Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

join us on facebook book price comparison
Search our site
The Guilty Wife by Elle Croft Read the opening extract of the brand new Elle Croft book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Book Awards - Shortlists and Winners All Shortlists and Winners

Discover authors who are winners of, or have been in contention for, some of the most prestigious awards. By their very presence on this page, you can be sure that each of the books featured here is the 'crème-de-la-crème' of today's literature.

This Month's Featured Books

Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor
Reservoir 13
Jon McGregor
Category Winner of the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Novel Award
Format: Hardback - Released: 06/04/2017
Sirens by Joseph Knox
Sirens
Joseph Knox
Shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2017. Justifiably already highly-praised, this debut by a young Manchester author deserves all the generous encomiums and more lavished on it. A disgraced undercover young detective is tasked to find the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/01/2018
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Gail Honeyman
Category Winner for the Costa Book Awards 2017, First Novel Award June 2017 Debut of the Month. It is the standard reply when people ask, “How are you?”...
Format: Hardback - Released: 18/05/2017
Fragile Lives A Heart Surgeon's Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table by Stephen Westaby
Fragile Lives A Heart Surgeon's Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table
Stephen Westaby
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Biography Award Heart surgery is by its very nature a high-risk business and as Professor Stephen Westaby says ‘the grim reaper sits on your shoulder’, but when it is successful it is...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/01/2018
In the Days of Rain by Rebecca Stott
In the Days of Rain
Rebecca Stott
Category Winner of the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Biography Award In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and...
Format: Hardback - Released: 22/05/2017
The Bureau of Second Chances by Sheena Kalayil
The Bureau of Second Chances
Sheena Kalayil
June 2017 Debut of the Month. Winner of the Writers’ Guild Best First Novel Award 2017 - This gentle yet beautifully told story follows recently-widowed Thomas on a journey back to the India of his birth,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017

Last Month's Featured Books

Once Upon A Time in the East A Story of Growing up by Xiaolu Guo

Once Upon A Time in the East A Story of Growing up
Xiaolu Guo
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Biography Award Xiaolu Guo meets her parents for the first time when she is...

Montpelier Parade by Karl Geary

Montpelier Parade
Karl Geary
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, First Novel Award Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2017. A deeply affecting debut about limitations and longing, lust...

Tom Simpson Bird On The Wire by Andy McGrath

Tom Simpson Bird On The Wire
Andy McGrath
Winner of the William Hill Sports Book of the Year 2017 published by cycling specialist Raph Editions What the judges said: 'gives fresh insight into the life of trailblazer Tom...

The Clocks in This House All Tell Different Times by Xan Brooks

The Clocks in This House All Tell Different Times
Xan Brooks
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, First Novel Award May 2017 Debut of the Month. This magnetic debut evokes the social...

Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney

Reader Reviewed Under a Pole Star
Stef Penney
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Novel Award Flora Mackie leads a remarkable life. Daughter of a whaling captain, with...

Moonrise by Sarah Crossan

Moonrise
Sarah Crossan
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Children's Book Award In a Nutshell: Death row injustice | Undying brotherly love ...

Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie

Home Fire
Kamila Shamsie
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Novel Award | Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017 A contemporary reimagining...

The Haunting of Henry Twist by Rebecca F. John

The Haunting of Henry Twist
Rebecca F. John
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, First Novel Award The Costa Judges said: ‘Grabs you from the very first chapter and...

A Bold and Dangerous Family The Rossellis and the Fight Against Mussolini by Caroline Moorehead

A Bold and Dangerous Family The Rossellis and the Fight Against Mussolini
Caroline Moorehead
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Biography Award Caroline Moorehead has spent time with surviving members of the Rosselli family,...

Kumukanda by Kayo Chingonyi

Kumukanda
Kayo Chingonyi
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Poetry Award Translating as 'initiation', kumukanda is the name given to the rites a...

On Balance by Sinead Morrissey

On Balance
Sinead Morrissey
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Poetry Award Winner of the 2017 Forward Prize for Best Collection. Winner of the...

Useful Verses by Richard Osmond

Useful Verses
Richard Osmond
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Poetry Award This is a fiercely inventive, darkly witty and brilliantly observed debut from...

Wed Wabbit by Lissa Evans

Wed Wabbit
Lissa Evans
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Children's Book Award Wed Wabbit is a tour de force! Lissa Evans’s hilarious, madcap...

The Island at the End of Everything by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

The Island at the End of Everything
Kiran Millwood Hargrave
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Children's Book Award Longlisted for the UKLA 2018 Book Award In a nutshell:...

The Explorer by Katherine Rundell

The Explorer
Katherine Rundell
Category Winner of the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Children's Book Award After crashing hundreds of miles from civilisation in the Amazon...

The Greatest Comeback: From Genocide to Football Glory The Story of Bela Guttman by David Bolchover

The Greatest Comeback: From Genocide to Football Glory The Story of Bela Guttman
David Bolchover
Shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year 2017 An extraordinary and compelling account of the life of football coach Bela Guttman. William Hill Sports Book of the...

Ali: A Life by Jonathan Eig

Ali: A Life
Jonathan Eig
Shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year 2017 The first truly definitive biography of Muhammad Ali, the most iconic and significant sporting figure of the twentieth century....

Swell A Waterbiography SHORTLISTED FOR THE WILLIAM HILL SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017 by Jenny Landreth

Swell A Waterbiography SHORTLISTED FOR THE WILLIAM HILL SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017
Jenny Landreth
Shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year 2017 A funny and bold account of how women fought their way into the water, and of what they did...

Centaur by Declan Murphy, Ami Rao

Centaur
Declan Murphy, Ami Rao
Shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year 2017 Miraculously, and the word is not used lightly, Declan Murphy survived and defied medical thinking in recovering to the...

Quiet Genius by Ian Herbert

Quiet Genius
Ian Herbert
Shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year 2017 The full story of the man who brought unprecedented - and since unmatched - success to Liverpool FC Bob...

The Month Before's Featured Books

Ragdoll by Daniel Cole

Ragdoll
Daniel Cole
One of Our Books of the Year 2017 | November 2017 Debut of the Month Shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2017. A simply sensational and thrilling...

Devil's Day by Andrew Michael Hurley

Devil's Day
Andrew Michael Hurley
The second novel from the author of the award-winning bestseller The Loney. Every autumn, John Pentecost returns to the Lancashire farm where he grew up to help gather the sheep...

See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore
  
Add to favourites

Keep Tabs on the Winners

_________________________

From the huge and prestigious literary awards like the Nobel Prize for Literature, the Man Booker Prize for Fiction, the Women's Prize for Fiction, the British Book Awards (Nibbies) and the Costa Awards, to those for specific genres like the Women's Prize for New Writers, the Hugo Awards and the Nebula Awards (Fantasy and Science Fiction) and the Crime Writers Association Dagger Awards we’ll cover the whole range.

_______________________________

STOP PRESS... Want to know more about the Desmond Elliot Prize and 2017 Longlist? Then sign up to the exclusive newsletter.

_______________________________

For each award, Lovereading will feature the shortlist of books and authors before the individual winner is announced. As with all our Featured Books, you will be able to download and print off free Opening Extracts of each book. In this way, you can choose your own winner and see if the judges agree with you!

And remember, even if the judges don't pick your favourite, all Book Award titles are available to order online at 25% off the RRP.


Member of a Reading Group? - Buy 5 or more copies of any single title and get an extra 5% discount!

A selection of other awards that will feature in this Lovereading category include:

Philip K. Dick Award (FSF)  Hawthornden Prize (Imaginative Literature)  National Book Awards (USA)  Hugo Awards (SF)  Bram Stoker Awards (Horror) Dagger Awards (Crime Fiction)  The Women's Prize for New Writers


Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools