiction)  The Women's Prize for New Writers


Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools