join us on facebook
Search our site
The Sapphire Widow by Dinah Jefferies Read the opening extract of the brand new Dinah Jefferies book before its publication on 05/04/2018

If You Like...You'll Love If You Like...You'll Love

Handpicked, interesting connections from the Lovereading team.


Like The Art of Being Normal you'll love She, Myself and I

She, Myself and I by Emma Young
Reader Reviewed She, Myself and I
Emma Young
A story about identity, courage and searching for the truth of who you are. This book made me cry, it made me feel, it made me think and it made me want to read on. Emma Young brings us a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 08/03/2018
The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson
Reader Reviewed The Art of Being Normal
Lisa Williamson
This is a sensitive, often funny and thoroughly engaging story of teenagers coming to terms with who they are. It’s easy to think in these liberal times that anything goes, but teens will be quick to point out that growing...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/01/2016

Back to top

Like One Day...you'll love The Story of Our Lives

The Story of Our Lives by Helen Warner
Reader Reviewed The Story of Our Lives
Helen Warner
A dynamic, dramatic, and deliciously entertaining tale exposing friendship flaws, secrets and lies. Sophie, Emily, Amy, and Melissa go away for a weekend break once a year, and we see how their lives change for both better and worse between...
Format: Hardback - Released: 08/02/2018
One Day by David Nicholls
One Day
David Nicholls
Featured on The Book Show on Sky Arts on 23 February 2012. One of Richard Bacon's favourite books. A 2011 World Book...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/02/2010

Back to top

Like Andy McNab...you'll love James Deegan

Once A Pilgrim by James Deegan
Reader Reviewed Once A Pilgrim
James Deegan
February 2018 Debut of the Month. Simply superb, this is a dark, gritty and stormingly fast read with real attitude. Formerly of the SAS, John Carr is now working in private security for a Russian, however the past is stalking...
Format: Hardback - Released: 25/01/2018
Street Soldier by Andy McNab
Street Soldier
Andy McNab
August 2017 Book of the Month Criminal turned soldier - Now he must stop a war on London's streets. London gang member Sean Harker is down on his luck. After a car heist gone wrong, he finds himself in a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017

Back to top

Like Paula Hawkins...you'll love A. J. Finn

The Colour of Bee Larkham's Murder by Sarah J. Harris
Reader Reviewed The Colour of Bee Larkham's Murder
Sarah J. Harris
Our narrator Jasper is thirteen years old. He has synaesthesia which means he hears sounds, voices etc as colours and recognises individual by those colours and not by any physical appearances. We spend nearly a hundred pages learning about the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 03/05/2018
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn
Reader Reviewed The Woman in the Window
A. J. Finn
February 2018 Debut of the Month. Oh my word, this is an absolutely cracking psychological thriller. Anna is unable to leave her house, she views the world from her...
Format: Hardback - Released: 22/01/2018

Back to top

Like Victoria Hislop...you'll love Lucy Foley

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
Paula Hawkins
Shortlisted for the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award 2015. A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. In the footsteps of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and S.J. Watson's Before I Go to Sleep,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 15/01/2015
The Rabbit Hunter by Lars Kepler
The Rabbit Hunter
Lars Kepler
It begins with a nursery rhyme. Nineteen minutes later you die... The sixth gripping thriller in Lars Kepler's internationally bestselling series featuring Joona Linna. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.
Format: Hardback - Released: 03/05/2018

Back to top

Like Ian Ross....you'll love The Fate of Kings

A Family Recipe The feel-good read of 2018 by Veronica Henry
A Family Recipe The feel-good read of 2018
Veronica Henry
The brand-new feel-good story from bestseller Veronica Henry - a perfect mix of family, friends and delicious food. Gloriously gorgeous, and so so readable, this will be one of my favourites reads of the year. After tragedy crashed into her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 17/05/2018
Hangman by Daniel Cole
Reader Reviewed Hangman
Daniel Cole
Oh my word! This is knock-out of a read, punchy and raw, it made me flinch and yet I couldn’t stop, didn’t want to stop reading. If you haven’t yet read ‘Ragdoll’, do start there, mostly because it’s truly fabulous,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 22/03/2018

Back to top

Like Mary Ann Shaffer...You'll Love Jennifer Ryan

Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley
Reader Reviewed Last Letter from Istanbul
Lucy Foley
Just gorgeous, this is a story to shine a light in the darkness, even in moments of despair. Constantinople in 1921 is a confusing, often frightening place to be, in the first few pages, two reports from 1918, perfectly sum...
Format: Hardback - Released: 19/03/2018
The Island by Victoria Hislop
The Island
Victoria Hislop
A 2013 World Book Night selection. Winner of Newcomer of the Year at the Galaxy British Book Awards 2007.Something a bit different, a bit special. A well-researched family history which takes the present day characters back to...
Format: Paperback (b Format) - Released: 10/04/2006

Back to top

Like Martina Cole...You'll Love Kimberley Chambers

The Fate of Kings by Mark Stibbe, G. P. Taylor
The Fate of Kings
Mark Stibbe, G. P. Taylor
An authoritative yet easy to read, absolute romp of a novel set during the turbulence of the French Revolution. This is the first adventure in ‘The Chronicles of Thomas Pryce’, a vicar who studied at Oxford and is trained in...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/11/2017
War at the Edge of the World by Ian Ross
Reader Reviewed War at the Edge of the World
Ian Ross
A well-written and interesting account of the Romans in Britain to join the many. It begins a series, Twilight of Empire, set here in AD305 and features an old Roman campaigner, Aurelius Castus, who feels he’s been put out to...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/07/2015

Back to top

If they like The Hunger Games they'll love Scythe

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
It's 1946 and author Juliet Ashton can't think what to write next. Out of the blue, she receives a letter from Dawsey Adams of Guernsey - by chance, he's acquired a book that once belonged to her - and, spurred...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/06/2010
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan
Reader Reviewed The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
Jennifer Ryan
An engaging and charmingly bittersweet slice of fiction set during the Second World War. In a Kent village during 1940, the vicar closes the choir, as the ladies of the village start their own choir, the small rebellion creates a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 22/01/2018
Life of Crime by Kimberley Chambers
Reader Reviewed Life of Crime
Kimberley Chambers
January 2018 Book of the Month A thoroughly entertaining, raw, and fast-paced read, stuffed full of tension and drama. Jason Rampling didn’t have the best start in life, he is determined that with his charm, intelligence and good looks,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 11/01/2018
Betrayal by Martina Cole
Betrayal
Martina Cole
Martina Cole’s twenty-third East End thriller is as raw and involved as one has come to expect. With huge family betrayals and some very nasty goings-on indeed. It fair pounds along leaving you breathless and probably shattered. We are introduced...
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/06/2017
Scythe by Neal Shusterman
Reader Reviewed Scythe
Neal Shusterman
Wow! This was a gripping, thought-provoking read. Totally compelling, Scythe is a dark, original take on the ultimate power – the power over life and death. Death and disease have been eradicated and life can continue quietly without fear of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/02/2018
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
The Hunger Games
Suzanne Collins
The Hunger Games is a searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present. In a dark vision of the near future, The Hunger Games is set in the ruins of a place once known as North...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/12/2011

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes
  

New Author Recommendations from Passionate Book Experts

_________________________

 

We’ve all got friends who read more than we do and sometimes these friends are useful in helping us work out what to read next.  But do bear us in mind as well! At Lovereading, we hope you’ll consider our guidance as a ‘friend’ too! Of course, for the full service you just need to go to the Lovereading site and use the exclusive ‘Author Like for Like’ tool … Then go to a dinner party and show off a little! (www.lovereading.co.uk/authorrec)

Dawn French
Kathy Lette
Carole Matthews
Fern Britton
John le Carre
Paul Vidich
Victoria Hislop
Lucy Foley
Tim Weaver
Mark Sennen
Paula Hawkins
Claire Kendal
Robert Harris
Mark Mills
Rachel Joyce
Ruth Hogan
Helen Simonson
Jennifer Ryan

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools