eleanor oliphant desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Man Booker Prize 2017 Man Booker Prize 2017

The Winner of The Man Booker Prize 2017 is Lincoln in the Bardo, the debut novel by the acclaimed U.S. short story writer George Saunders. The Man Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world's most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and publishers.


Man Booker Prize 2017 Shortlisted titles

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders
Lincoln in the Bardo
George Saunders
Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2017. Unfolding over a single night, Lincoln in the Bardo is written with George Saunders' inimitable humour, pathos and grace. Here he invents an exhilarating new form, and is confirmed as one of the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 09/03/2017
Elmet by Fiona Mozley
Elmet
Fiona Mozley
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. An atmospheric and thrilling debut about family as well as a meditation on landscape in South Yorkshire. Perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Mozley, who wrote the story while...
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017
Exit West by Mohsin Hamid
Exit West
Mohsin Hamid
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. An extraordinary story of love and hope from the bestselling, Man Booker-shortlisted author of The Reluctant Fundamentalist. In a city swollen by refugees but still mostly at peace, or at least not...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/03/2017
History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves
Emily Fridlund
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. Already being acclaimed as one of the most exciting new debuts of 2017, Emily Fridlund's History of Wolves is a brilliant coming-of-age novel that will appeal to fans of The Girls and The...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/02/2017
4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster
4 3 2 1
Paul Auster
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. The contemporary magician of the post-modern and often quirky novel (maybe equalled by just Haruki Murakami) returns with...
Format: Hardback - Released: 31/01/2017
Autumn by Ali Smith
Autumn
Ali Smith
October 2017 Book of the Month | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. From the imagination of the peerless Ali Smith comes a shape-shifting series, wide-ranging in timescale and light-footed through histories, and a story about ageing...
Format: Paperback - Released: 31/08/2017

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran
  

Man Book Prize 2016 logo

 

Lola, Baroness Young, 2017 Chair of judges, comments on the winner, Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders:

‘The form and style of this utterly original novel, reveals a witty, intelligent, and deeply moving narrative. This tale of the haunting and haunted souls in the afterlife of Abraham Lincoln’s young son paradoxically creates a vivid and lively evocation of the characters that populate this other world. Lincoln in the Bardo is both rooted in, and plays with history, and explores the meaning and experience of empathy.’

____________________________

The Man Booker 2017 shortlist was:

4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster

History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

Exit West by Mohsin Hamid

Elmet by Fiona Mozley

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

Autumn by Ali Smith

The judges remarked that the novels, which include three debuts, each in its own way, challenge and subtly shift our preconceptions — about the nature of love, about the experience of time, about questions of identity and even death.

The shortlist was selected from a longlist of 13 novels, known as the Man Booker Dozen. 

Baroness Lola Young is the chair of the judges, with literary critic, Lila Azam Zanganeh; Man Booker Prize shortlisted novelist, Sarah Hall; artist, Tom Phillips CBE RA; and travel writer, Colin Thubron CBE joining her on the judging panel.

The 2017 winner was announced on 17th October in London’s Guildhall at a black-tie dinner, with the ceremony to be broadcast by the BBC. 

Visit the Man Booker site for full details.

______________________________________

 

The Man Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969 and 2017 marks its 49th year. Hilary Mantel made history in 2012 when she won the prize for the second time with Bring up the Bodies, as the first woman and the first British author to win the prize twice. A full history of the prize, including an interactive timeline, can be found on the Man Booker Prize website – www.themanbookerprize.com.

News about the prize can also be found on Twitter @ManBookerPrize

Paul Beatty
Deborah Levy
Graeme Macrae Burnet
Ottessa Moshfegh
David Szalay
Madeleine Thien

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools