eleanor oliphant when i was invisible eligible curtis sittenfeld rebus 30th anniversary granchester
Search our site
Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley Read the opening extract of the brand new Steven Rowley book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Man Booker Prize 2017 Man Booker Prize 2017

The Shortlist for The Man Booker Prize 2017 has just been announced. The Man Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world's most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and publishers.


Man Booker Prize 2017 Shortlisted titles

Autumn by Ali Smith
Autumn
Ali Smith
September 2017 Book of the Month | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. From the imagination of the peerless Ali Smith comes a shape-shifting series, wide-ranging in timescale and light-footed through histories, and a story about ageing...
Format: Paperback - Released: 31/08/2017
Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders
Lincoln in the Bardo
George Saunders
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. Unfolding over a single night, Lincoln in the Bardo is written with George Saunders' inimitable humour, pathos and grace. Here he invents an exhilarating new form, and is confirmed as one of the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 09/03/2017
Elmet by Fiona Mozley
Elmet
Fiona Mozley
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. An atmospheric and thrilling debut about family as well as a meditation on landscape in South Yorkshire. Perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Mozley, who wrote the story while...
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017
Exit West by Mohsin Hamid
Exit West
Mohsin Hamid
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. An extraordinary story of love and hope from the bestselling, Man Booker-shortlisted author of The Reluctant Fundamentalist. In a city swollen by refugees but still mostly at peace, or at least not...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/03/2017
History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves
Emily Fridlund
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. Already being acclaimed as one of the most exciting new debuts of 2017, Emily Fridlund's History of Wolves is a brilliant coming-of-age novel that will appeal to fans of The Girls and The...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/02/2017
4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster
4 3 2 1
Paul Auster
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. The contemporary magician of the post-modern and often quirky novel (maybe equalled by just Haruki Murakami) returns with...
Format: Hardback - Released: 31/01/2017

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett
  

Man Book Prize 2016 logo

 

Chair, Baroness Lola Young comments:  ‘With six unique and intrepid books that collectively push against the borders of convention, this year’s shortlist both acknowledges established authors and introduces new voices to the literary stage. Playful, sincere, unsettling, fierce: here is a group of novels grown from tradition but also radical and contemporary. The emotional, cultural, political and intellectual range of these books is remarkable, and the ways in which they challenge our thinking is a testament to the power of literature.’

____________________________

The Man Booker 2017 shortlist is :

4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster

History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

Exit West by Mohsin Hamid

Elmet by Fiona Mozley

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

Autumn by Ali Smith

The judges remarked that the novels, which include three debuts, each in its own way, challenge and subtly shift our preconceptions — about the nature of love, about the experience of time, about questions of identity and even death.

The shortlist was selected from a longlist of 13 novels, known as the Man Booker Dozen. 

Baroness Lola Young is the chair of the judges, with literary critic, Lila Azam Zanganeh; Man Booker Prize shortlisted novelist, Sarah Hall; artist, Tom Phillips CBE RA; and travel writer, Colin Thubron CBE joining her on the judging panel.

The 2017 winner will be announced on 17th October in London’s Guildhall at a black-tie dinner, with the ceremony to be broadcast by the BBC. 

Visit the Man Booker site for full details.

______________________________________

 

The Man Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969 and 2017 marks its 49th year. Hilary Mantel made history in 2012 when she won the prize for the second time with Bring up the Bodies, as the first woman and the first British author to win the prize twice. A full history of the prize, including an interactive timeline, can be found on the Man Booker Prize website – www.themanbookerprize.com.

News about the prize can also be found on Twitter @ManBookerPrize

Paul Beatty
Deborah Levy
Graeme Macrae Burnet
Ottessa Moshfegh
David Szalay
Madeleine Thien

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools